We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubious at Best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Port Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Port Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
The Port Hotel and Marina
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1610 S.E. Paradise Circle, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dubious at Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is an enigma to me. It has one of the best and most picturesque locations in Crystal River, it has a restaurant, and marina on grounds. There are boat and kayak rentals available on site. Sounds great, right?.....Wrong. This place could be great, but it is just standing in its own way. We reserved two rooms, and they were both awful. We opened the doors to both rooms, only to find them dank, dark, and smelly. It was sort of a combo between old cigarette smoke, mildew, and stale a/c. In one of the rooms, aside from just looking and feeling dirty, the door jams had been replaced but not painted. Additionally, the ceiling light had no cover. It was just an exposed bulb. The walkways in front of the rooms were just ugly and in need a attention. It is a budget priced hotel, so I wasn't expecting the Ritz. However, I was also not expecting a dump, and that is what this place is. On the up side, the desk clerk was nice, we felt safe in this location, and there were no problems with our bill. I cannot understand why the management would let this property go into such disrepair, because it has AMAZING potential. Rent a boat or a kayak here, but stay someplace else.

Room Tip: A good room would be at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    49
    50
    27
    48
See reviews for
53
81
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We rented a kayak here so that we could paddle among manatees. The staff was really friendly and offered helpful info. The kayak rental was a good price (3-seater for $55). One thing in particular I really liked: While out kayaking, we picked up a couple pieces of someone's garbage from the water and brought it back to put in the hotel garbage can. Not a big deal. But the staffer who rented the kayaks to us seemed to appreciate it a lot. And I really liked his reaction because it showed that he cared about what he does for a living - which I'd define as more about helping others experience the bay and marine wildlife and less about renting kayaks. It also showed that he respects King's Bay. This is an ecologically sensitive area, so if I'm going to tread there I want to be around people who respect it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are a fan of the way Florida was many years ago you will love your visit here. Crystal River is uniquely situated 8 miles from the coast and surrounded by tropical woodlands and bayou. If you are looking to spend time here it is likely because of the Manatees. The Manatees are plentiful, the springs are clear and the hotel staff are exceptionally accommodating and friendly. The hotel boasts larger waterfront rooms, a dive shop, a waterfront restaurant, a marina, and reasonable pricing on rooms, snorkel tours and food. It is simple to get to from Orlando and a great place to decompress. Exceptional value for the price! I will stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view of the river but the "a" wing has an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Headed back to the Port Hotel this December / 2012 - after Christmas to snorkel with the manatees. This will be my 4th stay in the last 5 years. Great location on the water; I rent my pontoon from the dive shop and head out to King Springs and Three Sisters. From what you will read in the other reviews - this is not a new place, but very clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and YES - Elvis did stay here - even though that section no longer exist.

I have taken my sons here and now taking my grandkids here. Excellent location to everything.

If you are looking for a room with a great view of the sunset, this is the place. To counter some other comment about not being per friendly, I did not find that to be the case. My nephew, his wife and son joined me here two years ago. They brought their dog and there was never an issue. The front office was very friendly and welcomed the dog in a warm manner.

Just understand this is not a 5 Star hotel or intended to be. What was 5 Star was their service and attitude. Good Southern hospitality. You should expect nothing less. Enjoy - I did and will for the years to come.

Diver0529

Oh - make sure you eat at Dan's Clam Shack - best shrimp in the area and you have to have breakfast at Granny's - but go hungry!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place had very simple rooms. They were dated, but clean and comfy. The resturant was great. Staff was very helpful. The continental breakfast could use,a,few more options other than bananas, apples and Little Debbie snacks. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Yes this is an older place and I read a few bad review on it but we took the chance. Our rooms were just fine, as I said older, but good bang for your money. We stayed three nights and had no problems. The view out our window of the marina and bay were great (although Friday night bar got a little loud), we stayed Wed.-Fri. Friday morning we got up early (made arrangements the day before at the dive shop) and took kayaks out to see wildlife and saw lots of Manatees, fish and birds.
The staff was very helpful with the kayak and local information.
We plan on returning next year! Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in building D overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had 2 nights here in a room overlooking Crystal River - the view was incredible - beautiful quiet location with great access to the river - hired a boat for the afternoon and saw some great sights including manatees, dolphins and alligators :-)

The hotel was clean and comfortable regardless of the fact it all looked a bit 'tired'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You very much for your review and sharing your wonderful experience with Port Hotel and Marina. We appreciate your business. We are working our best to make positive changes and improving place. Will be looking forward to see you back soon...Thank You..JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Port Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel and Marina

Address: 1610 S.E. Paradise Circle, Crystal River, FL 34429
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Port Hotel and Marina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Hotel & Marina is a bustling Waterside Resort Located On Florida's Outstanding Waterways.This resort located on 7-acres has provided a scenic hideaway for the last 50 years.Tourists come to the waterside resort to dive in the fresh springs and experience some of the most exciting manatee diving in the world.• Dive Center• Manatee Tours• Boat Rental• Boat Ramp• Swimming Pool• Ale House Restaurant• Tiki Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Port Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Port Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.