We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient - Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Gulf Stream Way, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Convenient - Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise, and found the staff to be absolutely fantastic. Things can be pretty chaotic in the lobby on Sundays as there are lots of people returning from cruises as well as those waiting to leave, but we found the staff to be very friendly and willing to help navigate the process.

It's a free call from one of the courtesy phones at baggage claim at FLL to request the free shuttle. Our driver was very courteous. Check in was a breeze, and they pointed out the sign up for the shuttle to the cruise port the next morning. They also were helpful with recommendations for dinner delivery options, as well as stores within walking distance to pick up last minute supplies. Prices at their cafe are a little steep, but it is well staffed by friendly folks who make a mean egg white breakfast sandwich. We found this to be an excellent hotel with top notch staff who helped make our first cruise experience all the better.

Two location-based concerns about this hotel that I will point out:
1. There are not a lot of shopping/dining options within walking distance, so if you're not driving yourself your options are limited. The convenience store we walked two was about a 15 minute walk away, including navigating a very busy intersection of two four lane highways. There are literally no dining options within walking distance, save for the restaurant at the Bass Pro Shops.
2. If you're using a cab from the cruise port back to the hotel after your cruise (the shuttle doesn't provide cruise port to hotel service) be abundantly clear to the point of ridiculousness to your driver that you're going to the Courtyard in Dania Beach, not the one in Ft. Lauderdale. Apparently cab drivers in FLL aren't aware that there isn't just one Courtyard in the greater Ft. Lauderdale area. There is a transport service in the lobby on cruise days that you can sign up with for pickup upon returning from your cruise. If we cruise again, we'll definitely use that service instead of a cab.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the interstate and the airport. The noise wasn't bad, but if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We really appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We definitely strive to create a great experience for every guest and I'm happy that we succeeded with you. I'm pleased to hear that every staff member was helpful during your stay. Our restaurant staff truly appreciates the recognition for the food quality and I can't thank you enough for that. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when your travel brings you to South Florida. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    134
    55
    18
    11
See reviews for
90
121
11
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

From the outside I thought I got the wrong hotel, also thought the train line or something in front of the hotel would be too much noise. Hopefully we heard almost anything with the balcony closed, the bed size was great for a 2 bed room, the checkout was already done by the morning so we just left to go to he Bass Pro Shop.
Nice hotel, rate was worth every cent.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLHT, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback. We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we hope you will return in the future!

Thanks again,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I am a loyal Marriott consumer. We chose this for the convenience to have a night in FLL before a 2 week cruise. What a let down!! This was the worst experience we have had at a Marriott.
The wait at the airport for the shuttle was terrible. The check in clerk at the hotel was rude and acted harassed while checking us in.She was constantly on the phone and not attentive.
The system and wait to get a transport to the ship was tedious and long. We ended up getting a cab..Needless to say we had a great cruise..I had blocked the entire experience til I went looking for a hotel again in FLL. Will not be this one!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLHT, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not a pleasant one.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and our team for your stay. Our complimentary shuttle service runs every 30 minutes for departures and on demand for pick up. I am very sorry that we did not deliver speedy service for you at the airport as this is our goal for each guest. In addition, we definitely do not take customer service lightly at our hotel and I have researched the clerk that checked you in to ensure we follow up accordingly so this type of behavior is not repeated.

Lastly, I apologize that we again did not meet expectations with the cruise transfer the following day. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your cruise despite the challenges at our hotel. I hope you will accept my apology for the inconvenience and thank again for your feedback.

Regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nice place.....Hotel was very clean and modern. Rooms modern and roomy and clean. Hotel staff was very nice. The grounds of the hotel are well landscaped. The bistro restaurant downstairs....The food is just ok and they are getting top dollar for it !!!! My reccomendation is go next door to the Islamorada fish company. Plenty to see around this location. International fish n game assoc hall of fame is next door too. Bass pro shops too. Ft. lauderdale beach is about a 15 min drive north on I-95. Only neg. is the trirail station and amtrak is due west of the hotel maybe 150 yards. You may hear a horn or two in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLLHT, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for complimenting our guest rooms and landscaping. We're happy you had an opportunity to enjoy the restaurant just steps away from our hotel. We appreciate the feedback on the Bistro and we are constantly looking for opportunities to enhance the guest experience in our restaurant by adding new menu items every few months.

We are located close to the Tri-rail station that offers transportation from West Palm Beach to Miami for a nominal price to the guest visiting the area. We do apologize if you experienced any noise issues during your stay. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope you will visit us if your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.

Best regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very good hotel if you are booked on a cruise departing from Ft. Lauderdale. Approx. 45 min. drive from Miami Aiport and even closer to Ft. Lauderdale Airport. Complimentary and friendly shuttle service to cruise terminal. Complimentary continental breakfast. Nice clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback, we really appreciate that! We're happy to hear that we helped start your vacation on a good note. We do have rates available that include free breakfast and I'm happy you and your partner took advantage of that. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were getting on a cruise ship and just needed a place to sleep, so my dad suggested this place. My whole family stayed here and loved it. The decor is nice and updated, while still feeling like florida. It has a fish tank in the lobby, which is nice and my son loved it. They were kind enough, that when we got off the cruise ship, they let us store our bags for free and wiat for our plane in the lobby area. Very cool of them, since we had no where to go before our flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We're delighted that your family enjoyed our hotel. Thank you so much for the nice compliments and it was our pleasure to assist you. We hope you will choose our hotel in the future if your travel brings you to Fort Lauderdale. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Located near the airport but not much else. Clean, neat and helpful staff but not up to other Marriott standards. A nice place to stay overnight. Not many places within walking distance.
Other hotels near the beach have a great more to offer.

Room Tip: A few more dollars will equal a more entertaining Holel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear that you slept well at the hotel. We understand the location may not have been ideal for your travel needs, but we do appreciate the feedback. You comments appear to be happy overall with the staff and the cleanliness and we thank you for that. We hope you will continue to choose Marriott as your lodging preference in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 400 Gulf Stream Way, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dania Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport And Cruise Port
Courtyard Dania Beach
Courtyard Hotel Dania Beach
Dania Courtyard
Dania Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.