We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cakes & pastry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grampa's Bakery & Restaurant

Grampa's Bakery & Restaurant
17 SW 1st St, Dania Beach, FL 33004-3660
954-923-2163
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 63 restaurants in Dania Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Yummy cakes & pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Though there is a large breakfast & lunch/dinner menu we came here just for dessert on the way to the Ft. Lauderdale airport.
The strawberry shortcake was magnificent and could have easily served 2 but it was so good my husband ate the whole thing. Mounds of whipped cream, strawberries and delicious cake.
The cinnamon pastry was served warm and melted in your mouth.
If you don't have time to sit down and eat, take the food with you. Definitely better than anything offered in the Ft. Lauderdale airport.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    92
    77
    34
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

In 2001 Grandpas catered our wedding. Everyone loved the food and the service was outstanding. Tommy still remembers us each time we come to visit which is now a tradition. We love the baked goods as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best breakfast anywhere in South Florida!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We are breakfast people and absolutely love Grampa's for our Saturday mornings. Great complimentary homemade pastries to start out the breakfast and plenty of waiters and waitresses to take care of you even on a crowded day. The Eggs Benedict is the best with a creamy sauce and eggs done right. Comes with hash browns or grits. We love those hash browns - so much better than most other restaurants' home style potatoes. Also Grampa's has the Biscuits of the century. Huge, hot, tasty and fluffy. Oh so mouth watering with soft butter or with jelly.
Don't miss the pastry case! They are known for the twisty cinnamon sticks! They are so yeasty, soft and delicious. We always bring some home. And they always put in some extra and cut the sticks just a little bit bigger than they have too.
We love this place. We would easily recommend it for anyone looking for a great spot for a breakfast. Best thing that ever happened in Dania Beach area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I love Grampa's Bakery and Restaurant for breakfast on the weekends. We didn't realize how close we were to it until seeing it on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives (Food Network) and immediately checked it out. The bakery items are so tempting and I've enjoyed them the few times I've indulged. Tommy is always friendly and welcoming, especially now that he recognizes us as 'regulars', but even to first timers he's always warm and smiling. The service is usually really good, even in busy times.

The food is superb. Pancakes, waffles, omelets, eggs, french toast, corned beef hash, all excellent. The bonus is when you sit down they bring you a small plate of freshly made danish. Somedays it's fruit danish but on Sunday they have cinnamon sugar, my favorite. Factor those into your calorie count because you won't be able to resist! Warm and soft, I'm getting hungry typing it!!

Seriously though, it's a great breakfast spot. Be prepared for a wait on the weekends but never more than 5-10 minutes before you get a table. We've had lunch once and dinner once there and it was OK but we're 100% sold on breakfast. It's our go-to after church place to eat. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Tommy does it right, service, fresh food & dlightful ambiance, since 1953.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where do you start..in the bakery and then to the menu of fresh to the table foods. The Cobb Salad is enormous and the fresh flounder fish & chips were awesome. The service iis always on point. The newest waiter has been there 6.5 years. The owners are always on the floor socializing and making sure all expectations are being met by their food. Dessert is simply the best and all from in house baking. We eat here about 9 times a year as we visit family & friends in the area. Thankyou Tommy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grampa's Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grampa's Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampa's Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.