We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-cruise hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1825 Griffin Road, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Dania Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here before our cruise and were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Appreciated the free shuttle to the hotel from the airport, arranged with just one call and a short wait. Check-in was made pleasant by Paul at the front desk even though one of our rooms was not quite ready.

The restaurant in the hotel was excellent; the four of us each had different entrees and all were very tasty and wonderfully served by our waiter, Norman.

We took the shuttle to the ship on Sunday, along with half the hotel! If you want a less busy transit, don't go at noon. Also, the elevators do get busy so plan to leave earlier or you'll be waiting a while for one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for selecting the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport hotel for your travel needs. Please know we value your comments. We are glad to hear our hotel, the service staff and the services the hotel provides met your expectations. This is always our goal. Also want to thank you for recognizing our staff doing a great job. It is appreciated! We look forward another opportunity to be of service. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    223
    126
    55
    27
See reviews for
130
213
41
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed overnight to meet friends coming in for a cruise. When you first arrive be prepared to be confused. You enter a common driveway to an office building. Stay to the right and take a parking ticket to enter the property (including to pull up to the front entrance), or just park in the lot and carry your bags in.

Once you walk through the doors all is well. Checking in was fast as it was mid week and there were no cruise passengers checking in or out. The room was pretty standard but clean. The bed was a bit uncomfortable for us (too hard) but others may like that.

There is a great lobby bar to meet and greet friends etc. Happy hour (two for one) and bar snacks too. We did not try the restaurant but it looked pretty typical for a hotel of this type. The pool area is very nice with lots of chairs etc. The health club is a separate building next to the pool. It is very small with a very meager amount of equipment and space.

I would not stay for a vacation but certainly would for a 1-3 night trip to the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Dakota3496,

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale. Please know we value your comments. It is great to hear our location, amenities and service met your travel needs. I have shared your comments with our staff and we thank you for choosing the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport hotel. We look forward to having you back!

Best Regards,

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twp of Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale and again they have exceeded my expectations. Its a great place for a short stay. The cocktail lounge is the best! Great servers, and food. I would especially like to say that Nohemy is a fabulous waitress. She recognized me from my prior stays, and was pleasant and efficient. She was interested in making sure that I was having a great experience. Love this hotel. Will always be where I stay when in the Fort Lauderdale vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear LexiC102

Welcome Back!

Thank you for selecting your the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel once again. It is gratifying to know we have earned your business again and again. Your feedback about the hotel is appreciated. I am also happy to hear our staff continues to meet your expectations. Thank you for taking time to recognize our team members doing a great job. I can not express how much this means to our team. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return!

Best Regards,

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We checked into this hotel for an overnight before a cruise, despite the negative reviews that I had read. Our flight arrived at 6:00 AM. We were met by a very cheerful van driver, just starting his day. He told us that while they have a full restaurant in the hotel, and snacks at the bar, the hotel offers a free shuttle to a nearby shopping center with other good restaurants. We arrived at the hotel, the lobby was very clean and inviting. A bar sets in the lobby that serves Starbucks. The first pot of the day was brewing and the lobby was filled with the aroma. We had planned on sitting by the pool waiting for our room to become available.

A very cheerful desk person greeted us, welcoming us and offering to get us some of that coffee. I told her that we had just flown in from LA and were beat. She turned to the auditor and told her that we needed our room early. She quickly and efficiently got us checked in and up to our room.

After a power nap, we came downstairs and relaxed out at a nice clean pool. We enjoyed a couple of drinks from the bar then set out to walk over to a nearby sporting goods store. A bit of a walk, but not too far.

Later we hopped into one of the vans and were whisked over to the shopping center. We ate at one restaurant then walked over to a little gem called Millers Ale House. Enjoyed a couple of frosty adult libations and called for the van back. The desk person told us it would be 20 minutes. Before we could finish our drinks, the driver walked in checking on us. He was so darn nice, zoomed us back to the hotel. We had a nightcap in the bar that was now bustling with patrons.

We got up the next morning and enjoyed a delicious FREE breakfast, served by some very warm friendly employees. The breakfast was perfect, fresh warm, cooks bringing out fresh food on a regular bases.

