We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

There's a great restaurant next door, Cracker's. Kids loved the pool right on the water. While at the pool, expect to smell exhaust occasionally from the boats coming and going. Not enough to make me want to leave though. Friendly staff. Beds/pillows were comfortable. I would say medium firmness with pad. Dive shop right by pool (Crystal Lodge) offers boat rentals and manatee tours.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you had a good time and hope you will return again.
FrancesRoberts,, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    104
    71
    23
    15
See reviews for
93
105
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
1,054 helpful votes 1,054 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel (or Motel) didn't meet our expectation at all, while staying only 1 night in July.
Hotel was packed, parking lot was full of pickup truck so not easy to drive.
1st room given was on ground floor, parking view and with bad smell. 2nd room given wasn't nice too, but more quiet at the back (#6106). A/C was very loud. Mosquitoes at night so bring your repellent.

I'm BW Reward member and we travel a lot in the USA and we'll never go back at this BW and will choose another hotel if coming back to swim with the Manatees in Crystal River.
Breakfast was not good and way too busy.
Avoid this place if possible.
Only good thing is the location by the River. But no shower at the pool !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I'm sorry you had problems during your stay. We strive to make it an enjoyable experience for all our guests.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I spent a few days with my son at this hotel recently, we were visiting the area to see the manatees and dive in some of the nearby springs.

The rooms were clean, and the service was prompt and friendly. The breakfast was adequate.

Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed the stay and hope you'll come again.
Frances Roberts, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Really nice location on the bay. Places to lounge at the marina behind the motel or by the pool. A small boardwalk attaches Cracker's bar and grill. (Yum) Wish the great location made up for the horrible smell of our room. We stayed in the 6000's building, bottom floor, end unit/efficiency. The smell was so bad it would even wake you up at night. (musty,wet dog, cigarette combo.) half a bottle of febreeze still didn't fix the problem. Room would have been fine other than that. Small bathrooms but it's an older hotel. Breakfast is all carbs. small choice. I'd love to stay on these grounds again but don't know if I could stand to sleep in one of these rooms again. Such a shame.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sorry you had issues with the room. We strive to have our rooms clean and fresh for our guests. I apologize for the problems you had, I can assure you this was an isolated issue.
We hope you will come again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Crystal river is an amazing place, my dad would bring us to this hotel for family vacations every year & there are so many awesome memories that we bring our daughter here every chance we get. It has everything you could possibly think of to make a family trip amazing. The pool,hot tub, right on the water, boat rentals, springs to explore ( we always rent a pontoon boat for a day) dive shop,restaurant literally steps away. The rooms are average,but we've never had a problem here. If you come around Christmas time, Homassassa has a music/timed light display that is absolutely AMAZING. We have decided to make it our new yearly ritual. If you are a family wanting to have a good time & get your kids outdoors & away from their xboxes & iphones, bring them here! Best part is, it won't break the bank either!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. i hope you will return again.
Frances Roberts, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The location is great, beside the water front. We had 2 rooms, with 2 double beds in each. The accommodation was clean and was suitable for a one night stay. We had a 6:15 start at Birds Underwater (highly recommend) and booked this hotel to avoid the early morning drive from Orlando.

The occupant of one of our rooms had a good nights sleep

Unfortunately the occupants of the other room were not as fortunate as the internal and external construction did not provide sufficient sound proofing. The noise did decrease in the early hours of the morning, after we asked hotel security to speak to our neighbours

If the occupants of the adjoining room had not been as loud the review would have been more favourable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. i'm sorry you had a problem with noise from other guests.
We do appreciate your business and hope you will return again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The best thing about this property is its location...and if we wanted to see Manatees and the Homosassa State park it was a good place to stay. In the evening we sit at the swimminigpool, views from the pool were gorgeous. Breakfast is included and a good start of the day. Overall...there was nothing wrong with this property. It is not amazing or wonderfull, but just good! Perfect for a night on our tour in Florida.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and hope you will stay with us again when you're in the area.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort

Address: 614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks the Crystal River, and has a dive shop on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Crystal River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.