We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value-priced hotel for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Southwest 18th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004 (Formerly Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Port Everglades Transport
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Dania Beach
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value-priced hotel for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was booked into this hotel by a local conference I was attending. I only stayed for one night, but I was impressed with the friendliness of the check-in staff, as well as both the size and the cleanliness of the room. It was only me staying in a room with a king bed but there was easily enough space for 3-4 people, because there was a sectional couch that could sleep one or two and there was also room for a cot. The room also had a small mini-bar area with a fridge (didn't notice if there was a microwave).

In the morning, there was a very generous continental breakfast--one of the more generous I've seen at any hotel. It included bagels, fruit, cereals, breakfast sandwiches, juices, coffee and more. Excellent value for the price of the room. I recommend for a family looking for a place to stay before cruising out of the Ft Lauderdale port!

The downside to this, I would say, is that it's clearly not meant for a long-term stay so if you're looking for that for business, this isn't well located for that, and also doesn't have a lot of food options (very limited room service and cafe menu).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    131
    30
    16
    3
See reviews for
137
112
20
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before our cruise. We're a family of 5 (three teenage children) so traveling tends to be very expensive. We arrived at the airport and took the complimentary shuttle to the Hotel. With 5 people and luggage we would have needed 2 cabs so this saved us about $50.00. The shuttle was efficient and friendly. The room exceeded my expectations. It was large (two queen beds & a pull out queen sofa) with a large flat screen t.v.. Both the room and bathroom were VERY clean. We again utilized the "complimentary shuttle" to a nearby restaurant for dinner. In the morning the hotel offers a complimentary buffet style breakfast. Surprisingly the selection and quality of the food was really good not your typical bagels and pasteries. There was fresh fruit, breakfast sandwiches, cereals (hot & cold) juice, toast ect. ect. Again this saved us at least $30-$50. We had made arrangements the prior evening with the hotel to take a shuttle to the cruiseport ($8.00 per person), which I felt was a reasonable cost. While at the hotel, my children used the pool and my husband and I used the gym. Both were acceptable. This isn't a luxury hotel for an extended stay but it's perfect for one or two nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDaniaBeach, General Manager at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Mdirenzo2,

We’re so happy to hear that your experience at our Hyatt Place was fantastic and you enjoyed all of the great value our property has to offer. We often hear enthusiastic feedback about the complementary services we provide. If your travels bring you back to the South Florida for a cruise or a quick getaway we look forward to welcoming you and your family back. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Your Hyatt Place Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
1,594 helpful votes 1,594 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel because it has a convenient location for cruise passengers landing at Ft Lauderdale airport the night before the cruise starts. It has also received quite good reviews.

We paid 188 USD for one night. The room was more than big enough for the two of us, and the interior design was all right. It lacked a few things, such as bottled water and a mini bar.
The bed was really comfortable and despite the high way is just a stone through from the window we almost did not notice the traffic noise.
What we did notice however, was a very loud AC two feet from the bed. We had to turn it off; there was no chance for us to sleep with it turned on.
One more irritating feature was the pressure of the water in the shower; or I should say the absence of pressure. It took me five minutes just to get wet.

The staff were nice and informative, although the check in was almost too fast. We were given our room key and a trolley with our luggage on it almost before we were able to say "hello". Self service is fine for young people like us, but I hope they help elderly people with their luggage.

If you need an average hotel for a short stay before a cruise departing from Port Everglades, or for some other reason need a bed for the night, this is a good choice. If you are looking for something more than that, I would search for another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDaniaBeach, General Manager at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Imedvindfranord,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent trip to our hotel. We’re glad to hear that you thought the location was good and that the staff was nice and informative, but disappointed that the check in was quick and the hotel lacked a few of the features you normally look for when traveling such as a mini bar and bottled water in the suites. We hope that your experience with this does not keep you from choosing Hyatt Place in the future as all Hyatt Places offer a Gallery Bar and 24 Hour Café style made to order food on the main level. We hope that you will give Hyatt Place another opportunity to meet your travel needs. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Your Hyatt Place Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise in Miami and it is a very nice hotel! We arrived at the Ft. Lauderale Airport and called to let them know we arrived. They sent a shuttle to pick us up which arrived within 20 minutes. Nice Shuttles and they put your luggage in a trailer which was nice. All the staff was very friendly and courteous. Rooms are very nice and clean. Comfy beds and pillows. The breakfast in the morning was slightly above average with a large selection. They offer a transportation shuttle to local mall/resturants for free which was awesome. We used it and going was good, hilarous driver. We only had a problem returning after we were done. We called once, no one came for 45 minutes. We called again and it took another 30 minutes before they picked us up. Which this was a Saturday night around 7 P.M. so I understand they are busy. Only other negative thing was the water pressure in the room. The sink pressure was subpar, however the shower water pressure was HORRIBLE! We had to wash our hair in the sink because the pressure is so low. Other than that our stay was great and I would go back again, just prepared for the water pressure issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Place in Dania Beach (2nd Hyatt Place I've stayed at) for a week while in South Florida for a weeklong business meeting with a client. This place felt like home for the week...nice friendly staff and they throw in breakfast too (which was decent!).

Convenient location just off of I-95 between Ft. Lauderdale and Miami.

There were times when the lobby was very crowded and it made traversing the area hard, but overall it was a nice place that I would stay at again!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side away from I-95!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed the evening of 1-6/7-2013, prior to our carribean cruise, booked three rooms for the family, (ten of us traveling together). Hotel was clean and more than adequate. Staff were busy arranging transportation to and from the Ft. Lauderdale Airport and the cruise port in Port Everglades mid-AM, but they tried to be helpful. At other periods they were very helpful, regarding shopping and dinning nearby. Hotel provided a nice breakfast. I would stay here again if traveling through Fort Lauderdale. Booked with the Hyatt Place because they offered both airport and cruise port transfers, the issue regarding transfer to the cruise port was not the hotel's fault, but rather poor organizaton at Port Everglades and the cruise lines.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter, its a four story facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattDaniaBeach, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
daDA144,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us at the Hyatt Place. We are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyed by you and your family. It's always great to hear that the staff was helpful. We hope to welcome you back for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale.

Sincerely,

Your Hyatt Place Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family stayed here for the Orange Bowl over the New Year holiday. Great Choice! Very nice hotel. The staff was courteous, helpful and very friendly. The rooms are nicely sized, clean and stylish. Very very comfortable beds. The pool was clean and warm. Breakfast was very good with many choices. Lots of food choices close to the hotel. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 91 Southwest 18th Avenue, Dania Beach, FL 33004 (Formerly Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport-South is located south of the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port and the Broward County Convention Center, each just an I-95 exit away. The hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, complimentary parking and complimentary airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport South Hotel Dania Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.