We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manatee Tour and Snorkel trip was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Inn Dive Shop

Plantation Inn Dive Shop
9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429
+1 352-795-5797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 Activities in Crystal River
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Adventure Center at Plantation on Crystal River, where the manatees would need room keys if they where any closer. Endulge yourself with a manatee echo tour or simply rent a boat to visit the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge, home of the largest concentration of manatee in the world. Crystal River is one of the only locations in the world where man and manatee play. We are a true adventure center offering Manatee Tours, Dive Tours, Padi Scuba Lessons, Boat and Kayak Rentals as well as Fishing and Scallop Charters.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Manatee Tour and Snorkel trip was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Plantation Inn was a great location to stay with a short walk to the Manatee snorkel tour boat at the Marina and as short trip to the Manatee refuges once underway. Captain Jeff Sandman was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The staff at the marina and Jeff were great in accommodating my eight year old on the trip both in the boat and in the water. My eight year old told most the passengers on our flight home that he swam with manatees and saw 64 manatees on his trip.

The Plantation Inn is convenient and a good value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the time here at the Adventure Center. I think your son may have liked the gum balls the best. We are lucky enough to have the manatees so close, like I always say "If the manatee where any closer they would need room keys." We do appreciate your business.

Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nadi
1 review
“a good trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

a good holiday with a good place to stay, a place where we can enjoy
and be very relax and also the place there is the best places where u can over around there

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate when our customers take the time to review us on Trip advisor. Thank you for you business.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I did a package special at the Plantation on Crystal River, which included the Manatee Snorkel tour. The day before the tour we stopped by the Dive Shop for information on what to expect. Captain Jeff spent a good amount of time talking with us and answering all of our questions. Right from the start we felt comfortable and experienced a friendly atmosphere.
The next day we had our tour with Captain John. Again, a very friendly and very knowledgeable person. The more he talked about the manatees and the safety measures the more one could tell how much he loved his job.
We visited two sites. The first, Kings Bay, was more than we could have hoped for. A number of manatees kept swimming up to us, allowing us to touch them, even rolling over so we could give them "belly rubs." We spent a lot of time there just taking in and enjoying this up-close-and-personal passive interaction with this wonderful creatures.
There was less activity at the second site, Three Sisters Cove. We saw manatees but they were sleeping within their safety area.
I would highly recommend this tour!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
The hotel package is great. You can stay and play without getting in the car. Glad you had such a great experience, and even happier you shared it with Trip Advisor. Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to share with us. Hope you can come again some day.

Thanks Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
“Manatee tour was absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

By family and I had a perfect experience swimming with the manatees today with Captain John at the Plantation Inn Dive Shop. Not only were the manatees very sociable and entertaining, but our captain made the trip even better by providing us with much information about the creatures and the environment around us. I would go back tomorrow if I could--it was that wonderful. I had wanted to create a good memory for my daughter, son-in-law, grandson and husband--I totally accomplished that goal. The hotel could not have been better--quaint and excellent staff that met all our needs. I would recommend this experience to anyone and all ages.
Ellen from Tampa

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
It is our goal to educate our customers while providing a memorable expereince. We are so glad you where able to share this experience with your family. We do realize there are alot of manatee tour options and we are thankful for your business. Hope you can come back again some day.
Thank Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Two Sites, Professionally Led”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Led by an enthusiastic and knowledgeable diver/naturalist (Capt. Jeff), the manatee tour is very professionally run.

Two standout features: (1) they visit two sites -- the heavily trafficked Crystal River site and also the less crowded King's Bay, where the manatees are often more sociable, thereby increasing the likelihood of "up close and personal" encounters, and (2) they rent 5 mm wetsuits (instead of 3 mm), which provide welcome protection when the temperatures are the coldest (which is when the manatee congregation is the greatest).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We try to make the tour as comfortable for our guest as possible. We feel the 5mm wetsuits make all the difference keeping you warm, the hot chocolate might help as well. We hope you will come back again some day.
Thank Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantation Inn Dive Shop also viewed

 
Crystal River, FL
 

Been to Plantation Inn Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Inn Dive Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.