We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location on crystal river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation on Crystal River to your Saves list
Plantation on Crystal River
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location on crystal river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Old school beautiful old antebellum hotel directly on the river. Beautiful serene setting with great amenities such as remodeled rooms, great pool with hot tub, and tiki bar poolside. 18 hole golf course on campus. Customer service was stellar. Swim and or dive with the manatees. We took a boat tour from the on campus dive shop, saw 15 manatees and a great sunset. Fantastic mini vacation!!!! Take your better half, or the whole family!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    252
    106
    45
    25
See reviews for
195
258
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked 3 nights and only stayed 2, which tells the story of our stay.
On arrival the hotel is impressive...
The room we were given on arrival contained cold drink bottles and other personal items. We were given a second room which was OK, however the hotel corridors had a continual smell of damp dogs. The restaurant lunch menu is basic and poor and the one evening we ate in the restaurant, pork medallions arrived in the form of a pork chop, which was over cooked and tough. It was later explained that the head chef had earlier departed after a new menu had been introduced.
This establishment is no 5 star hotel, even 3 stars would be generous given the service and continued smell of pets. The carpets are stained and in poor condition and the rooms are basic and small in size. The only 5 star rating for this establishment is the prices charged
Would not recommend to anyone and certainly would not want to return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abartlett22, General Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for providing you feedback to us. I would like to let you and others know that we are continuously moving through various projects and renovations with a emphasis on improving our property and experience. We have plans this year to improve the issues you specifically mentioned in your recent review. Over the past three years we have made many changes to the appearance of the hotel as well as the room and restaurant. We are a three diamond AAA hotel and we strive for every guest experience to be a memorable one for all the right reasons. It is true we made changes at the begining of the year to our culinary team and although this is true I sincerely apologize for you experience in our restaurant. We are and will continue to improve our staff, property, and experience with valued feedback like yours.

Andrew Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at The Crystal river plantation for the holiday weekend and had a wonderful experience!
The staff was professional and the grounds were beautiful!
Did the 6:45 am Manatee tour and had an amazing experience!
Captain Jon our guide was very knowledgable and professional.
We saw so many manatee! What an experience! Words cannot explain!
They provided all the gear and we had hot chocolate and coffee when we boarded the boat after the swim....
Highly highly recommend the tour!
The plantation is the place to stay if you want character and charm!
The manatee tour is a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were visiting friends that live near by, which is why we were in Crystal River.

The room was clean, which is always a good sign, and everybody was very nice here. We had breakfast here both mornings, and it was good. Next time I will try the buffet for breakfast.

The location was good for us, and there are a number of things to do near by. We when to Homosassa Springs Wildlife park and really enjoyed it.

We will be staying here next time we visit our friends here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We our staying for the weekend. This may be older, but it is very nice. We got a room upgrade and we are facing the river. Our room is a king room bed is very nice. The front desk staff was very helpful with any and all needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Went for a nice birthday getaway.

The room was initially not what I had reserved, but it was quickly fixed with a phone call to the front desk. Stayed in the ROSE building, (farthest away from the pool). Went in the middle of the week, so the place was relatively empty.

It's not a 5 star hotel in my opinion, but it was perfect for what I was there for.

Sat on the sea wall by the gazebo and watched manatees for the better part of 2 hours, before ordering poolside lunch. Nice (heated) pool. Mike at the poolside bar was awesome!

Shuffleboard, Croquet, Horse Shoes and Beach Volleyball are all available on site, free of charge. Just check out the equipment at the front desk.

If you're in crystal river, and looking for somewhere to stay - I would recommend The Plantation.

Room Tip: Pay extra for water view - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed for one night and really enjoyed this location. While The Plantation is in the Ascend Hotel group and therefore also part of Choice Hotels, this being a resort with three dining options, your breakfast is not included with the room rate. That being said, our senior rate was well under $100 and a real bargain. The size of the resort, it's grounds, number of buildings, etc., is impressive. Built to look like a southern plantation, the buildings and grounds are beautiful. The main building is flanked on each side by several additional buildings, all brick painted white. Nice columned entryways and shrubs abound. Our room was large and contained a king size bed with a top of the line mattress and pillow top mattress cover. Thick colorful drapes and soft linens made for a wonderful sleep. The room had a refrigerator, nice large flat screen tv, plenty of storage and a two cup coffee maker. Missing was a microwave. Our guess was this is due to there being three food venues on site. One concern that might put some folks off is the dark tired looking carpeting that greeted us in the foyer of our building and in the hallways, etc. Easy to see that the rooms have been completely redone with mattresses, linens and drapes. Now it is time to get the carpets redone. We were told that is next on the list. We saw, but did not use, a very inviting pool area. There is also a dive shop, boat tours to see or dive with manatees and a complete golf course and all that goes with that. This was a beautiful resort. Breakfast was superb. The dining room was somewhat formal looking but inviting just the same and you are welcomed in casual clothing as most guests were attired. My eggs benedict and my wife's spa omelette were really delicious and served with roasted potatoes, peppers and onions topped with an orange slice and a half of strawberry. Our server Cheryl did a great job and was very helpful. The coffee did not taste like freshly brewed decaf, but rather like the freeze dried or instant. No matter, the wonderful meals made up for that. We paid $26 for our breakfast including coffee and felt that was very reasonable considering the location, quality of the food and presentation. We would love to spend a few days at the Plantation exploring the larger Crystal River area. Highly recommend to those looking for a touch of class at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation on Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.