We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port to your Saves list
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 SW 18th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004 (Formerly Summerfield Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Port Everglades Shuttle
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel near airport and cruise port. We rented a car so cannot comment on their shuttle service. Great breakfast with healthy choices. Very clean. Great service. Nice rooms but they are small. Hubby and I think the beds are full size, not queen. We did not sleep well. Big shopping area across road in walking distance. Mcdonalds, burger king, and taco bell in walking distance. Fully equipped kitchen in room. One tv that swivels between sleeping area and living room area. We flew into Ft Lauderdale and cruised out of miami. Hotel was very convenient. About 5 min from airport and about 20 min to port of Miami straight down I 95.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    125
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
159
109
27
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was a wonderful hotel from start to finish. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes from the airport right next to I95. There were several other hotels next to each other including the sister Hyatt Place. The front desk clerk at check in was very friendly and even gave me a choice of floors. The one bedroom suite was perfectt. Large LR, wonderful kitchen, bedroom with a very confortable bed and a roomy bathroom. The shower was so good I wish I could have taken it with me. There is a Kmart, McDonald's and BK in the same area. The Seminole Hard Rock casino is about 10 minutes west of this hotel. I found it very convenient for my business meetings.
The food in the evening is limited and they do check your name off a guest list when you get the free wine or beer.
My only complaint was the last night I was there I had some very noisy neighbors but this was not the hotel's fault. There are many guest obviously staying here du to there proximty to the FTL airport.
I had several co workers stay here last year and loved it. I had to agree it was wonderful to have the space.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had a one noght stay prior to a cruise. Upon arriving at the airport, we collected our bags and called for the free shuttle. They asked if we had our bags and we said yes. They told us 20 moniutes. After 30 minutes, we called again. They said there was traffic and it would be another 20 minutes. After an hour and 15 minutes the shuttle showed up, and guess what, there was enough people for a full bus!!! My wife and I intentionally watch on the way from the airport to the hotel, and guess what, no traffic! I don;t like to be lied to.

We asked about a place to eat, and they gave us a list of places, which they said was just across the street in a shopping area. No map, no guidance, so off we went. After about a 1.5 miles we found one of the places on the list. We never did find the others. It would have been nice to have a map or some help or where to find these places.

There was a strange beeping sound that we never could find in our room. Luckily there was a door to the bedroom area or we never would have been able to get to sleep.

We will not stay here again, but we did see some other hotels in the area that we will most likely use next time, so it wasn;t a total waste.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed one night before an early flight from FLL. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean and very well equipped with a full kitchen. Food at the free reception was excellent, and the beer and wine wasn't bad either. Did not try the free breakfast as our flight was too early. Nor did we use the shuttle as we had a rental car. The hotel parking was free and the airport was only a few minutes away and easy to get to. Would definitely go back there again, great stay, great value!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites for 2 nights before going on our Caribbean cruise. We are a family of 4 adults and 2 young kids.

I called the hotel in the morning before we left home to confirm our arrival time and asked about their shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. They informed us that we need to call the hotel upon arrival and the shuttle will be there to pick us up. I also requested two rooms close to each other on a higher floor and the staff said no problem.

The problems:

1. Shuttle didn't show up until 45 minutes after I called the hotel at the airport. The shuttle was shared by Hyatt Place Hotel next door. Shuttle was pretty much full when it arrived at our pick up spot. No apology for this lack of service upon arrival at the hotel. We met another family with young kids who took a cab after waiting for an hour. If they want to provide the shuttle service, they need to make sure the shuttle really does the job.

2. Upon check in, we found out that our 2 rooms were not only far away from each other, they were on the 2nd floor. Apparently, the staff who spoke to me in the morning made no effort to fulfill my requests. Another disappointment.

3. The noise of the refrigerator is so loud that I couldn't fall asleep. I'm not a light sleeper but the noise keeps me awake most of the night. Stay away from this hotel if you're a light sleeper!!!!

4. I was told that there's a free shuttle going from the hotel to the Hard Rock hotel & casino leaving at 8pm and picking up at 11pm. We jumped into a van in the front entrance at 8pm going to the Hard Rock but ended up paying $5 per head. We were later told that the 8pm shuttle was late and we went on the wrong shuttle. Then we called the hotel at 10:30pm confirming there's a free shuttle picking us up at 11pm. Not to our surprise, no one showed up. We waited until 11:30pm and took a cab instead. What GREAT Shuttle service they have. Honestly, it would be okay if they do not have any shuttle service so we don't have any expectations and just take a cab when we're ready to go back. Such a waste of time and energy waiting for nothing.

5. Housekeeping didn't do a good job either. There were yucky stains and marks on the walls and I had to clean it myself before letting the kids run around in the room.

All in all, it wasn't a good experience. Perhaps stay in another area, maybe closer to the beach. This hotel is "supposed" to be one of the best in the area. We will definitely NOT return to this hotel nor recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSFSManager, Manager at HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our apologies regarding your recent stay. Our team takes pride in trying to reach out to all of our guests and provide excellent service. We have taken steps to improve our shuttle service and our housekeeping service. Your response and feedback is greatly appreciated. If your travels bring you back to the Fort Lauderdale area we look forward to the chance to serve you again.

Hyatt Summerfield Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed here for 3 nights during Spring Break. The room was quiet, clean and spacious. We had the King Trio which was a king bedroom and a separate bedroom with 2 queen beds, plus a sofa sleeper and a full kitchen and eating area. The breakfast and evening reception were very good. We didn't use the pool, and there was no spa. The fitness room was excellent and not crowded. The issues we had with the hotel were: the main elevator was very slow. WiFi was slow. Toiletries were not replenished; had to ask repeatedly for lotion and shampoo and conditioner. When asking for these items we were told to come down to the front desk to receive them. It seems ludicrous to ask hotel guests to come to the front desk for toiletries when they are paying over $200 a night, and this in a Hyatt property. Also, when requesting a tube of toothpaste we were told to go across the street to the Hyatt Place to get it as the Hyatt Summerfield charges for it. Overall, we liked the room and the hotel but not the service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSFSManager, Manager at HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Guest comments are highly valued and taken very seriously by our management team.
We appreciate your comments regarding our guest service as we can utilize these comments as a training tool for the future.
Our most sincere apologies that we fell short of your expectations. We should have had someone bring those items to your room as they should have been there already when our housekeeping staff cleaned your room.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your next stay with us when your travel needs bring you back to Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Park, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

One night pre-cruise stay. Very nice, clean hotel; free full breakfast and nightly cocktails. No restaurant but lots of options pretty close. You can either walk or use hotel shuttle to get to dinner restaurants. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 90 SW 18th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004 (Formerly Summerfield Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt House Fort Lauderdale Airport-South hotel is located near Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port and Broward County Convention Center. The hotel is situated minutes from breathtaking beaches, pristine golf courses and a large variety of shops and restaurants. Spacious suites include separate living, work, kitchen and bedroom areas. Hotel amenities include complimentary full breakfast, evening social, guest market, fitness center, pool, complimentary Internet, and complimentary parking (less than 7 nights). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Fort Lauderdale Airport South Hotel Dania Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.