We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana House Grill

Havana House Grill
6875 West Gulf to Lake Hwy, Crystal River, FL 34428
352-563-0080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 92 Restaurants in Crystal River
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Coffee Shop, Cuban, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Wow wow and wow! Such amazing food and accommodating. If you have a large group great place with great service! I recommend this wonderful establishment to everyone I know! This is my number one favorite place to eat!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food, Kid friendly, Nice Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We unexpectedly had a visit from relatives monday afternoon so we decided on a family favorite, we showed up with 9 people about half kids, our server was quick to accommodate seating and was wonderful with our brood of rowdy kids, getting their food in immediately! Keeping them relatively quiet the rest of the meal ;) Our food was great, never disappointed in this department...although the kids servings were a tad on the small side, one of our boys was not full at all and had to pick at ours, luckily the sandwiches are HUGE. Food was delicious none the less. Server was attentive and had the kids in stitches the whole time, which was pleasant considering the mess they were making! I will continue to return to this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, nothing special though. We ordered 2 different things, but couldn't tell them apart when that came. It was very slow when we stopped, we were one of 3 table, and the 2 girls seemed like they were having a bit of trouble managing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa R, Owner at Havana House Grill, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I am so sorry you didn't find anything special about our restaurant. Quite frankly most of our diners really enjoy our food. The fact that you couldn't tell you food apart is extremely odd. Salmon, steaks and pork are very easy to distinguish. However if you order an enchilada or quesadilla then of course there will be a lot of similarity in its appearance. Wraps are another item that will appear similiar. That particular shift was reviewed on our closed circuit tv system my servers handled it extremely well and dining tickets ran on a smooth 10-12 minute ticket time out of our kitchen. Perhaps your perception of time is off. Nonetheless we would have hoped your experience would have resulted in something special to you . Our staff of 17 and steady flow of regulars who dine here daily and referred to on a first name basis do find Havana House VERY SPECIAL. I wish everyone (who thanks to the internet) are now amateur food critics could realize that there are families struggling to keep food on their tables and work very hard to maintain their families. These reviews are not always accurate or fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“VIVA CUBA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Havana House Grill is the big brother to the cafe in Lecanto. Full bar available. Menu has expanded and features new Cuban specialties prepared to order. Great place for a change from the chain places that populate this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lackadasical Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were a group of 3 couples who visited Havana House Grill to celebrate my birthday on the evening of January 21. I will begin with the good - the food was praised by everyone - the black bean soup, cheesy fries, lechon asado, salmon, and wraps were all well-prepared on tasty. That's the good. Here's the rest.

1. Upon being seated, we were handed menus and left to study them. No one offered drinks or advised us of any drink specials (we asked, there were none). In an ethnic restaurant, drink specials like mojitos and margheritas are somewhat expected. In any case, we had to ask about drinks, since our server didn't mention them. When they did come (2 margheritas and 2 mojitos) they were watery and tepid.

2. When we had studied the menu for awhile, the world's least enthusiastic waitress came over and asked "do you know what you want?" We ordered appetizers off the menu, only to be told that most of them were unavailable - no deviled crab roll, no tostadas, no mariquitas. The excuse? The truck comes tomorrow. It would have been nice to have been told items were unavailable before we had spent the time deciding on them and then having to hastily select other items with the waitress standing over us.

3. No one explained any specials to us. When my husband ordered mussels, he was asked if he wanted the ones on the menu or the ones on special. No one was aware of any specials because they were written on a blackboard that no one pointed out and which was some distance from our table.

4. When the waitress was asked what kind of fish was used for the Bimini Fried Fish (a Cuban speciality), she didn't know and had to go ask. The same was true for two other dishes we asked for descriptions of.

5. The restaurant is dark and the ladies room less than clean. Enough said.

I know Monday night is slow for restaurants, but that was no excuse for the poor service and shortage of ingredients. Based on other reviews, I may give this restaurant another try on some other day of the week, but otherwise I would hardly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa R, Owner at Havana House Grill, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank for your comment as we take each and every review seriously. I apologize for the service you received. We have spoken to the server and have reviewed the proper steps of service and have hopefully motivated her in the right direction. As far as some items being unavailable she unfortunately gave you incorrect information devil Crabs we .no longer carry. We try and prepare all items home made and this is not one of them so we have removed from menu. As far as the mariquitas it is a seasonal items and sometime the plantains are too ripe making it impossible to serve overripe green plantains. As you probablyl know they become sweet plantains and the flavor is completely different. I am very happy to hear the food tasted great, but alas we missed our mark. We do hope you will give us another opportunity. Small business depends on people like you to survive. I hope on your next visit you we really impress you not only with our delicious food but also with are able to delight you with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana House Grill also viewed

 
Crystal River, FL
Crystal River, FL
 

Been to Havana House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.