We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Night Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2575 North US 19, Crystal River, FL 34428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
tallahassee, fl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Night Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I know it is the busy season , but our stay at the Econolodger was not acceptable. The room was clean, spartan , and inexpensive. But, we had a confirmed reservation for a non smoking room, with small pet. We had the smelliest, smokers room I have ever been in! The dog slept up against door hoping to get a breath of fresh air. We showed the hotel clerk our confirmed reservation for a non-smoking room,when we checked in and her response was sorry ... you have to take what you got!

Staff was unhelpful and unapologetic even for their mistake, and not very friendly at all. Stay elsewhere if you can,

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    24
    12
    14
See reviews for
18
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stony Stratford, Bucks, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

For £30 a night you really can only hope for somewhere clean to lay your head for the night. This is what you get with a proffessional welcome and nice pool to cool off in too.

  • Liked — Free Wi Fi
  • Disliked — No coffee or tea in room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshie UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

On arrival we asked to look at the room and that was enough, luckily we arrived early and was able to cancel ,but nothing would have made us stay in such a run down filthy DUMP.

  • Liked — Noithing
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2004

I stay here quite often, and really like how I am treated by the staff. The rooms are clean and kept in pretty good repair. I recommend it to those that are on a budget and need clean, inexpensive accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2004

We swam with the Manatees in April 2002 in Crystal River. "Birds Underwater" was a great guide. We stayed at the Econolodge and would rather have stayed elsewhere. Our socks were BLACK after walking across the carpeting once......the pool was FREEZING cold. Thankfully, we had such a great time with the swim tour, that we basically just slept there and after two nights, were gone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2575 North US 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crystal River
Crystal River Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.