We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for R & R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate to your Saves list
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Masters Boulevard, Davenport, FL 33896   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place for R & R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Our family was there during Easter Weekend. We were not particularly interested in doing the Disney stuff, just wanted to get out of the yucky weather in the East Coast. Other than the perfect FL weather that week, Omni delivered!

As you can imagine, there would lots of families around, but it was NOT a zoo like you would in a Disney hotel property. The pools were great. The adult pool was not quite adult-only, But, this is understandable given that you are in Orlando. The family pool had loads of activites - DJ, dancing, slides, etc. Poolside had a lady that did hairbraiding, which my 11 year promptly wanted. The rates were very reasonable - which was a nice surprise. Since we spent a lot of time poolside, we ordered a lot from the poolside restaurant. The prices were reasonable and the food was fine - the staff were on top regarding delivering the food right away. Of course, the poolside drinks were a must - which was priced just right.

We had 2 connecting rooms facing the pool/ gold course (see picture). The bathrooms were large and we appreciated the complimentary drinks (which you choose & place tag on door by 2:00 a.m.) in the morning was great! Most of our days were spent in the poolside cabana. I would strongly recommend this to anyone. It cost $110 for the day but it came with a refrigerator full of drinks, TV, fan, wifi and 2 complimentary virgin drinks. My teenage kids availed of this. Of course, since you had your comfy chairs - no need to fight for the lounge chairs.

The spa was wonderful - I had a facial with Hope. Ask for her - she's good. The restaurant food was fine, as can be expected. The Zen restaurant had an interesting concept - but we only did sushi.

Unfortunately, you do have to pay for parking even as hotel guests. We drove one night to downtown Disney which was about a 15-20 drive and so with going to a theme park. The Bus Ctr will let you print your boarding passes for free - but if you need paper for something else, you will have to pay.

All in all, if you want to get away from the craziness of Disney - this is the place to be - not too close, not too far!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    708
    232
    113
    69
See reviews for
1,123
509
45
680
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at the Omni 2 years ago and it was great! This time was just as nice if not better.The price is modest for the luxury. The staff was sweet and helpful. We had just come from spending 2 nights in Daytona Beach at the Wyndham Ocean Walk resort. That place was just awful. The pool here at the Omni was very nice as was the lazy river. The restaurants though were very expensive. I ate once in the Italian restaurant. It was over $100 for 3 of us and the food portions was small. There is a McDonald's and a Chili's just down the road. I would definitely go back and I would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of our stay. We got a great deal on Priceline and were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews. Yes, we paid $14 a day for parking and around $18 a day for resort fees, but we factored that into the price and compared to other hotels in this class, and still felt we got a great deal. The pools are fantasic. Our children (and my husband!) loved the water slide. Our whole family enjoyed the lazy river. We rented a cabana for the day which was $110, and we celebrated our daughter's birthday. The staff was very accomodating and we never experienced any rude staff member. Crocs cafe in the pool area had decent food and made some great margaritas!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have now stayed at this Hotel twice in 3 years.

The Hotel is a fair distance away from Orlando Airport and is near to the Disney parks.

As the hotel is not in the most popular locations, it has a lot of room to include several pools and a great lazy river.

Very modern, clean hotel. Good quality food.
Only real issues are lack of choice in the hotels food menu and the expense which is on the high side.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Omni is the perfect place to stay if you want to be away from the touristy atmosphere in Orlando. The staff is extremely nice. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. I have stayed at the Omni twice and will definitely stay again. The spa is reasonably priced and the lazy river is fun. Location-wise, it's about a 20 minute drive to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We searched a long time across many travel sites looking for the right hotel while in Orlando. We knew we wanted to spend some time at the hotel hanging out, not just at the parks. In the end, we picked this one because it looked nice, had a decent rate, and had a lazy river, which we really like. It was a tough choice though, because even the hotel's own web site is pretty scarce with information.

We were wonderfully surprised to find that this hotel is the perfect destination for families and just about anyone looking for more than just a place to sleep.

First, the hotel itself is gorgeous. Everything about the place was perfect, clean, and pretty high end. There are two really nice restaurants in the hotel, by the family pool is a bar and another lower key restaurant, and there is also a deli with quick food and ice cream. All restaurants and food were excellent. We opted for the bed and breakfast package and were treated to an incredible buffet breakfast each day. This is the full Sunday brunch type of breakfast with omlette station, eggs, bacon, beverages, fruit, pancakes, etc. Everything!

The hotel has two pools and two outdoor hot tubs. They call one the family pool, but there are families at both. The non-family pool is a standard rectangle that never gets more than about 4.5 feet deep. It's nice and was definitely warmer than the family pool. Next to that was the hot tub overlooking the golf course. Really beautiful and hot. The family pool is bigger and has a nice shape to it. You can walk in at both ends since the pool ramps down from zero inches all the way to about 5'9" deep. In the middle of the pool is a water slide. It's modest size, about 25-30 feet high, enclosed (dark) with an employee manning the entrance. It takes about 8 seconds to go through the slide. All the kids loved it except the ones that don't like the dark.

The lazy river was really nice. There are tubes just floating around. You grab one and float, or go without a tube. It was a lot of fun, and I'm told it's the only hotel that doesn't charge extra for the lazy river. This was a really nice extra. Only catch is it was a bit shaded, so when it was cooler, I was more reluctant to go in.

Next to the family pool is a restaurant/bar mentioned above that served good pool food and drinks. There is a basketball and volleyball court. Towels and balls are provided. On the weekends, there is full entertainment at the family pool. A DJ running kids games, music, line dancing, and other entertainment as well as a barbecue and other food. On other days, there are still kid activities happening a few times a day, a hair wrapping station, and there is a babysitting service if you want to get out for a nice dinner without then kids.

I can't say enough about how much we liked this hotel and what a pleasant surprise it was based on the information we read. We could have just made this hotel our vacation.

I didn't even mention the par 3 golf course yet, cause I didn't play, but they will rent you clubs and let any age play. Looked pretty nice.

The only, and I mean only thing slightly wrong with this hotel was the location. I was just a little south of the action. It's not far from Disney but other parks are farther north. It's definitely not the same as staying at the parks. They do provide shuttles to the parks though, for a fee. It took us a 1/2 hour to drive to Universal studios. not terrible, just not next door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Omni. We played golf, enjoyed the sites of Orlando and went shopping. We loved this property and were treated well by the staff. We would return again!

TIP - join the privilege club before you arrive to take advantage of the in-room morning coffee!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Address: 1500 Masters Boulevard, Davenport, FL 33896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Davenport
#1 Business Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate, located just 6 miles from Walt Disney World(R) Resort, provides scheduled transportation to the Walt Disney World(R) Theme Parks. In addition to 36 holes of championship golf, guests enjoy 15 acres of recreation including an 850 ft. lazy river, zero entry family pool, formal pool with private cabanas, and a lighted, 9-hole par 3 golf course, signature Mokara Spa and fitness center, and seven on-site dining options. The main resort features 720 newly renovated guest rooms. In addition, there are 49 two- and three-bedroom luxury resort villas, equipped with full kitchens, a dining room, living room and private patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Omni Hotels & Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Orlando Resort At Championsgate Hotel Davenport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.