We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced but somewhat isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Southeast 5th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced but somewhat isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in Dania Beach before a cruise and found it to be reasonably priced and quite comfortable. We arrived late due to a weather delay with our flight and got the last shuttle from the airport. When we got to the hotel we overheard the clerk telling someone on the phone that the shuttle service was closed for the night and they would need to take a taxi, so be aware of this if you arrive after 11:30 or so. The hotel is not as close to the airport as we expected (about 15 minutes on the shuttle) but our room was nice. We thought the hotel was a little isolated. There was a small strip mall across the street and a Walgreens adjacent, but there we couldn't find anywhere to eat within walking distance. We were told that there is a small Mexican restaurant in the strip mall, but it was closed and we didn't try to check it out the next day. If you arrive hungry, you might want to consider eating in the airport before calling the shuttle. It took us 20-25 minutes to get to the cruise terminal on the shuttle as it dropped people off at the airport first, but we weren't in a hurry so this wasn't a problem. The cruise terminal shuttle cost $5.00 per person, quite reasonable. This is the only hotel in the immediate area so there were no cabs cruising by or waiting, but I assume the hotel could call a cab if necessary. The Sleep Inn was fine and suited our purposes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    148
    82
    36
    31
See reviews for
118
150
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here on 05/11-15/2013, for 4 nights after returning from a cruise. We booked on hotwire via the secret hot-deals and only paid $46.00 per night for 2 adults including free parking, wi-fi, and hot breakfast.

On a positive note: it appears that the owners have invested some money to make the place look welcoming. That being said it did have a somewhat mildewed smell in the corridors and in the 1st room we were given (room 220). We requested a different room due to the smell in room 220 and were promptly given another room which turned out to be right next door to the 1st room. Thankfully the mildewed smell wasn’t in the 2nd room. Again you could see that the owners have taken care to try and spruce up the room with flat screen TV and a nice dresser. The room also had a mini frig, microwave, and coffee pot with the whole in room coffee set-up. Other than the smell I was quite pleased with the room UNTIL I saw the roaches in the room on the 2nd night…..OMG, the 2ND NIGHT!!. Ok, for the record, I’ve never seen a roach in a hotel room as nice as this before. It wasn’t just A roach either it was several!!! I was thinking that there was an infestation because our room was on the 2nd floor and there were several roaches inside the room but now that I think about it, our room was right above the kitchen/breakfast area. The owners have made an attempt to have a nice establishment but they need to invest in a good pest management service also. We were going to buy Raid from the Walgreen’s right next door but then decided to inform the front desk staff about the roaches in our room instead. The clerk immediately provided us with some roach spray, told us how to use it most effectively and for us to keep the spray in our room. Oh yeah, the owners could also invest some money into supplying nicer (thicker) towels in the rooms. Our towels were sooo thin you could almost see through them. AND the room service staff didn’t clean our tub. I don’t even think she rinsed it out because I ended up having to do it myself before showing again.

Breakfast: I know, after the whole roach episode you’re thinking who could here, right?? Well, I was thinking the same thing but I was also hungry so down to breakfast we went. My significant other could have cared less when it came to having breakfast here. All that mattered to him was that it was free!! The breakfast was typical cheap hotel fare. They had sausage/eggs/gravy & biscuits, waffles, and other limited continental breakfast options. Overall I wasn’t impressed but I wasn’t hungry anymore either……LOL

As to location: hotel is about 3 miles from FLL. The area around the hotel was nice and quiet. I felt safe driving around the area and walking to nearby restaurants and stores.

There was a 15% discount to the Mexican restaurant across the street from the hotel right on our room key-card. We went there for the discount and the food was good even though the service was a bit slow. There was also a free coupon book in the hotel lobby that we took advantage of for additional dining discounts at other restaurants.

Only real bummer other than the roaches was the hot-tub closes at 9p every night which is too early!!

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room near the kitchen/breakfast area and you hopefully won't have problems with roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great little cruise/port hotel near fort lauderdale airport. Complimentary pick up at the airport. Also will drop you to you cruise ship. Close to beach and shopping. Will be staying here again in December 2013 before going on ou cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We flew from Seattle in a red eye flight. We took the shuttle from the hotel, when we call they told us 30 minutes and it was there in less than 20 minutes. When we got to the hotel immediately they gave us the key and offered breakfast. Joilathan the person in charge it was very nice. I thought we would have to wait until 2PM to get the room. Thank you very much. The room was very clean, one queen bed and had a refrigerator and a microwave oven.
The next day they drove us to the port to take our cruise.
I definitely recommend this hotel. Also has a swimming pool.
If I take a cruise from Fort Lauderdale again we are going back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: We got a room in the first floor and did not have any problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel before leaving for a cruise. The location is good, as only a few miles from the airport and Port Everglades. There is a Walgreen's drugstore adjoining the property, as well as a shopping center with a Publix across the street. The price was $71.00 which was good for the location. There is a free airport shuttle. The breakfast is included and is certainly adequate. The room was spacious with a flat screen TV, but no HD available. There is a refrigerator and microwave. I would like to see someone scrub the bathroom floor and baseboard on their hands and knees rather than swishing around the string mop, evidenced by a mop string twisted around the doorstop. My husband's white socks were filthy after walking on the carpet. Otherwise the room was fairly clean.
The smoke-free hotel smelled of cigarette smoke in the second floor hallway.
The personnel at the front desk were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

With the free airport shuttle & shuttle to cruise port (nominal fee $5.00) this was a great choice for the night before a cruise. Staff was friendly and room was clean and well kept. Breakfast was not the best (only egg choice was boiled).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, New Hampshire, Usa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here the night after our cruise. The room was a suite and cost $87. Crisp sheets, upgraded furniture and TV. Large bathroom. No electric socket in bathroom but there are 3 phones in room. One in bathroom. Nice people at desk, except night guy. He has a weird sense of humor. Not good for tired travelers. They let us keep our luggage there all day as our room wasn't ready yet. They have internet access and a slow computer in a business area you can use. Printing is 25 cents a page. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor - it was quiet and good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Address: 1500 Southeast 5th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport Hotel Dania Beach
Sleep Inn Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sleep Inn
Dania Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.