We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat Ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chassahowitzka National Wildlife Refuge

Chassahowitzka National Wildlife Refuge
1502 S.E. Kings Bay Drive, Crystal River, FL 34429
352-563-2088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Attractions in Crystal River
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Midland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Boat Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lot's of wildlife on our $15 1.5 hour boat cruise on the river. Spotted Bald Eagles nesting and a dolphin running along our boat. Binoculars provided for close ups of marsh land birds.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Explore by Boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have pottered round these Nature Coast waters for a lifetime. although the Homosassa and Crystal Rivers are no longer the uncrowded wilderness that they were when I explored in a little boat 50 years ago as a kid, the inshore coast still offers spectacular scenery.
Take a guide or experienced friend if it's your first time. A great place to explore by your own boat. With a chart and some planning you can wander around and see the unspoilt scenery and wildlife. Watch out for the tides. If you are inexperienced you could find yourself aground and be stuck for 6 hours.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Open/wild/beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Watched an incredible sunset over the Gulf. No crowds, lots of wildlife. Need more trashcans or guns for the fools who don't use them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great place to explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've been going to Chasshowitzka for years. I live about 40 minutes south. I've been on this river numerous amounts of time, but the last time (July) I found that there was some sort of dredging work being done at the entrance of the river. I went on a Tuesday and surprisingly there was quite a few people on the river. Parking is minimal, maybe 20-30 spaces so I would recommend getting there a little early. There is a $5.00 parking fee if you are going to use the parking. There are a few springs to check out and the river is very calm so paddling around is not that strenuous. There is a great spring to cool off not too far from where everyone puts their canoes in. Usually this spot has a lot of people and can get very crowded. Ask the locals and they will be able to tell you where the "hole" is. This is a remote spot that not too many people visit and most likely you'll be the only ones there. Be cautious and bring a lot of mosquito repellent because it gets quite dense before it opens up at the spring.
They have really turned this place around for the best. They have a general store where you can pick up most anything you will need for a day out on the river. If you require more, there is a publix about 10 minutes from the boat launch area. They also have canoe and kayak rentals on site if you choose.
There are trails along the river behind the campsite, but be warned that in the summer time, the mosquitoes are terrifying. Speaking of campgrounds, they have quite a nice one. I've only stayed at the primitive sites and they are nice and secluded. They say "no alcohol allowed", but if you are discrete and civilized about it, you'll never have problems.
The holiday weekends are packed in this campground. I would estimate that they have roughly 30 or so sites. It fills up a few days before a big holiday, but I think they take reservations now. The campsite prices are pretty reasonable also.
Anyways, this is a great place to spend a day or a weekend. Family friendly and very nice people there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitland, florida
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Great Place To Rent A Kayak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

With all of the different water adventure opportunities this was a good place to get a kayak and paddle the rivers. Loads to see and easy to move around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chassahowitzka National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Chassahowitzka National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chassahowitzka National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.