We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanatees everywhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation on Crystal River to your Saves list
Plantation on Crystal River
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Wanatees everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for two nights by the end of December 2013 in this nice old-style hotel, which is surrounded by gardens and water with wanatees very close by. I can recommend to do the boat trip that starts from the hotel grounds. The room was spacious, internet worked well. I must admit that the hotel looks better from the outside than inside, where it is a bit worn down. But overall our stay was enjoyable.
A tip: if you don't want to swim with the wanatees, drive a bit around through the residential areas which have lots of canals. There are many low bridges from where you can spot easily wanatees.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    301
    124
    49
    31
See reviews for
244
307
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had one day before visiting friends at The Villages and book this location not exactly sure what we would find. Plantation is a 'gem' of a resort located on Crystal River.....the 'inn' like atmosphere....large rooms....great food.....employees very hospitable.....and just very comfortable. Kayak.....pontoon boats/rides....18 hole plus 9 hole golf course. A place that I will go back to......just sorry we could not stay longer. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I does have spa....great Sunday brunch!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here to swim with manatees and there were lots of them! Used hotel package which was convenient with marina on site so well worth it. Included breakfast buffet was good. Room was ok, double mattress worn out no support, bathroom clean, noisy a/c unit. I was awakened early by people talking in adjoining room, fridge was nice and cold and I liked the complimentary hot tea. Big heated pool but towels provided were very thin & harsh.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just stayed here overnight. We arrived late and left early. But, the little time we spent there was enjoyable.

Our room was clearly updated. The bathroom looked brand new. The furniture and carpet looked new. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Check-in was fast and very friendly.

The best part -- we got our room for significantly less than other local chain hotels.

If we're ever passing through Crystal River again, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Let me start by saying the reason I stayed here was to do the manatee tour, which was first class with Captain Ross Files. The Dive Shop was onsite. This made it easy to make my 6:15 am appointment to get suited up and out on the water. Cap't. Ross was fantastic! His knowledge, enthusiasm, and empathy toward the manatees is genuine. I highly recommend his tour. Actually, all staff members at that shop were very nice and showed an interest in wildlife, so I don't think you can go wrong there.

My room was appointed nicely with down pillows, a frig, and a nice deep tub. It was clean, and pretty. I have no complaints. In room wi-fi was FREE. They give you a code at the front desk. I chose the lowest priced room- upstairs, parking lot view and was pleased with quality and appearance.

The grounds are beautiful here. So much wildlife with osprey, dolphins, manatees. I like this place and recommend it!!!

Room Tip: I had the lowest priced room. Upstairs. No balcony. Easy to walk to the pool, the gazebo and enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My fiance and I recently stayed at Plantation and everything was absolutely phenomenal. Jessica at the Front Desk was extremely sweet and attentive 5 star service for sure. Travis at the restaurant also stood out. Amanda, in housekeeping was also very nice. Every time we were within several feet of her she greeted us and made sure everything was perfect. The staff at the dive shop was very informative about the local area and gave plenty of tips for our day out on the river.The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The only thing I would have liked was a more comfortable bed. The down pillows helped with the comfort. Entire property was very quite and overall relaxing, the ambiance was extremely tranquil at.
We will definitely be back especially for the service provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

On our arrival it was discovered the booking I made on Choice Hotels web site ( members rate was $101 for a standard king) was for a handicap room which we were not interested in, which curiously was on the 2nd level. I asked for another room to allow that room for someone who may need it. They had other rooms available, but they wanted more money or I could wait for another room to be cleaned. Housekeeping must have been behind since it was Sunday and I'm assuming they were busy from the weekend business. Now this was 4 in the afternoon and I wasn't interested in paying extra for a room that had little more to offer, but the desk manager was sorry the other room was not ready, we were told to wait. That didn't make much sense to me since it was Sunday and I'm sure they we're not going to be sold out. Poor customer service approach in taking care of a simple request.
We checked out the dive/marina shop & decided to book the sunset cruise. The cruise was worth the price & the captain shared a lot of interesting facts about the area & manatee's. Unfortunately since the temperature for the day hit 80 we did not see much activity from the manatees because evidently they are drawn to the warm springs when the weather is cool.
When the captain was asked, he gave some heads up on some restaurants in the area besides the restaurant at the hotel which from reading other reviews we were not interested in trying. The one suggestion, Peck's was an adventure since our Garmin had us taking a short cut through some back streets which included a 1/2 mile of dirt road in the middle of no where which did connect to road Peck's is located. This was 30 min + drive but was in beautiful coastal country. It was 7:15ish & they we packed. It was about 30 min. wait but was worth it since the meal was good.

Room Tip: No breakfast included. Check out Grannies down the street. Friendly folks, but be prepared to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation on Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.