We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleas- but the staff was wonderful in fixing the problem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation on Crystal River to your Saves list
Plantation on Crystal River
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fleas- but the staff was wonderful in fixing the problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I arrived at the hotel for a late check in. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and showed me where my room was on the map. I made it to the room and when I walked in everything looked fine. I put my bag on the floor and noticed a bug on my arm. I flicked it off thinking that it was on me from when I walked in from the outside. Ummmm, NO. I went to take a shower and notice a couple more bugs in the sink and when I looked at them, they jumped. Still not really thinking anything about it, i jumped in the shower. I went back into the room and noticed that there was a flea on my leg and then on my arm. I immediately called the front desk and notified them that the hotel room had a flea infestation. I was told they would move me immediately and they did. I quickly grabbed my bag and ran out of the room to get the new key. I spent the rest of the evening in the new room going through my suitcase making sure the fleas were not in my suitcase. I did not get a lot of sleep.

To be fair, the hotel staff reacted appropriately and moved me immediately. He upgraded my room but sadly it was so late at night, the view he gave me was wasted on me but I appreciated the gesture. I did get to enjoy the view in the morning. My friend stayed at the hotel on following Friday and did not have any problems. I did tell her what room to stay away from just in case.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abartlett22, General Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Daer valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on our establishment. Although we appreciate your self diagnosis we find your accusations to be false. We have the world wide leader in cleanliness services as our provider and we do not have a so called infestation of which we are happy to share. What you may have encountered was something many Floridians know as "No-seeums". These are small pesky type of bugs that live in the moss and the grasses of Florida near waterways and can hide on you from simply walking by a try or over some grass. They are similar to the black fly of the northern states but so are so small you can not see them until you feel them hence the nickname" no seeums"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    301
    124
    49
    31
See reviews for
244
307
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Set in a dead, sad little town it was ok. Trying to be a luxury destination but missing the details. The room was out dated and sad looking-smelled overwhelmingly of cleaner. Mold on the bathtub. The pool was quaint but clean and nice. Restaurant was ok-again, trying to be luxury but not quite making it although you could see they tried which is more than i can say for many big chains purporting to be luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My family and I stayed for 3 days and were not impressed. This is a very old property, and is very pretty on the outside. The tub did not drain, the staff was not very helpful, the website stated there was a continental breakfast (there is not), and the walls are very thin. I was expecting a four star resort and got an "airport" hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night.
The value was tremendous!
It was a great location, right on the river.
The pool was very nice right on the river also.
No problem with cleanliness or bugs, our stay was uneventful and very nice!
The beds were very comfortable. Excellent service.
A dated hotel but still a great experience!

My only complaint was that the coffee was $2.50 a cup. Bring your own!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is an old property, but it is kept up nicely. The rooms are decent. The terrible news is that the doors slam from one end of the hallway to the other, and it literally rattles the walls. It is terrible. Impossible to sleep if you're anything close to a light sleeper. I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure for almost 30 years. I have only experienced such extreme door slamming noise twice before, but never to the extent that they rattle the walls. It's worse during the family vacation times, because kids are running everywhere and going in and out.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at plantation at crystal river beginning of June. It was awesome. Now the rooms are functional - however the experience is phenomenal!! Great for family, couples or just to get away..and def take the scenic river tour with captain ed. The man was fun, knowledgeable and even found some manatees (which was huge as this is apparently off season!)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Dive shop and the resort were amazing, friendly staff and took care of everything we asked, and at a very reasonable rate on top of that.
The diving was the best we had had , with Captain Ross Files, both Manatee snorkeling as well as Rainbow river scuba.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Our walk out room on the Canal gave us views of dolphins and manatees without an hour of us arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation on Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.