We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, a must try!”
Review of Square Grouper

22658 Overseas Hwy, Cudjoe Key, FL
(305) 745-8880
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    341
    92
    14
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Square Grouper
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent, a must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in one evening while vacationing in cudjoe. Everyone said this place was the best so we decided to give it a try. Upon arriving the place was truley packed and with only a small sitting area in the rear, we was told a 45 minute wait so we decided to come back another time since we were exceptionally tired from a long day. So glad we came back a few days later for lunch! The food is excellent and the prices were good for the quality of food! Amazing food and a must place to dine while in the keys!!
Ocala girl

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend from Big Pine told us about this so off we went with her for lunch. I felt everything was pretty fresh and even though I had the small plate portions were reasonable. I had the sweet potato fries, portabello mushroom en croute and brownie dessert (dessert shared by three!) were all excellent. Husband had the Carribean chicken and he thought it was good as well.

Would I go there again? Yes, hot on my list to try more things! There are fish things and there is chicken and beef as well. And for me veggie items.

We got there around 2pm and be aware they stop serving around 2:15 for lunch and they may close to regroup for dinner.?? I would recommend lunch with no wait. Yet, at 2 pm, it was pretty full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“I wish the portion size was smaller, so I can try more menu items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Interesting mix of cuisine with Caribbean and Asian flavors. We initially wanted to try more items, but upon seeing the more than generous portion size, only ordered one appetizer (flash fried conch with ponzu sauce) and two entrees (seafood stew and almond crusted grouper) and a kid's menu item (pizza). The fried conch was a bit too sweet. However, the seafood stew was expertly done. The seafood was cocked very tenderly, to perfection, in a spicy cream stew. The grouper was in a pineapple sauce and matched with mashed sweet potatoe. The fish was again cooked to perfection, but the combination was too sweet. Overall, I would say that the cooking of the seafood was excellent, but the flavors tended to the sweet side on all three items that we tried. A mistake was the kid's menu item. Seemed like reheated frozen pizza. Should have done our usual thing of getting our son to share our meal, which was more than enough and would have left us room for dessert.
There is a very good selection of draft and bottled beer, which went well, and better than wine, with the Asian and Caribbean flavors. The service was efficient, and the wait was 30 minutes, which passed quickly when spent studying the interesting menu. The atmosphere was fun, not too loud, great for any occasion or groups.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The menu has something for everyone. We had fish and rib eye and they were both excellent, including the vegetables. The wait staff are attentive. Great restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is on a par with the best when it comes to food. The atomosphere is pleasant enough, but the wait for a seat can be lengthy. Parking can be tough on a busy night as well.
My advice is to get there early for a great meal without sitting in the cocktail area for an hour.
It is out of the way but worth the trip from Key West or Big Pine keys

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Grouper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.