We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Square Grouper

Square Grouper
22658 Overseas Hwy, Cudjoe Key, FL 33042
+1 305-745-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was excellent. The price is moderate to high. It is a very pleasant casual classy environment for a nice meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    112
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Low key, upscale dining in the Keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I always enjoy dining at the Square Grouper. They have a varied menu- and great specials that change frequently. The atmosphere is upscale bistro but not stuffy or fancy. We love the waiting area- comfy couches in a cool atmosphere. They also offer a kids menu!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best lunch we have had in a long time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went for lunch and can't wait to go back. The menu had such a variety of options. I had the meatloaf sandwich. It was very good. It came topped with onion rings that were so good, my hubby kept taking them from me :) He had Panko & chive crusted yellowtail with a champagne & chive sauce served over rice. It was so delicious!! There were several specials in addition to the regular menu. It was hard to choose what to have. We sat at the bar and our server was Lenore. She was very friendly & efficient. We highly recommend this place and plan on taking family & friends there when they come to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stopped on our drive to Key West as recommended by a friend, delicious lunch, clean restaurant. Samantha was a friendly and efficient waitress. Dinner selections looked good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Key to a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first visit to the Keys from England and we went to the restaurant with our US relatives who'd recommended it. What a wonderful evening - the food was absolutely delicious and the rumour about large American portions was certainly true in this establishment. Huge, beautifully cooked and presented portions and a wide choice of unusual dishes on the menu. Highly recommended and the best Key Lime Pie I'd tasted ('forced' myself to try the dessert despite being full!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Little Torch Key, Florida Keys
Big Pine Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Grouper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.