We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it seems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33894   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not what it seems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This really is not a resort; its a planned community with a few timeshare/resort condo's in the very and I mean very far back area of the complex. To be able to use the pool you need to drive to get there. There is little to no cell phone reception, although you can see a cell phone tower less than a block away. There is NO internet available in the units because only the planned community units that have full time owners paid for it to be installed. If you are lucky to be able to rent from one of those owners you might be able to find one in your unit but most of those people live in their units full time. I believe that this should be made clear as we were under the impression that this was a RESORT. The unit was clean but seems small as the living room is as small as a bedroom with little space to spread out (Only one sofa and a chair). There are three bedroom upstairs but two of them only have (one/each) full size beds. The master bedroom is huge with a jacuzzi type bathtub. The only problem is you have to keep going up and down the stairs whenever you need something...there is a 4th room on the main floor with a pull out (twin) sofa with full bath. If you have a huge family this is the place for you. Although the kitchen was beautiful, it was not equiped with all the normal things that other condo/timeshares offer. If you are looking for a place within the Disney Bubble; this is not the place for you, it is a good 15+minute drive to get to Route 4...but if you want to be away from all the crowds, than this is the place for you.... there are plently of great restaurants and stores you can visit close by with one strip mall in front of the units.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Villas at Regal Palms. We appreciate your feedback. Technically we are a short-term rental community and resort with a few long-term tenants. Less than 10 percent of homes here are occupied full time. We apologize for your cell phone difficulties. Reception clarity at Regal Palms depends on your provider. If it’s AT&T there is no service. If it’s Verizon there is no problem. We are sorry you assumed our townhome rentals had internet service. We will clarify that fact to avoid future misunderstandings.

Our two-story townhomes are equipped with the bed configuration and amenities the timeshare advertises, with stairs providing the only direct route between the first and second floors. The quickest way to Disney is in the opposite direction you took. It takes about 15 minutes to reach the closest Disney property, near Animal Kingdom. Thank you once again for sharing your comments. We wish our resort had been more agreeable with your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
72
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Regal Palms. Nice pool area for kids, a little more supervision of the kids and teens running wild would have been nice. Plus some parents were sitting in the water on the lazy river steps drinking blocking them off for the kids for over a hour one night without being told to move. AC wasn't working we we arrived and quit again the next night, was eventually fixed, the property management company was responsible for this not the Regal Palms itself. The food was good and the employees were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello, berlinfan82. Thank you for your review of Regal Palms. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the cuisine and pool area. We are also happy to hear that our staff was pleasant and helpful. We appreciate you sharing your suggestions and concerns regarding the pool area. We are considering adding additional staff to monitor the area due to feedback from our guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for a stay here since we were visiting Disney & Universal with our kids & grandkids. We had 5 adults & 4 children and had plenty of space for all of us in a 4 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath townhouse. We had a master bedroom upstairs with a king bed, ensuite bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, walk-in closet, dresser, TV and a small balcony (but no chairs on it); 2 other bedrooms upstairs with queen beds, dresser & TV; a full bathroom upstairs; then another master downstairs with a king bed, ensuite bathroom, dresser and TV. That room looks like it was supposed to be a lock-out, but it's permanently locked. There was also a half-bath downstairs. The full kitchen was stocked with dishes, glasses, silverware and cookware. They do give you a small bottle of dish soap and 1 packet of dishwasher soap, but you have to provide the rest. We stayed at 2908 Calabria, which is way in the back, so we had to drive to get to the pool. The pool was nice with a slide and a lazy river, plus there's 1 side that has the zero entry which is nice for the smaller children. There's a playground right there, a volleyball area and a bar. The drinks were pricey. With our unit being in the back, we didn't have any internet access...apparently there's some wifi, but it's not available in every unit. You can go to the internet cafe when it's open, but it costs $5 for 20 minutes. We didn't have much cell service, either, so we couldn't even use our phones when we wanted to look up something. It's been a few years since we've been to Disney, so there were times we wanted to go online to check out some things. There isn't daily maid service (most timeshares don't have it), but they did come on Tuesday and change out all the towels and empty the trash. We had our own garbage can outside and the garbage was picked up twice a week. The staff made sure all the cans went out to the street and were put back after. Nearby is just about anything you would need: Walmart, Target, Publix, gas station, CVS, liquor store, etc. Disney was an easy 20 minute drive...none of the horrible traffic we've experienced when we had to travel I4! Universal was a little further, maybe 35 or 40 minutes, but still an easy commute. Staff was always pleasant, and check-in & check-out was quick and easy. We definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We extend our thanks to the Michigan Midnighter for visiting the Villas at Regal Palms. