We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a Pre-Cruise Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Southeast 5th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a Pre-Cruise Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at prior to a cruise. The hotel offers free airport and cruiseport shuttles. There is also a Walgreens just outside the front door which is great for any last minute purchases. The hotel was also clean and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was adequate. We had no problems with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    148
    82
    36
    31
See reviews for
118
150
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When we got off on the third floor a terrible smell was present in the hallway, the smell was also present in the room. Although it wasn't as strong as in the corridor, after an hour or two it seemed to get stronger and stronger, the smell was like rising damp, a very moldy smell. The hotel changed our room to a lower floor, there was no smell there. The reason for the low rating was the prescence of a couple of small roaches in bags we had put on the floor, in the new room. Our stay there just wasn't right, the smell the cockroaches aaahh

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARIZONA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Carnival Freedom cruise. (This port, in addition to 2 CARNIVAL cruises, has RCLS 2 largest ships, Oasis of the Seas® or Allure of the Seas)

We flew in from Phoenix to Fort Lauderdale. On getting our luggage,we,on our cell phone,called Sleep Inn, who told us to go out the baggage door, turn right and go to a spot where a van would pick us up. It came in about 10 minutes and took us to SLEEP INN. At checkin, we set the time the van would take us the next morning. Our room was nice--clean, wi-fi, nice tv, and sofa sitting area. The next morning, a good breakfast was included.
NOTE: A Walgreens is next door to get water, snacks, and coke, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great hotel for pre-cruise, but also for a short term vacation. We stayed here for 5 nights pre cruise and it was a great Hotel to discover the Ft. Lauderdale and Miami area. There are beaches nearby, Walgreens, restaurants and it is very centrally located with more then enough parking space.

The hotel itself is a bit outdated, but cleaning was good. Breakfast is simple but good and staff is wonderfull.
The swimming pool was small but that cannot be an issue. Loved the cruise transfers! Will stay here agin...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hotel for a cruise out of Miami in June 2012. When I arrived at the Ft Lauderdale Airport, I contacted the hotel for shuttle service. The shuttle service came quickly. I thought the hotel lobby and rooms were very clean. I did have an issue with the bathtub not draining properly.The breakfast was simple, muffins, coffee, juice, waffles, and bagels. The hotel is conveniently located near Walgreens and there is a great Mexican Restaurant across the street. Overall great stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel prior to leaving for our cruise from Port Everglades. Going into this, we did not expect the hotel to be 5 star with top ammenities. If I had, I would have booked elsewhere and been willing to spend more money. This hotel was great for us because of its location and I would recommend for those not wanting to spend tons of money. We were able to reserve the hotel online for only $75 after taxes. Very good price considering the ones right by our Cruise Port were much more expensive ($120 and up) and offered no shuttle services. From what I heard, taxes ran about $8 per person to get you to the hotel or to the cruise port. So we saved $30 by taking advantage of their free shuttles.

We used the free shuttles both from the airport to the hotel and also to the cruise port. After getting our luggage from the airport, we immediately called the hotel about getting on the shuttle. By the time we walked to the hotel loading section, we had to only wait like 5 minutes or less to be picked up. The hotel is located like 4 miles away so just a 10 minute drive or so. Once we checked in, we went ahead and reserved spots for the cruise shuttle the next day. Note- these only leave every hour. So you want to get your spot early. We were on the 11 am shuttle which was ideal.

Our shuttle to the cruise port was very crowded (11 guests and 1 driver) and in fact one woman didn't get an official seat, she had to sit half on the seat and other half in the aisle. However, this was due to guests trying to get on the shuttle even though they had not signed up for that time. The cruise port is not far away (3-5 miles) but it takes a bit of time to actually get to your cruise terminal and wait in the line of other taxis, vans, etc waiting to drop of cruise patrons. Though, we were still able to be onboard the ship and through security about 1 1/2 to 2 hours from when we left the hotel.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is located right next to a Walgreens. Across the street from the hotel, there is mexican, italian and chinese restaruant. There is also a Dollar Store and grocery store (decent selection of wine if you want to buy to carry on the cruise) across the street. We found these stores helpful in case you forgot any last minute stuff and were within walking distance since we had no rental car. We ended up eating at the chinese place for supper. The italian looked a bit too fancy for us. We got food from the chinese place to go and brought it back to eat in our rooms. Food was reasonable and delicious!

Would recommend this hotel to cruise goings that are looking for a cheap deal and a place to stay before cruising! The free shuttles were definitely a big perk for us considering many hotels in the area don't offer any or simply to one location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My plane was three hours late getting in to FLL, and the hotel would not pickup after midnight; I had to then pay a cab $15 which was the only reason I booked here to begin with - this is a major port, you'd think this would not be an issue especially during peak summer travel season. Worse? The morning shuttle out was close to dangerous, frankly - the shuttle driver was speeding with erratic lane changes (and would be looking for other ground work were he my employee; not a liability I'd care to assume, at any venue). Maybe he really needed to use the can, who knows. Other than that the room was excellent, very nice bedding, cold AC, nice TV, quiet and modern. Breakfast bar was good as well. My only advice to the management would be to widen the shuttle hours, and screen your drivers with extreme care (see other recent reviewers for more on that) - since they make a point of advertising the free airport transfers as part of the hotel service. Too bad the shuttle portion dogged the hotel's otherwise decent appeal.

Room Tip: Hotels.com offered me the best rate and availability for this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Address: 1500 Southeast 5th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport Hotel Dania Beach
Sleep Inn Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sleep Inn
Dania Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.