We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wanted to sample an old style Florida Motel and pleased we did” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crystal River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Bay Lodge
Save Saved
You added King's Bay Lodge to your Saves list
506 NW 1st Ave, Crystal River, FL 34428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MID-WEEK SPECIAL
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Swansea, Wales.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We wanted to sample an old style Florida Motel and pleased we did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed for one night prior to a Manatee Swim, hoping to see what an old time Florida Motel was all about. We realy enjoyed our stay. The old furnishings in the room was more than made up for by the size of the room itself. The Florida Pool was fantastic, our children loved the water-chute and the fact that fish could be seen swimming in the pool! All in all our stay was great fun and a real antidote to the bland chain hotels you so often find.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were a group of 30. The room accomodations were great. The rooms were all well equipped. Some furnishing were older than others, but all liked. The docks were convenient right there and plenty of space. Great Pavillion area to bbq and play card games, etc...... We found the staff to be very friendly. I would check in with the office first, find out which boat ramp to put your boat in at. There are two. I suggest the one at Pete's Pier. Despite the other reviews, we loved it a total of 8 familes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great location,but lost in a time warp circa 1965
Its so run down and obviously unloved.
Efficiency units with kitchen,furniture looks like it came from the cheapest thrift store.
Foam showing on chair,musty smel,l old airconditioning unit which fortunately worked.
Kitchen utensils dire...
Nothing seems to have been upgraded since it was built.
A great pity and not particularly cheap $87 for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed for one night and found the room to be spacious and clean. The furniture and accessories are dated but functional. We did not need use of the kitchenette but it looked to be well-stocked for a longer stay in the area. The grounds are nice, ample BBQ area and outdoor seating in a commons area. Restaurants are within walking distance as are several manatee tour vendors. I wouldn't stay here for more than a couple of nights but it certainly is comfortable and clean for the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

We only stayed one night on a trip to Miami so we didn't get to enjoy all the amenities. The room is an efficiency apartment equipped with a kitchen, dining area, and couches (or chairs) for watching TV. This is a great place to stay. It is older, but there's nothing wrong with that. It very clean and comfortable. We did not see any bugs or notice any smells (things noted by previous reviewers.) it was so pleasant to sit outside and enjoy the breeze. We walked to Charlies for dinner. Food was great. All in all our visit was very nice .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Returned again to one of our favorite overnites: mainly because of the large apartment style room with kitchen and great shower. The room we were in have recent bathroom remodel. If you don't care for the luxury of expensive hotel this one is for you.. Will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

cant wait to book our next trip next time hope we can get a pawntune boat pool is beautiful like none other the rooms are old fashion country setting its really relaxing

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Bay Lodge

Address: 506 NW 1st Ave, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kings Bay Lodge on the pristine waterfront of the Crystal River. We offer 18 fully-equipped, individually owned, efficiency apartments. Each apartment will sleep up to four people. Our convenient kitchenettes are equipped with a microwave, full-size refrigerator, coffeemaker and range. All units are located on the ground level and provide parking directly outside the door. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi, cable-television, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and free boat docking. A fish-cleaning station is available for all lucky fishermen. Our sunsets are awesome. Enjoy the natural beauty of the Nature Coast on our quiet street, with giant live oaks draped in Spanish moss .... Swim with the manatees or in our unique Old Florida natural spring-fed swimming pool. Enjoy kayaking, fresh or saltwater fishing, scalloping or sailing. The area is perfect for wildlife enthusiasts and in close proximity to Three Sisters Spring. Our lodge is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, antique stores and shopping. Boat and kayak rentals, manatee tours, scuba diving facilities, bike/walking paths, parks, historical and archaeological attractions, horseback riding, gulf coast beaches and golf are located nearby. All rooms are non-smoking. Sorry, no pets are allowed. Two night minimum required. Special rates are available for groups and for extended stays. Please contact us for pricing and availability. 506 N. W. 1St Ave., Crystal River, FL 34428 Visit us on the web at Kings Bay Lodge Fla to arrange your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Bay Hotel Crystal River
Kings Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.