Each of the employees we dealt with we're outstanding. They seemed to genuinely care about us and the hotel. Really terrific people! The employees make this hotel!

I had one negative in this hotel. As we sat having lunch in the bar, terrific food and service. This couple comes into the bar and orders several drinks and lunch. The man was talking loudly with some business stuff that seemed like BS. I looked at the pair and thought that if I were working I would be Leary of them. But, the bar tender seemed to be keeping an eye on them as they kept ordering more drinks in quick succession. Darn if that couple didn't scoot out of the place, pulling the old dine and dash. I was pissed at myself that I hadn't warned the employees of my grifter suspicions. The employees were just too darn nice...

On our future cruises we will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Mike M

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel; and thank you for your positive comments on the services provided during your stay. I am happy to hear our staff met your expectations. I also want to let you know how much I appreciate you recognizing our team members doing a great job. I can not express how much this means to our team. Once again thank you for your feedback!

Best Regards,

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are taking a cruise departing from Port Everglades in Ft. Lauderdale, you can't go wrong with this hotel before or after your cruise. This Sheraton offers free shuttle service to/from the FLL airport, and only $10 one-way transportation to/from the cruise port.

Nice pool, fitness center and lobby bar. Also in walking distance to the Islamorada Fish Company Restaurant - a great fresh seafood restaurant - and the Bass Pro Shop huge sporting goods center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Ocean Palace Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and I am happy to hear our location, amenities and service met your travel needs. I have shared your comments with our staff and we thank you for choosing the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport hotel. We look forward to having you back for your next cruise!

Best Regards,

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland, mi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was rated 3.5 stars on priceline, had a good brand name, and was rated relatively well on Trip Advisor. I wanted to be close to the airport for a morning flight. But here's the scoop on this place. If you're wondering why you got can get good rates at a hotel brand that usually goes for $150/night and up, it's because this place is old and needs a complete overhaul.

It looks like the hotel was built in the early 90s and has not been updated since. Right when I arrived the front desk area looked tired. There's a nice big lobby with a bar/restaurant but again, pretty out of date. Pool isn't bad but it's just tired. I tend to walk down stairs instead of elevators; you can see in the stairwells the place is pretty dirty behind the scenes.

It's $15/per night parking, you need to swipe your guest card to get in/out. No free wifi, no free breakfast.

Another downside is that if you are left at the hotel without a car, there's nothing in walking distance unless you consider the pricey hotel restaurant. The room itself was OK, bed was good, HD Lodgenet programming, no free wifi.

Consider the hotels on Stirling; one exit to the south. They are just as close to the airport and there appear to be more eating options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel and taking time to provide us feedback on your recent stay. Your comments are appreciated. Please know we have taken note of your experience and suggestions. The hotel is located in the vicinity of a major airport; to provide options to our guest a complimentary shuttle to a local mall is offered. I am also excited to report our hotel is scheduled for a refresh later this year. It is my hope you will have another opportunity to visit when all is completed. Once again thank you for staying with us!

Best Regards

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has excellent service! Paul at the front desk was beyond welcoming. Because I was offered to be signed up for the Sheraton rewards program while making my reservation, I received parking for free. The lobby was nice, has several computers and printers available for use for checking into flights, surfing the net, etc. TheFlat Iron Gril was very good, and Norman (our server) was both charming and knowledgeable. The room was very nice, had updated features. Overall, a fantastic stay. The pool and hot tub outside were fantastic, both also had chair lifts available for wheelchair bound guests. There was also an exercise room and tennis court, but I did not use these services. The beds were very comfortable, as we're the bed linens. Very convenient to the Ft. Lauderdale airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear “First Time Sheraton” Guest

Welcome to the Sheraton Family!

Thank you for selecting the Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Airport hotel for your travel needs. Please know we value your comments. It is great to hear we have earned your business. Your comments have been shared with all our service staff and want to thank you recognizing some of our super stars. I am also happy to hear the hotel and the services we provide met your expectations. This is our goal. We look forward another opportunity to be of service. Once again thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated!

Best Regards,

JGarcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 1825 Griffin Road, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dania Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport And Cruise Port
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Sheraton Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sheraton
Dania Sheraton
Sheraton Ft Lauderdale Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.