We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to stay longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation on Crystal River to your Saves list
Plantation on Crystal River
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Florida
1 review
“I wanted to stay longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I loved my stay. They hotel looks like an old florida plantation and is surrounded by water. The rooms were very clean and beds very comfortable. It is not a new hotel, but is kept up very nice. The food was very good. We didn't have to leave the hotel for anything. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and I went on the Manatee swim the Plantation Inn Dive Shop and it was so amazing. There were also manatees swimming around the hotel waters. They also have an Aveda spa on grounds and I enjoyed that. I would love to visit again and go see the manatees.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCandales, Director of Sales at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we too wished you could have stayed longer, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. We are so happy that you were able to swim with the Manatee, it truly is a wonderful experience. Come back and visit real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    252
    106
    45
    25
See reviews for
195
258
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed in an upstairs room and it was fine, nothing special, nothing awful either, just ordinary. The walls were not well soundproofed and we could heard through them. Fortunately, we carry a sound machine to block out noise and we slept very well. The mattress was very comfortable too. We visited Homosassa SpringsWildlife Park and enjoyed seeing the Manatees and birds. We did not have an opportunity to kayak which would have been fun. We ate at Dan's Clam Shack, recommended by Fodors, and it was just okay too. After leaving this area, we visited Tarpon Springs and Honeymoon Island State Park, both of which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCandales, Director of Sales at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, we are sorry your stay was not more enjoyable. We shall address the areas of concern during our upcoming beautification and upgrade to the resort and would hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a renewed and revitalized property in the near future. We are truly sorry you did not get to swim with the Manatee or Kayak in the beautiful warm waters of Crystal River, we hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Plantation is one of the best kept secrets in Crystal River. The Resort is old yes,but the grounds absolutely gorgeous and the rooms large. Siding door hard to open.Friendly and informative staff. Which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Crystal River and the Manatee tours offered by this hotel are wonderful - this should be on everyone's bucket list.

The Plantation Hotel is a unique find in Florida, they offer Southern hospitality, a beautiful property in Old Florida, great nature experiences and excellent food in a pleasent setting.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while doing manatee tour/snorkel (btw, highly recommend Bird Underwater). Slightly apprehensive about the hotel given the mixed (& highly negative) reviews. Booked a king room in the Rose wing (based on prior reviews) & had a very nice time. The room was nicely appointed & in good shape. The grounds are lovely: expansive grounds, golf course (which we used), nice pool with shuffleboard, croquet, etc. The restaurant was fine, especially since they were offering a $12 early bird dinner (2 courses). Glad I chose this over the Holiday Inn Express, it has much more character.

A few minor issues:
- Initially was given a ground floor room looking into parking lot, not a great choice when hotel was very empty. Room was changed immediately without hassle.
- Bath towels are thin & skimpy. Thought the bath towel was a hand towel. Not quite fitting with more upscale image.
- TV is old "Box" style. Never turned it on, but it just looked out of place.
- Outer doors to Rose Wing not locked. There is a key card entry system for outer doors, but it was not working. Would be a concern if I were a single female.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCandales, Director of Sales at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay, we appreciate the opportunity and would like to address your comments. The resort has recently been purchased and plans are in progress to provide upgrades and enhancements to the already beautiful property. We understand the importance of your time when on vacation or traveling for business and wish only to provide you with every amenity and service that will provide you with the relaxation and pampering that you deserve. On behalf of the management and staff of the “new” Plantation Golf Resort & Spa we thank you for your business and look forward to providing you with excellent service and a beautiful resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Rooms were joined and provided decent sized beds. One television malfunctioned and showed only black/white (older Panasonic big box style) but, it was quickly fixed by the hotel staff. I can attest to the safety. My room door was mistakenly left ajar for several hours and not a problem occured!
Low marks for cleanliness since one bathtub was too filthy to use. When plugged and filled with water it had items floating in the water. The other room was spotless, though.
The grounds of the resort were lovely with plenty of manatee viewing and a dive shop with boat rental/ manatee dives available. The pool is listed as being open Memorial Day to
Labor Day, but, we saw folks swimming in the 68 degree weather.
The restaurant was well priced and the breakfast buffet was often restocked with an attentive and friendly waitstaff. The spa was not used but is Aveda and offered a few tempting options with appointments still available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCandales, Director of Sales at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay, we appreciate the opportunity and would like to address your comments. The resort has recently been purchased and plans are in progress to provide upgrades and enhancements to the already beautiful property. We understand the importance of your time when on vacation or traveling for business and wish only to provide you with every amenity and service that will provide you with the relaxation and pampering that you deserve. On behalf of the management and staff of the “new” Plantation Golf Resort & Spa we thank you for your business and look forward to providing you with excellent service and a beautiful resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

we all had a great time. swimming with the manatees was a thrill. management was excited about the new ownership taking over. GREAT value!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCandales, Director of Sales at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us, we appreciate your business and the opportunity to provide you with a professionally guided Manatee tour, the experience is life-changing and truly unforgettable. We hope to see you again next season if not sooner.
On behalf of management and the hotel team, Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation on Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.