We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but watch out for the transportation provided for cruise packages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 SW 18th Avenue, Dania Beach, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%!
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Dania Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but watch out for the transportation provided for cruise packages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I along with my sister and brother-in-law stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port on Saturday March 25, 2013. We sailed on the Ms. Nieuw Amsterdam on the March 25th for a 2 week cruise. Our stay at the hotel was nice and I have no problem with the accommodations. However, as part of the hotel stay transportation to the cruise port was also to be included. On Sunday the 25th when we were loaded into a mini van to take us to the HAL terminal, prior to our leaving the driver was instructed that were were not to be charged. However when we arrived at the terminal while I was helping to get all of our luggage to the HAL baggage handlers, the driver unbeknown to me told my brother in law that he owed him $40.00 for the 4 of us for transporatation. This was plain out dishonest and he drove away before I could confront his dishonesty. I remember this guy and I plan on coming back to the Hilton again. Believe me, I will confront him when I see him. The Hotel should provide some kind of voucher to its guest who paid for the transportation as part of their stay so that dishonest drivers cannot get away with this dishonesty. Shame on the driver and Hilton Hotels as well. We paid for the shuttle service and you see what we got. I assume he tried this tactic on the other six people he still had to drop off at another terminal. I also plan on contacting AMEX as well.
,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    241
    121
    22
    21
See reviews for
168
267
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton the night before a cruise. We arrived at 3pm and check in was fast and friendly. THe pool area is small but was adequate for our short stay. Our room was clean and comfortable and the front desk staff were helpful and welcoming. If you have time the Quaterdeck restaurant in Dania Beach is great. Ask the front desk staff and they can give you directions. We had the breakfast package and ate before we got on the shuttle. Basic buffett and that's all we needed before getting on a cruise!

It was simple to use the shuttle service. We booked the 10:30 shuttle and it was ready to leave right on time. When we arrived back at the port we callled the hotel shuttle service to let them know we were back and within 15 minutes we were picked up and taken back to the hotel to get our car.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor and this area was quiet. Although the rooms around us were occupied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel before and after cruises March/April each year for a number of years. Great rooms, superb beds, clean, laundry facilities and a quiet pool. Location is great for airport and cruise terminal. Shuttle runs hourly to and from the airport. Well priced tranfers available to the cruise port. Restaurant available for dinner and breakfast. Free shuttle available to local bars and restaurants. We were disappointed last year (2012) that there were signs that things were not well. Breakfast was the main problem with poor service and staff bordering on rude. However we returned again this year (March 13th to 16th and 24th to 27th) and found that the place had undergone a makeover. Carpets, decor and restaurant revamped but more importantly a team of very pleasant staff who could not do enough to help you. High level management intervention that has clearly had a positive effect. We will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here as we had an overnight stay before catching our next flight back in December. They have a free shuttle that picks you up at the airport... they said it would take 30 mins to come pick us up. It took them 40 mins. AND it was past midnight when we called. We assumed they were going to be busy and had other people in the shuttle, considering the VERY LONG WAIT in the middle of the night, but no. We were the only ones.
They did not have room service (we needed to get milk for our son when he was going to sleep), which was mind blowing.
The hotel is rather old, but the room itself was clean. It would've been a decent stay, but considering the poor shuttle service and lack of room service made it mediocre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFLLFH, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for the issue you encountered with our shuttle service and for any inconvenience our lack of in-room dining caused you. We appreciate your input and we will use your comments as we constantly strive to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Daniel Lam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. We arrived after midnight and chose this hotel because their shuttle runs 24 hours a day. We were picked up quickly and checked in with no problems. We confirmed that we were signed up for the 11;30 am shuttle to the cruise port (my husband had called earlier in the day to do this.) We had two rooms. One had two beds, one a king bed. Both were non-smoking and clean. Bathrooms were very nice. In the morning, we ate at the Great American Grill. Food was good as was service. We asked the waiter about where we could shop for liquor. He directed us to BJ's in the adjacent Oakwood Plaza shopping center. They have a liquor store (don't need to be a member) and they sell wine and beer in the regular store. Although we weren't BJ's members, we were able to buy wine with no problems. Princess allows one bottle per person, so we were bringing some aboard. As an aside, Oakwood Plaza also has a number of stores and restaurants.
The only problem came with the shuttle to the cruise port. They charter this out to a company that sets up in the lobby. You pay a per person charge (around $8, I think.) We were downstairs in plenty of time, but people from the earlier shuttle were still there. The company was very disorganized in how they were loading the shuttles. We didn't get on a shuttle until around 12:15 pm. By that time, the people for the next shuttle were downstairs, and you could picture what the lobby looked like. We were almost ready to take a cab to the port (some people did!!) The company was willing to refund money to those who wanted it, but that didn't help us getting to the cruise port. It was really a mess.
The people from the Hilton Garden Inn were very apologetic--I realize that the disorganization wasn't their fault--that's why I gave the hotel a very good--but they really need to get another company to do their shuttles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Metro
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was nice and clean. We landed at Ft Lauderdale airport at 11:30 and the shuttle was there about 20 minutes after we called. There were others waiting much longer than we were.

The staff was nice. The hotel clean. There are restaurants, entertainment and shopping close by. The only thing is breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our travel agent handled this booking for us prior to our recent cruise on the Caribbean Princess. We could not have had a better experience! Our room was comfortable and very clean. The on-site restaurant was very good for both a late dinner upon arrival and breakfast the following morning before our cruise. Transit to the cruise port and back the following week was flawless. The entire staff was welcoming, friendly, and efficient. If you are in the area for an overnight stay prior to your cruise, this hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Any room appears to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
0.1 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
0.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Ft. Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#18 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port

Address: 180 SW 18th Avenue, Dania Beach, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Dania Beach
Hilton Dania
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Lauderdale
Dania Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.