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation. You stayed in our spacious 1,679-square foot Monarch. It comes fully furnished with stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, LCD televisions in the living room and master bedroom, flat panel TVs in the secondary bedrooms, washer-dryer, a covered terrace and sofa bed. The Monarch easily accommodates up to 10 people. We are within easy driving distance of all the major attractions. If you’re planning on spending the majority of your time on property, we have plenty to keep you occupied, including an outdoor swimming pavilion, waterslide, Lazy River attraction and sunbathing terrace. We also have a luxury spa, health club, on-site bar and grill, full service business center and a game room. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you’ll consider us again the next time you’re in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I really liked this place. It was in a very quiet location but shopping was very close and Disney is an easy 20 minute drive away. The rooms were comfortable, the kitchen was nice, there was a laundry room. We never heard the neighbors until the last night and they sounded like someone was in out room with us. We were surprised by a room service visit in the middle of the week and they replaced all the linens, towels and toiletries when we were not there. The negatives were as follows: The appliances were old, the AC did not work when we got there but they responded quickly to repair it. It was fine the rest of the week. On of the cook stove, one of the burners did not work, but that was OK. The back door was very hard to open and close. Good thing though because there was nothing but a catch basin in the back yard. When we called to get more dishwasher soap trash bags they said we had to buy it at the store. We have been in many time shares where they gave us more without a charge. All in all, a very nice place. I would come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Villas at Regal Palms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our proximity to Disney and many other attractions makes us a popular resort destination. Our three- and four-bedroom townhomes are the last word in roomy comfort. They are fully furnished and equipped with amenities you won’t find in most standard hotel rooms. As a timeshare, we provide a midweek refresher instead of a daily cleaning visit. Housekeeping services are available anytime upon request. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced but are happy we could resolve them in a timely manner. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed @134 Verona, through Kicoru, LLC. The place had everything we needed. The beds, though a bit short, were comfy, with lots of extra blankets and pillows. Having the kitchen really helped us keep a bit of normalcy in our plans. The wi-fi was in the townhome, which was super convenient, and the washer-dryer came in handy! Disney was close by, as were a pizza place, grocery, doctor, optometrist, and ice cream. We were literally a 3 minute walk to the pool, spa and restaurant. The pool itself was a lot of fun. The kids especially loved the lazy river and the slide. There is no lifeguard, so you must keep an eye on small children or those who are weak swimmers. Also, bring photo ID for your first pool visit, and they do provide towels in case you forgot yours. Also, pick up an inflatable ring @ a local Target or something for the kids to use before you go, as it makes it a bit safer for them. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent a week thru a timeshare exchange in June. The complex is very big and much like a housing development. We had a 3 bedroom and the inside of the unit was ok. The kitchen was well equipped and recently updated. The refrig seemed to leak and the floor was warped from the water. I reported this but no one ever came to look. The unit was clean. We were disappointed that there was no outdoor place to sit. The sliders in the living room looked out onto a retention basin. All the houses in this circle surrounded this eye-soar. No chairs outside. Our children are basically adults, but I would not have liked this if I had young children with us. The pool area was way too far from our unit to walk to. The pool is very nice but it was very crowded and the water was murky in the lazy river. The bar at the pool us fun and they have music in the evening which we enjoyed. This is not very centrally located and all the theme parks are a good ride as well as decent restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover,Ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here last Feb during vacation...This place was so amazing and spotless...We checked in and found our condo within 15 minutes! The staff is friendly ,very helpful too! We got into our 4 bedroom condo unpacked , we called down to get more towels ,pillows and blankets...Housekeeping arrived 20 mins after the call... Its great for kids of all ages! i had 3 adults, 3 teens, 2 11 year olds and one 8 year old...we all loved the lazy river , pool and the water slide... Close to the theme parks just a short drive to all of them. Walmart ,Target are up the street CVS is across the street...Publix (food shopping) is right there as well...The condo has everything we needed to cook, pots pans ,dishes glassware! The bonus is the washer and dryer right in the condo! We are def staying there again this year!! we usually stay up on 192, but they won this family over! oh i almost forgot they show movies at night at the pool, get your tubes and sit in the pool and watch a movie, the kids loved this!! i give it a 10!!

Room Tip: If you have smaller kids ,ask for a room or townhouse close to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Villas at Regal Palms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your description of our resort as a home away from home. That’s how we think of ourselves, and we’re happy when we meet your expectations. Thank you for mentioning our Dive-In Movie. It’s a popular attraction that adds an extra dimension to a relaxing evening by the pool. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 2700 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33894
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Regal Palms are the exclusive upgraded three- and four-bedroom townhomes within the Regal Palms Resort. Of the nearly 600 units on property, the Villas account for a small percentage of the total. They are noted for their spaciousness, amenities and tastefully-appointed décor. The 1,679-square foot Monarch and 1,376-square foot Colonnade are highly upgraded over the standard Regal Palms Resort units and include full kitchens, granite countertops, wood flooring and stainless steel appliances in addition to full-size washer-dryers, flat screen TVs and outdoor terraces. The Villas can easily accommodate large travel parties and provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Regal Palms Resort And Spa
Villas At Regal Palms Hotel Davenport
Hotel At Regal Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.