We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawmill Camping Resort

Sawmill Camping Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dade City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sawmill Camping Resort
Save
You added Sawmill Camping Resort to your Saves list
21710 U.S. Highway 98, Dade City, FL 33523   |  
Hotel amenities
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Spent 10-days, March 18th. thru the 27th. at Sawmill. Had a great time for Country weekend and Bear weekend. Could not have had any better weather, beautiful sunny upper 80's the total 10-days. All the campers were so friendly and so was all the permenent residents as well as all of Sawmills hired staff. The campground is always so friendly which this is why I keep coming back (my 5th. year). I have always got the same cabin every year.
Thanks Sawmill for a great time !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    3
    5
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My partner and I made the trip from Miami to Dade City and while it was a five and a half hour drive, I was extremely impressed. Having been to other campgrounds in the country, Sawmill by far is the best.. From the moment we arrived, until the time we left there was not one staff member who was rude or unhelpful. There are too many great employees to name, but they know who they are.
The campsite itself was for our pop-up and was in a prime location. Very quiet, no one else around us and great for sleeping and relaxing. Also close enough to pool and other activities.
The best part has to be the pool and bar area. Very social and relaxing. since it was Country Weekend there was plenty to do and the food "themes" each nite were quite impressive for the price. The other bar areas (Woody's/Blade) are just impressive when you walk in until you leave - VERY clean and AWESOME staff.
Reading other reviews, I cannot attest to cabins, but the rest of the place was very clean - including the bathrooms) Remember, you are camping, not at a five star resort - but you are made to feel like you are at a five star resort.
Also, you are only about 20 minutes from Tampa and less than an hour from Orlando. Great for day trips to Busch Gardens, Universal, Sea World, etc.).
Overall, this place is simply the best gay resort/campground that I have been to. We are both looking forward to heading back in April and May. You will not regret spending time here and meeting so many great people! Good job guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Dirty rooms most things here are run down. The bar is full of flys that get on the food and in the drinks. The people are not friendly. I would advise you not to waste your money on this place

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

i had a blast! i thought camping was going to be hard but it wasn't. people were willing to help with a smile. the staff is friendly and helpful. i know my standards for camping are very high now. so, i will be camping at sawmill because i know it's fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

this place is so awesome.....i love it....and would love to go back every chance i could...if you want to get away for a weekend for a great time this is the place to go.....i never had so much fun...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We had a great time. What a fun, welcoming atmosphere. Best Christmas show I have ever seen. Can't wait to see more!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Things have really changed since this place changed hands. This place once was a great place with friendly staff. No more. Bugs in the cabins & trash not emptied. Staff seems mad at the world now. Prices for the cabins are insanely high. Pool and poolside restaurant are still great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawmill Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Camping Resort

Address: 21710 U.S. Highway 98, Dade City, FL 33523
Location: United States > Florida > Dade City
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dade City
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier gay and lesbian Camping Resort in the Southeast. Rent a cabin, RV or tent site for a night, long weekend or fabulous vacation. Day & Evening passes also avail. Clothing Optional Pool, activities 365 days/yr. Weekends: theme events, contests, high energy music/DJ in Woody's nightclub, country music in courtyard, T-Dances; Splash Pool Bar & Grille w/delicious food; Wi-Fi, spacious grounds and lake. Nearby: Disney World, Universal, Busch Gardens, Honeymoon Beach, Caladesi, Raymond James Stadium, Homassassa Springs, trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sawmill Camping Hotel Dade City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawmill Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.