We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Square Grouper

Square Grouper
22658 Overseas Hwy, Cudjoe Key, FL 33042
+1 305-745-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was excellent. The price is moderate to high. It is a very pleasant casual classy environment for a nice meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    142
    26
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Low key, upscale dining in the Keys.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I always enjoy dining at the Square Grouper. They have a varied menu- and great specials that change frequently. The atmosphere is upscale bistro but not stuffy or fancy. We love the waiting area- comfy couches in a cool atmosphere. They also offer a kids menu!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best lunch we have had in a long time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went for lunch and can't wait to go back. The menu had such a variety of options. I had the meatloaf sandwich. It was very good. It came topped with onion rings that were so good, my hubby kept taking them from me :) He had Panko & chive crusted yellowtail with a champagne & chive sauce served over rice. It was so delicious!! There were several specials in addition to the regular menu. It was hard to choose what to have. We sat at the bar and our server was Lenore. She was very friendly & efficient. We highly recommend this place and plan on taking family & friends there when they come to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stopped on our drive to Key West as recommended by a friend, delicious lunch, clean restaurant. Samantha was a friendly and efficient waitress. Dinner selections looked good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Key to a treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first visit to the Keys from England and we went to the restaurant with our US relatives who'd recommended it. What a wonderful evening - the food was absolutely delicious and the rumour about large American portions was certainly true in this establishment. Huge, beautifully cooked and presented portions and a wide choice of unusual dishes on the menu. Highly recommended and the best Key Lime Pie I'd tasted ('forced' myself to try the dessert despite being full!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Sugarloaf Key, Florida Keys
 
Summerland Key, Lower Keys
Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square Grouper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.