We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation on Crystal River to your Saves list
Plantation on Crystal River
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We came for just one night and we found the hotel very clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating in every way. They upgraded us to a junior suite overlooking the water area and canals. The room was huge with a small fridge, microwave. They rooms are a little dated but fine. The sink did have some rusting around the drain. The grounds are beautiful and the pool area very nice but not amazing. This hotel is not over the top but much better than any Holiday Inn down the street which costs a little less than this one did. This hotel also takes AAA. The food at the restaurant was very good but the service was very slow. They actually brought us the wrong entrees and I think had to reorder,them again so it was a long wait. They did apologize but by the time we got our dinner, we weren't that hungry. We had the seafood special which was out of this world, the shrimp and grits, and the ribs. Again, the food was excellent but the wait was LONG!! With everything said, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    252
    106
    45
    25
See reviews for
196
258
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are going to this part of Florida, this is the go-to place. A bit off the main drag and surrounded by golf courses and river front, it's a quiet oasis and a good place to relax. The rooms are very comfortable, staff very friendly, good food, and well located. We were able to get to the state parks easily, beautiful drives down to the water, great scenery, and lots of water activities available everywhere. Though we don't particularly agree with swimming with the manatees, it is a great option to tour in a canoe or kayak and enjoy these Florida icons. Fishing there is renowned, with lots of little hidden waterways to be by yourself or to go with a group. There are several really good restaurants, but stay away from Grannies unless you like the smell of cooking oil in the morning (Good coffee, though.) Food at the Plantation itself is really good although a bit pricey for the area. We give it a four out of five. Remember, you are not in an especially elegant part of Florida, but if you like nature, nice people, a down-home feel, and sun and water, this is a great place to spend a few days and to get a feel for "old Florida".

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

With the word "Plantation" in its name, this establishment didn't deviate from its image of Southern charm. The columned portico, shutter style headboards, and hospitable, mature, competent, native-English speaking, day and night staff were refreshing. I have stayed here twice now, two nights each in September 2012 and January 2013. My ground floor, water view stay was the superior one with wall to wall windows and a lockable doorway leading to 2 exterior chairs and small table (could have done away with the ashtray) overlooking the river. Had I been on the second floor, there was no balcony. Using the hip tall, already chilled frig and coffee maker in the room, I enjoyed a Wal-Mart supplied little breakfast while listening to the news on the flatscreen and bird watching: hawk, ducks, warblers, etc. The dark wood furnishings balanced masculine and feminine with floral bedding, stripped curtains and Audubon style artwork. Pros: on-site manatee tour concession and store (book before you arrive to ensure availability @ 7:30 AM), nice sized, heated, (fully functioning in winter) pool and separate jaccuzzi between the restaurant and pretty Gazebo along the river, helpful receptionist with "hidden" brochures and facility map, tourist ideas, and the Wi-Fi code to use in the room, excellent waitress and crab bisque in the bright, modern FL styled restaurant overlooking the pool area, well rounded beer offerings, no bellhop chasing you down, on-site spa and golf available (but I didn't use), upfront with resort fees and no upcharge for a double double room. Cons: some of the public areas farthest from the lobby and pool lounge chairs need refurbishment, the 2 dark wood steps from the bar to the restaurant should have contrast markings on them in addition to the verbal fall warning from the hostess, rework the Mango cocktail so it doesn't taste like a Fanta and rum for the Prom Queen, add directional markings on the driveway entrance/exit. In short, a delightful stay where the staff offers a single woman a prime window table without prompting and you can really enjoy the naturalist setting in true comfort. They even have seasonal snorkeling/diving for SCALLOPS ....unique in all my travels.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate 3 story "wings" off a central corridor, all parallel to the river on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Got the Florida resident rate which was just over $100/night. Stayed 2 nights - Feb 13 and 14th. Gorgeous setting. Pool and spa area very nice. Ate lunch at their restaurant which was fine. Would definitely stay there again - more charm and nicer setting than the Holiday Inn or any other of the chain motels.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first experience with the Plantation! There were 12 of us and we arrived around 1:00 pm on a Sunday Afternoon! The food was delicious! The service was excellent and the price was right! They have an omelet station and the cook was first rate! They have fruit, danishes, deserts, and a carving station! The waitress's assigned to our tables kept of glasses full and the coffee was served hot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found the Plantation on Crystal River online and were delighted to find the Inn exactly as advertised. Our accomodations were spacious, bright and clean overlooking the river. The grounds are well kept. We enjoyed the sunset cruise and seeing all the manatees along the way. We enjoyed both golf courses and found the staff to be very knowledgeable and helpful. The town of Crystal River has lots of history.....nice shopping and restaurants. Great getaway!
S & T

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Recently, my husband, our two kids and I stayed at the Plantation for a business stay, We decided to stay in one of the golf villas for the additional space and kitchenette. It was located across the street from the main property and was right on the golf course. The villas are definitely in need of renovating and some needed repairs, but were very clean. We had originally planned to stay a total of three nights, but after being woken up two mornings in a row by mowers right outside our villa before daybreak, we decided to leave early. The staff at the Plantation were very apologetic and were very accommodating of our request to check out early. While we would definitely stay at the Plantation again, we would stay in the Rose building where the rest of our conference attendees stayed.

Room Tip: Avoid the villas, stay in the Rose building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation on Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.