We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Square Grouper

Square Grouper
22658 Overseas Hwy, Cudjoe Key, FL 33042
+1 305-745-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi.
big pine key, florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

last time we ate there we had the following: conch steak app, eggplant parm, medditeranian plate, pasta dish with shrimp, brownie sundae. All was PERFECT(except the brownie) it was hard and dry. They did however comp the dessert and gave us a fresh brownie to take home, so they went above and beyond. Boondocks would be wise to take note of service and quality at the Grouper

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    112
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shadyside, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant on a busy Friday night . Due to 90 min wait we decided to eat at the bar.
I ordered Parmesan crusted chicken and it was delicious ! My husband got fish of some sort and loved it also.
We also had fried mozzarella appetizer and two sodas . The bill was over 70$ I guess that's average for the Keys .
We would definitely eat here again !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Check out the specials board. Everyone in our party of 8 ordered something different and we had a great time sharing with each other. The food is perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. The service is exceptional - Ann, our server and Lenore at the bar kept us entertained and made our visit truly enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our very favorite restaurant in the Keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We loved the excellent food, the friendly and open service by our waiter "Dan", and the atmosphere. They're closed on Sundays & Mondays durn it!!! ;-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The food was delicious- I had the sesame seared tuna. It was cooked perfectly and the flavors mingled well. Our waiter was pleasant and solicitous, and the ambiance was great. I thought the beer and wine selection was good too (I got the Dogfish Head 90 min IPA- yum)! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Little Torch Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Grouper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.