We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant and Castle

Elephant and Castle
Tingle Bridge Lane, Hemingfield | Barnsley, Hemingfield, Barnsley S73 0NT, England
+44 1226 755986
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: International, British, English, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are situated in the lovely village of Hemingfield, Barnsley. Just off junction 36 on the M1, close to Rotherham and Barnsley.A family run business ( 10 of us all together!) We are a fully homemade establishment that caters for family meals romantic dining or special occasion events. We are a great lunch spot. We serve food Mon to fri 12 till 9 Sat 10 till 9 and sunday 10 till 6. Booking is recommended
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited on a Thursday night and were welcomed in and had a lovely table near the fire. My husband chose the pie and said it was one of the best pies he had eaten (steak and Stilton). I had the chicken sizzler which was lovely and a good sized portion. We will definitely be visiting again. The prices are a bit more expensive than the chain pubs but it is clear that the meat and produce is of good quality and worth the bit extra. Nice decor too

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    54
    27
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meal out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A group of friends and I have been meeting regularly at this pub for a meal and a chat. Tonight has been our last night. Food was OK but service very slow. However what ruined the evening for us all was the music which was turned up very loud. We couldn't hear ourselves think let alone talk. As someone who is starting to have hearing difficulties it was nearly impossible to follow the conversation. Staff kept changing the volume of the sound so there was an almost complete disregard for the needs and comfort of the customers in the dining area. A thoroughly awful experience which we will not be repeating again. In these hard times pubs can't afford to drive away repeat customers!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant And Ca... H, Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we would firstly like to apologize if you felt like the taste of music was not to your liking on Friday night. As regular customers of the Elephant & Castle, you may be aware that our normal day/evening music consists of relaxing, enjoyable music such as Frank Sinatra and other motown songs. On your particular visit and like most late Friday nights, the music change to more modern music when the restaurant closed at 11pm at the request of other guests. However, we do apologise that you did not enjoy the change of music, and we do hope you visit again soon, Elephant & Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely family evening out at the Elephant and Castle in Hemingfield. Excellent service by Katie- full of fun. Food was good - welll cooked and value fior money. Highly recommended. Lovely new decor. Freshly cooked and good sized portions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I would like to thank Trish and her team for a gorgeous dining experience on Monday. It started off with a warm welcome from Patricia Watson followed by excellent food - starters were home made chicken strips with salad and a lovely BBQ dip - main courses were cajun chucken breast with salad and my hubby chose battered haddock and mushy peas, both came with chunky fries which were out of this world. Unfortunately by this time we were too stuffed to sample any of the home made deserts. The decor is light and fresh, in fact its the cleanest pub I have ever visited. This was our first time here and it certainly won't be our last. You really need to pay this wonderful place a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

we were a little late in getting to this pub, and it was sizzle night - we nearly didn't go in as I don't eat meat, but were assured that we could order form the main menu. All the food is freshly cooked unlike some pub food so they only had one potion of the fish of the day (haddock) which my husband had as a huge fish and chips. I was offered freshly made fish cakes (which were being prepared for the next nights special) with lemon mash and an onion & tarragon sauce. Now I don't normally order fish cakes as I make my own and have always been disappointed with restaurant ones) but these were fantastic! sauce was lovely and the sides of veg beautifully complimented it all. Service was great, very welcoming and helpful. My only complaint - large portions meant I didn't have room for the lovely looking puds. Wish we lived nearer

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant And Ca... H, Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it is really lovely to read that you enjoyed your meal and you realised our food was all fresh; you are right, everything here is homemade and made from scratch daily. We welcome all comments and take them all on board, and we would personally like to thank you for your good feedback. We hope to see you again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant and Castle also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Mapplewell, Barnsley
 
Hemingfield, Barnsley
 

Been to Elephant and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant and Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.