We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Fed a Giraffe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Ranch

Giraffe Ranch
38650 Mickler Rd, Dade City, FL 33523
(813) 482-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Dade City
Type: Ranchs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Go on a high-quality, guided safari on a working exotic game ranch in Tampa Bay, Florida.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I Fed a Giraffe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We just completed a camel tour at your ranch this afternoon and cannot stop talking about the great time we had. Lex did a great job with information before the tour. The tour on camel back was a lot of fun; especially watching Omar scratch his head against my boyfriend's side whenever we stopped! Doofus was all about getting his head under my hand too for a good scratch whenever there was an opportunity. These "personable" camels definitely added a great touch to the tour. Our tour guide Eddie did an outstanding job giving us details of each animal we were viewing and specific information on the animals you had; the story about the ZDonk was so funny! How do they get all of these animals to be so involved in the tour? Its almost like they know we are there and they are putting on a show. All of the animals seemed to enjoy the process of being seen (and heard) and ALL of them came to greet us. The most incredible part of the tour was the giraffe feeding. What an amazing way to spend the day! We would highly recommend touring this ranch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your swell review of our camel expedition! I will be sure to pass along your feedback to your guide Eddie—he will be glad to hear you had a great time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    9
    1
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to interact with animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

love this place! After all the noise of the city its the best place to meet with nature. Its a long ride but its worth it twenty times. The best part its the feeding, you get to feed girafes and lemurs. I touched a rhini and a camel. The staff was awesome and really knowledgable and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the great review and for sharing your giraffe feeding photos with us! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Animal Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went up to Dade City last Sunday from Sarasota FL using Groupons for the safari and tour. This was such an amazing experience! From the moment we got there, the owners were so hospitable, friendly and accommodating. There are two tours run daily, and the amount of people for each tour (2 jeep type vehicles) is limited to probably 40 total. Having this intimate of a group allows you to get up close to the animals and really experience them in their environment.
Before the actual safari, you have the option to ride camels (extra $) and feed lemurs (about $20 but completely worth it) and see and hear about all sorts of different animals such as porcupines, monkeys, guinea pigs, etc.
After the walking tour, you head out on the vehicles to feed giraffes and get up close to other animals such as rhinos, camels, ostrich, zebra. It really is amazing and both an interactive and educational experience all in one.
My husband is a huge animal buff and felt that he learned quite a bit from this safari.

I would recommend this tour for everyone, but not for children under 2 years old. We had some young children on our tour that had a really hard time sitting for long periods of time.

Even though we had a Groupon, I would go back and pay the full priced admission. Its so much better than paying to go to Busch Gardens or Animal Kingdom, where you don't get as close and where there are way too many other people. You get to see these animals in their own environment and how happy they are just living naturally.

Do it! you will not be disappointed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for not only the awesome, but also helpful, review! We look forward to having you out again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Skip high priced theme parks and zoos and visit Giraffe Ranch....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This family owned and operated animal sanctuary is one of Florida's best kept secrets (though not for long). Husband and wife team Lex and Elaina are knowledgable, dedicated and passionate about animals and explain in detail the various wildlife that inhabit the ranch. There were times while on the tour I felt like I was "out in the wild" (especially seeing the gazelles running together across a plain). You can also pet some of the animals and spend time up close with them in ways you could never do at zoos or theme parks. Vist this place now!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! I agree with your sentiment about seeing herd animals running in wide open spaces—awe inspiring! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was a great experience. The care of the owners is reflected by the experience. It is a neat recreation of a safari-style experience, facilitated by the knowledgeable proprietors. We saw a number of cool animals up-close, including zebras, ostrich, warthogs, lemurs, etc.

Do yourself a favor, and get tickets to feed the lemurs. Having a primate grab my hand for grapes was an awesome experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hey Ryan! We're glad to hear you were "touched" by your lemur encounter! ; ) Come and see us again next time you're in Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Giraffe Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Ranch to your Saves list