We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic long weekend vacation Feb 10, 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation on Crystal River to your Saves list
Plantation on Crystal River
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic long weekend vacation Feb 10, 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days at this beautiful hotel. We had some absolutely wonderful experiences and some constructive criticism. First the good - the rooms are extremely nice, with a view overlooking the river, beds were very comfortable, bathrooms perfect. I travel all over the world, and we have stayed in some 5 and 6 star resorts, and this would rate about a 4. The staff couldn't have been nicer, all the way from the cleaners to the front desk. The food was really good, and the best that we had in Crystal River (more rating on other restaurants will be given). She-crab-soup was delicious. We both had the salmon special which was extremely well prepared and wonderful. Unfortunately, the spa is closed Sundays and Mondays. My wife would have like to take advantage while I golfed, since the weather was quite cold.

The Manatee Swim was a great experience, the dive shop at the Plantation is friendly and thoughtful, and our guide, Captain Paul couldn't have been more knowledgeable and intuitive to our individual needs. We had a fantastic experience and a lot of fun, especially when Captain Paul did his best imitation of an Italian Captain (inside joke - have to ask him).

The golf course was OK, not spectacular, but decent. Greens were in great shape, and fairways kept up very well. Just not an incredible layout, but enjoyed it anyway.

Now the criticisms: If you want to be considered as a destination, I believe that WiFi should be an automatic. Having to pay for ATT Wireless is a complete rip-off and extremely expensive, especially for people like my wife and I who travel with iPhones, iPads, etc. Each device gets charged per day. Plantation - take a note - WiFi is cheap - put it in, or don't expect return visits. We stayed at a cheapo hotel on the way to Florida, and it offered free WiFi. Also, without any other entertainment, an opportunity to rent a movie would have been nice.

Dive shop - your guide to preparing us was horrible. We didn't have a place to store our clothes and valuables that was secure, (they have lockers, with no locks) which meant we brought our clothes and valuables with us on the boat, and had no dry location - everything was wet. My expensive iPhone was OK, but could have been a problem. Tell people to bring a waterproof bag with them for their valuables and clothes, and tell them to bring extra towels. Also, a waterproof camera is a must. One last thing, when you put a wet-suit on, the zipper goes in back - something else that the dive shop could have informed us on, after all we are novices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    301
    124
    49
    31
See reviews for
244
307
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Had an excellent time with my co-workers on our annual managers retreat. Staff were friendly and rooms were new and clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the temps were just right for sleeping with the windows open to enjoy Florida air.

The food was good, but not great. They provided us with to-go lunches one day that were pretty lousy.

All in all, I would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Spent two days at the Plantation on Crystal River. We had a fantastic experience....swimming with the manatees, playing golf, and kayaking on the river. The newly renovated hotel was perfect. Our room was graciously decorated and nicely appointed. The hotel's staff was friendly and helpful. The food was spectacular. We highly recommend the Plantation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days at this lovely hotel - the property is right on Kings Bay and the marina provides boats or kayaks that take you straight to the manatees. The staff was very friendly and helpful - they all went out of their way to make sure our stay was a great one, including suggesting multiple activities in the area. Our room had a patio that opened up into the lawn and looked out at the water. Super clean and comfortable. Tons to do in the area and fairly close to both Tampa and Orlando. We are very happy we decided to vacation at the Plantation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Large detached hotel, with modern extensions, but get a ground floor room at the back and you will open onto lawns leading to the waterway. The wildlife is fantastic. Canoe from the hotel to lots of manatees in crystal clear water. Food excellent in hotel, pool really warm plus hot tub jaccuzi where we sat and watched a bald eagle.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I was very happy with our stay at the Plantation. The grounds were beautiful, staff were amazing, room was nice / clean, view was beautiful, and my daughter loved swimming in the pool in late January. We came up for the Manatee Fest for our non for profit greyhound rescue group. I chose the Plantation because it is pet friendly. The kindness of the staff towards my greys was greytly appreciated. The president of our group stayed elsewhere, and had a bad experience. We have all decided to stay at the Plantation again next year. I would also like to just go up for a weekend and do some tourist activities.

Room Tip: Get a water view. It's a canal, not the Gulf of Mexico, but it is a nice view. We stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I planned to write a review very similar to the one I just read below with the same title. These people really care about manatee conservation and have valuable skills in guiding guests around the springs (keep in mind some operations use fishing guides that aren't as educated about these endangered creaturs). It was an incredible and extremely affordable experience. I also felt no pressure to purchase a copy of the video that was made of me interacting with these huge gentle animals. Everything was perfect - I can't wait to return !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation on Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.