We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bluecrab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pecks Old Port Cove

Pecks Old Port Cove
139 North Ozello Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
352.795.2806
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 92 restaurants in Crystal River
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Bluecrab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What an experience to see it doesn't Bluecrab arranged on a plate just for me. Even more incredible was the process of eating the Bluecrab which took an hour and a half. Certainly something everyone should do once-in-a-lifetime. Unlike some of the other reviews I would rate the sides as quite good. And the chiffon Keylime pie was quite exceptional.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    145
    114
    41
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Drive it! You'll Like it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's only a 12 mile drive down a twisting and turning road but you think your never going to get there. But then you do!!My husband was so excited that they cooked the fish bone in that he couldn't stop talking about how it took him back to when mom made it. The trip alone was worth that. The wait staff is awesome, very friendly and down home. The food was wonderful there is any fried seafood that you can imagine. Go early so you can see the view and then stay for dinner...we are already planning a trip back with my father in law.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well worth the long drive from Crystal River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very popular local seafood restaurant out in the sticks from Crystal River but well worth the long drive. Typical Southern seaafood and generous portions with a very large selection to choose from.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great View - Great Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were very impressed. My wife and I split the three seafood combination meal. They added $2 to the bill for doing this, but the two plates they brought us were just as full as my Dad's plate and he had the same meal by himself. They allowed us to order our own sides individually.

All in all, the amount and quality of food was more than a tad impressive. We were able to have the seafood broiled rather than fried, which was an excellent choice.

I would agree with other reviewers that the sides were nothing special, but the seafood was definitely very good.

Of course, the neat thing is to be sitting at a table where you can see the water while you eat.

One sad point was the mug they served me with hot water was NOT clean on the outside. The owners need to pay a bit more attention to details such as this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second Trip to Pecks Not as Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Peck's - still in a great place at "the end of the road" in Ozello was liked the first time around. This, the second time, was just a little different. The good points were: Bay Scallops and Oysters where excellent! The sides OK. We luckily were seated in the second (or back) room. The entrance and first room were smokey from the vents unable to handle the greasy smoke from the ventalation in the kitchen. We were clear, but we wouldn't have wanted to sit up front! This needs to be addressed and no one was available to discuss it. Management is the most important piece of the restaurant puzzle. Get with it before our 3rd visit please!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pecks Old Port Cove also viewed

 

Been to Pecks Old Port Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pecks Old Port Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.