We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay before your cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Stirling Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Dania Beach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great place to stay before your cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel the night before we left for our cruise on the Epic. It was much cheaper to fly from New Orleans to Fort Lauderdale since we had frequent flyer miles with Southwest. At first we were concerned about how we would get from Fort Lauderdale to the Miami Port, but found a reasonable transportation company (SAS shuttle) that picked us up right at the hotel and brought us directly to the ship. We also made arrangements for our return trip to the airport after the cruise. The hotel is clean and comfortable for an overnight stay, but I would not recommend it for an extended amount of time. They do offer a nice breakfast, but remember that everyone is there for the same reason, so unless you are an early riser, don't expect to find a seat in the small dining area. Remember why you wanted to book here in the first place and you will be pleased with your choice.

Room Tip: Great place to stay before a cruise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dsegrera1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Ms. Susandns,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is under new management now. We are working on making property improvements that will make your stay even better in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Cordially,

Dannaliz Segrera
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    191
    123
    65
    58
See reviews for
159
234
33
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed there just for one night since we arrived to the FLL airport very late at night and we needed a place to stay before heading off south in the morning.
It's just a short drive from the airport, they provide complimentary shuttle bus but we arrived very late so we had to take a taxi. Our room type wasn't available so we got upgraded to a suite, the room was huge and clean, there was also a small kitchenette.
The complimentary breakfast isn't great, very limited selection of food and it's all served in plastic dishes. It's quite busy and there aren't enough tables or chairs for all the guests so you might have to wait to get a spot.
In the morning we wanted to use the shuttle bus to get back to the airport to hire a car and the bus has just left but the receptionist called the driver to come back for us which was nice.
If you get a good deal and you just need a hotel close to the airport for a night or two, it's not bad at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dsegrera1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear KatLan,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is because of guest like you that we can improve our services everyday. We are glad our Front Desk Agents took care of your transportation needs.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cordially,
Dannaliz Segrera
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just spent two nights in this hotel, and I just don't understand all of the negative reviews. First of all, this is a Best Western and not a Four Seasons. If you want perfection, or close to it, BOOK at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. If you want a budget friendly hotel near the airport or cruise port, this place should be in the running. My bathroom was clean and the towels were soft and fluffy. My room was clean. There isn't alot in the way of freebie toiletries, but that didn't bother me. There was everything I needed which was soap and shampoo and conditioner, and a sign instructing to contact the front desk if you needed anything you may have forgotten. My television worked well. My air/heat unit (while a tad loud) worked well. The bed was comfortable. Don't book a room next to the interstate and complain about the road noise. If you want to be PAMPERED, pony up the bucks, or just deal with what you can expect at this price point (worn carpet in hallways, etc.).

I didn't partake of the breakfast, but it looked and smelled good. Yes, my wake up call was a tad late, but if you NEED to get up, set your phone like I did as a back up. No big deal. Also, don't complain that you had to wait a long time for their free shuttle.... because it only runs once per hour and there is a TON of traffic in Ft. Lauderdale in season. If you ask the nice people at the front desk, they will TELL you that it only runs once per hour, and then you can decide if you want to wait or call a shuttle service/cab. Since I had to be at the airport prior to 6 a.m., the nice people at the front desk offered to call a shuttle service for me, and phoned me in my room when it arrived. Very convenient.

Oh, I saw a complaint about the color of the bathtub water. This "yellow" tinge in VERY common in South Florida and have seen it in VERY EXPENSIVE hotels. I've been traveling to South Florida often since the mid-90's and it's been around since then, and probably before that. Maybe somebody else knows what causes it, but I can attest that it isn't just THIS hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dsegrera1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Parabegel,

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

We have already started installing new carpets in the hallways and we also are putting tiles in front of the elevators. Next time you are in town, please stay with us so you can see the difference.

Cheers,

Dannaliz Segrera
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed one night pre-cruise

I called the hotel directly the day before arrival to inquire about shuttle and bar hours.
Was told to use the courtesy phones at the airport and that the bar opened at 4:30 Friday.

Arrived in FLL at 12:30. Called hotel from courtesy phone and was told would be 15 minutes and was directed where to go stand. After 30 minutes standing outside, called hotel direct from cell phone. Was told again it would be about 15 minutes. 35 minutes later, still no shuttle. Gave up and paid $25 for cab to hotel.

Check in painfully slow and we were the only ones checking in. Staff rather "stiff".

As other reviews point out, the carpets are painfully dirty as is the furniture in the lobby.

Upon arriving in room, looked out the window and guess what? Found the shuttles. 2 shuttle vans were parked in the back lot of the hotel. Oh well.

Room was worn, furniture cheap, chipped, but bathroom clean, bed comfy

Went out to find store and place to eat. Nothing close. Walked approx. 1/2 mile having to cross 9 lanes of traffic to small gas station.

Back to hotel. Went out to pool. Nothing special. No pools towels. Only one table, but several loungers.

Decided we would just go in as it was getting cool outside and visit bar. Guess what? No bar. Bar area was piled full of carts and trays. Good thing we bought something at the store.

Breakfast was just ok. Breakfast area packed, long line.

Website advertised free shuttle to port. Nope. $10 per person.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a great price, would be fine for a night....don't expect much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dsegrera1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Merees17, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize we didn't live up to your expectations. We value your business and will utilize your feedback to make improvements to our hotel. Our hotel is under new management. The new management is committed to creating an environment in which our guests feel like they are at home. Our hallway carpets are being replaced and we are making other improvements to the property as well.

Our shuttle service runs every hour; leaving the hotel on the hour and arriving at the airport approximately 15-30 minutes pass the hour depending on traffic. We are sorry that this information was not relayed to you. We have already trained all Front Desk Agents on this process for the future.

Should you need any assistance with future reservations in the Fort Lauderdale Area, I hope you give us another chance to show you how much we've improved. Please call me directly at 954-926-7300.

Cordially,

Dannaliz Segrera
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites

Address: 1900 Stirling Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the brand new Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport hotel with easy access to the Port Everglades Cruise Port and Broward Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Hotel Dania Beach
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.