We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Southeast 5th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Ne Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

We were looking for a good safe place to park our car while on an 11 day cruise. If we had parked at the port, it would have cost us $17 per day plus the hotel charge. We stayed at the Sleep Inn the night before our cruise and had a good night in a very comfortable bed and quiet room. It cost us less for the room and parking...about $120 total...instead of $100 for a room plus $178 more to park at the port!

We were told when to report to the desk to be shuttled to the ship, and after waiting about 15 minutes, we were rushed off to the port with others and all went well. Upon returning 11 days later, we called the hotel to tell them we were ready to be picked up and they were there in about 15 or 20 minutes...not a problem as we knew they were shuttling people to and from the airport as well. Everyone was very friendly, courtious and professional. We will definitely stay at this hotel when we cruise from Ft Lauderdale again!!!

  • Liked — Value, secure parking, transport
  • Disliked — No free business center
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    132
    74
    32
    30
See reviews for
108
131
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Most of what you'll read here is true:

This place is reasonably priced and has what you need, but not much else.

The rooms are basic but clean.

The staff does about what they have to, but not much more.

The pool is nice, but shaded.

The breakfast is ok, but if you miss it you won't mind.

The neighbrhood is safe--near the airprot and cruiseprot and has a drugstore and supermarket etc. nearby. The free shuttle is nice if you do not have a car.

So is this a resort or "destination"? Heck no, unless you are on a buget, or have kids.

Otherwise it is an ok place for a night or two in this area.

  • Liked — pool, location, free shuttle
  • Disliked — loud at times.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

To start, I visit this hotel many times during the year. I continue to frequent it because it is in a good location, decent price and is reasonably maintained.

The problem is with the staff. The have never been particularly helpful. And when I say "helpful" I actually mean "nice, courteous, professional, etc. This applies to everyone, from the front desk, to the kitchen and the housekeeping.

For the same price, you can stay at Lauderdale-by-the-Sea and be walking distance from the beach. The people at LBTS are much more friendly. The only reason I didn't stay there for my most recent visit was due to the holiday. Hotels on the beach will be more costly around Christmas. But if you are traveling in the off season, this hotel is much better, although it is a little further from Hollywood.

The Sleep Inn is so-so. I would recommend it for a a couple nights stay, but no longer than that. The pool is nice, but it is shaded almost completely, so don't think about working on your tan. Breakfast is better than some, but it is terribly cramped trying to navigate your way through all the foods.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Let me start by saying the staff here was really good and helpful. I stayed five nights here because the rate was too good to pass up. My rating should really be a 3.5. It's a nice clean property, close to the beach, the airport and the cruise port. Due to a mix up I got a suite instead of just a room and it was satisfactory, but nothing really special. The bed was OK, and the work area was very good. The bathroom was large and had a very spacious vanity. The food in the breakfast room was sort of ordinary. By the third day I was going out for breakfast. The pool was nice, and the whirlpool was indeed hot, but the jets didn't work most of the time I was there...a rather small, petty point. However, I think the pool area closes too early at 9 PM. People were generally being quiet out in the pool area, and it would probably be OK to leave it open until 10 PM, at least. This is a better than average Sleep Inn, and would recommend it. They offer courtesy van service to the airport.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — It just missed the mark for being given a 4-star rating...hard to put my finger on just why.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

I went to Florida to visit family . My flight would be landing around midnight, too late to have family make the hour drive to the airport so I decided to book a rooom.

I chose Sleep Inn and Suites because they offered a free hot breakfast and had a shuttle. Well, the shuttle doesn't run after 11.00..so I had to take a taxi...Not Bad..it was only $12.00.

Now the lobby is really nice and updated. They do have a computer available, but charge by the minute...BTW...The Sleep In in Lakeland FL doesn't charge to use their computers.

Was I shocked to see the room On the whole, I'm not a picky person BUT....the furniture was scuffed up. The sofa had a huge 8" soiled spot on it..yuk Overall the room was fairly clean, but have been in much cleaner hotel rooms. Besides the scuffed up furniture, everything in the room was very outdated.

Remember, I primarily chose this hotel because of the free hot breakfast......the waffles were fine, but the pancake syrup had been watered down....just maple water.... So I decided to fix a bagel and put some cream cheese on it. Well, to my surprise, the cream cheese was "cream cheese spread" it was disgusting.. The gravy in the crock pot looked like it had been there for a week. No one was using it...

So next time I'll go back to the Holiday Inn...so much nicer for about the same price and eat out for breakfast

Please don't rate all Sleep Inn and Suites by this review. I've stayed in very nice ones in Florida.

  • Liked — Close to the airport
  • Disliked — The shape of the room and the breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

this was a nice place to stay, the hotel is pretty new, 2004 i think.
and the price was good.

  • Liked — room was bigger than normal and new
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in Dania for the Air and Sea Show Weekend and the hotel looked brand new. We checked in and everything looked new and clean. We got room (311) and it was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was very clean, and so was the whole room, the beds were a little hard but ok for 2 nights. The continental breakfast was very good and had eggs and waffles. The only problem was that the lady working the breakfast was just very rude and had a horrible attitude. But thats the only complaint. I would stay again if in the area though.

  • Liked — Clean and Good Area
  • Disliked — Staff Attitude
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Address: 1500 Southeast 5th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport Hotel Dania Beach
Sleep Inn Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sleep Inn
Dania Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.