We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2061 Griffin Road, Dania Beach, FL 33312   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dania Beach
Haines Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable (even the fold out couch) and the breakfasts were good. The best feature was the shuttle. They drivers were all nice and patient and would take you to places other than the airport and the cruise port. The shuttle was on time for rides to the cruise port. You must allow extra time for the ride though because they stop at the cruise boats in order of their location. There is a small charge for this but the local rides are free. My only complaint was that the computer room downstairs with the printer and fax wasn't working when I was there, even though the staff was fast and eager to help (to no avail), and the hotel was frequently off line. I really enjoyed my stay and I recommend this place. There is no walking distance place to shop, but the shuttle can take you. A good place to eat nearby is a crab restaurant whose name escapes me; nice variety but not cheap. I got a good vegetarian meal and my friend loved her seafood. The front desk can point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    115
    54
    20
    18
See reviews for
150
112
24
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Homewood Suites have not been dissapointing - Our family traveled from Michigan to Dania Beach two days before our Caribbean cruise. We checked in about 7pm Friday Night.

Check in was smooth - the front desk CSR's were expecting us, the rooms are clean - area is nice. We havent ventured out much because our cruise leaves Sunday Morning, overall its a good experience and a Nice hotel with alot of Amenities.

The Morning Breakfast was really good.

I know all major cites have their flaws with Traffic - but Florida has to be on my top five for WTH? I cant beleive the traffic here - and it is no falt to any hotel - so my advice is do what you need to do EARLY or LATE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a frequent Hilton customer, the hotel met our expections for a Homewood property. The rooms were slightly smaller than other Homewood Suites. THe two-room set-up worked well as we had two couples staying in the room. We used the hotel shuttle from FLL--we simply called the hotel and they dispatched the driver. It was very easy. The hotel staff was very courteous and the evening reception/breakfast were sufficient. There is a Publix supermarket ~1.5 miles away. We opted to take a taxi to the port instead of the hotel-sponsored shuttle (it cost ~$22).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Homewood Suites near the Fort Lauderdale airport was perfectly fine. You got two room and a kitchenette plus morning breakfast. It was clean, the bathroom looked practically new and there were a lot of touches that I appreciated (electric outlets in the night table lamps, for example).
That said, we probably won't be staying there again.

Why?
First, my sister and I were sharing a room. We needed two singles but they could only give us a king. AWKWARD!. We dealt with it.

The real problem was the lack of a convenient restaurant and/or grocery.
There was a shop in the lobby with chips and sodas and a small selection of frozen dinners.
My parents didn't want to eat Lean Cuisine for lunch and dinner.
There were no restaurants nearby, nothing closer than the nearby mall, about three miles away. We were relying on the hotel shuttles to get us to the airport and cruise port and so didn't have a car.
Mistake.
The parents didn't want to wait for taxis or shuttles. They wanted food *now*. Sound familiar?
We were surrounded by similar suites hotels, none of which had full-service restaurants, so there was nothing within walking distance - even if the parents could / would walk across the highway. Other suites hotels that I've stayed at had a Denny's / IHOP / diner nearby. Not here.

So this was a bust.
My father wanted to stay here because it had the name 'Hilton' as in Homewood Suites by Hilton, as if "Hilton" was a magic word.
It didn't work this time.

Room Tip: Given that all rooms are suites, rooms are farther apart than at standard hotels. So be prepared fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marife l, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member. I regret to hear that you were disappointed with the shuttle service times and we're reevaluating our current transportation operations to ensure we're doing all we can to accommodate our guests. We hope you'll give us another chance to see our improvements.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, in
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean and what we expected from the chain. Our daughters had thier own room and ended up sick for the 2 days we were there. The staff was great. Check in was a bit bumpy with someone else being assigned our room but that was corrected quickly and without any hassles. Evening was Mexican Style. Pretty good. Breakfast was average. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Tried to get a room with two beds, but only had king size suites available - I took it because i could use my Hilton points. However, I won't return because we thought the shuttle service would take care of our needs. Be warned - the airport shuttle only runs once an hour and if you take the shuttle to nearby restaurants, that can take an hour or more each way. The shuttle to the cruise ship was the one exception - that worked well.

If you have your own car - that would be fine - the restaurants and shopping centers are only 10 minutes away. The pool looked inviting - just didn't have the time. The internet connection worked well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In advance of an MSC cruise (a very good cruise line, indeed!) I booked (and paid) 12 room nights for my family. We have 10 grandkids!

Rooms were clean and ready, a big plus, but a little bit spartan for $175 plus plus rooms. Desk staff was cordial and exceptionally helpful.

Even though the acommodations are called "suites" they are VERY small, two little interconnected rooms. A family with 3 children needs two suites (4 small rooms) interconnected, which jacks up the cost by double. Nonetheless, a comfortable acommodation two suites combined. They did not offer larger suites, a single one which would have handled a whole family at a lower total cost. I am guessing they were maximizing profits as they did have larger ones available according to Hilton online reservation system. But, OK, we were all comfortable and that's the main thing.

Big surprice is that even though I am a Hilton Diamond member, they astonished me at the end, because they classified us as a "group" I was therefore classified not as a Hitlto Diamond guest but as an "event planner" and therefore only entitled to minimal credit of points and stays. For 12 room nights they awarded about the same points I would get staying in a Hilton by myself (one room) for three nights!

Have communicated several times and they evidently do not read it. OUGH LUCK, that's what we do is the message.

The breakfast is uninspired, even the eggs are not fresh cooked (egg like shapes, maybe a food product). Kids liked the waffle maker.

If you are bringing family along, there are better choices as close to the airport and cruise port.

Room Tip: Do not accept one of the micro sized "suites." They have larger ones that are less confini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marife l, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I appreciate your review of our hotel and loyalty as a rewards member. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the billing charges and I apologize for any miscommunication. We strive to create a wonderful and affordable guest experience and I ask that you contact me directly so I can help rectify the situation and make things right. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 2061 Griffin Road, Dania Beach, FL 33312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport and Cruise Port with 124 studios, one bedroom and two bedroom suites. All rooms have full kitchens with a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, dishwasher, microwave, toaste, 32" HDTV and channels. Offering complimentary transportation to/from Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, free high speed internet access, complimentary Suite Start Hot breakfast, Welcome Home Reception Monday-Thursday and 24 hour fitness center. We even have an outdoor heated swimming pool and putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport And Cruise Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.