We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Ranch

Giraffe Ranch
38650 Mickler Rd, Dade City, FL 33523
(813) 482-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in Dade City
Type: Ranchs, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go on a high-quality, guided safari on a working exotic game ranch in Tampa Bay, Florida.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is Florida's best kept secret. Beautiful, secluded ranch owned by a couple who love animals and have a vast knowledge of them and the surrounding area. Great hands on experience with giraffes, camels, rhinos and lemurs. Pay the extra charge to feed the lemurs, you won't regret it. This is not a zoo, it is a working ranch and the animals are very HAPPY in an environment that suits them perfectly. The tour is interesting and very formative. You won't want to leave.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    9
    1
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
1 review
“Efficient, spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our time was limited, so we were amazed to see such a unique collection of animals in an area that provided an ingenious arrangement and utilization of space. No zoo we ever visited provided such care and enrichment for the animals as displayed here on a rural property where so much could be experienced & enjoyed within our limited time frame.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I went with a group and we all loved it! Paid extra to go on a camel ride and so enjoyed it. Great for kids and adults.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My friends took me to the Giraffe Ranch for my birthday and It was awesome. We all had a great time. We paid extra to feed the Lemurs which is a must! Great time! Must see!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We went to Giraffe Ranch with a group of about 40 ladies. We spent about an hour listening to the very knowledgable couple that runs the place, tell us about camels, giraffes, and the many other species you will see. We held bones and skulls of some of the species and learned about the various animals and how they eat and survive. Then we walked around many of the monkeys, apes, lemurs (some hand fed these), guinea pigs, bunnies and got up close and learned more about each. Then we got into a safari like vehicle and went out to pastures where we hand fed giraffes and rhinos. Camels can be ridden for extra fee. We petted the camels and had ostriches poking their heads into the car looking for mischief. We learned about chickens and passed around the fresh eggs they just laid, still warm. Zebras were right next to our car, a baby only days old too. Wonderful up close adventure run by very knowledgable people who love their animals, all well taken care of.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Giraffe Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.