We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China First Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China First Buffet
618 SE Hwy 19, Crystal River, FL
(352) 795-5445
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 92 restaurants in Crystal River
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Freelton, Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

An average lunch experience. Buffet had many options and they do cook your pick of choices from the buffet. They have sushis which was good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    4
    3
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Good, Trash”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

...I think the cook forgot how to cook, if he ever knew how. Not one item was what it was supposed to be. What was out there when we arrived was old, and tough. What was brought out as "fresh", was completely sad. Poor excuse, this is one of the worst I've seen. The place was as dirty as it could be, and surprised it hasn't been shut down. The Mexican assistant was even trying to mix the hours old food with the new stuff, and you could obviously see that it was a completely different color. Not one thing was palatable, complete waste of money. I am positive you can find someting better, don't waste your time, or risk contracting a food bourne illness.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Used to be Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The last time I went here, I believe I got sick on some cucumbers. The food that was out was not that good and the price had gone up. Have not been there since.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Chineese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Best chineese food in Citrus County i have had
Just like N Y's best take out
Love anything with mixed vegtables

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida gulf
1 review
“I heard its been slipping....but i cant see it getting any worse...nasty...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were told by a contractor working for us to try this place.
The spinch and cheese was hard as a rock and when I told the woman who seemed to be "incharge", she took a large spoon to it, smashed it, literally, and said to me (and I quote) "It gets real hard if it sits here, because of the cheese, if you take the stuff out from the middle it will be a little softer". Now for the record, it was not JUST dry, but literally hard from sitting there.
The fish I would not eat with my dogs mouth.
OK, my wife complained she was hungry and she wanted general tso's chicken, so i figured id try my best to make this work...
I really do not want to sit here and type all day, so long story short, my wife asked if they had lemon water when we walked in, she said yes but brought her water with a lime, when asked, she replied "we dont have lemons here"...IT'S A RESTAURANT, FRIDAY / FISH DAY...NO LEMONS? The egg roll i thought might be ok, it was the only thing on my plate that looked like it might not get me sick...but i took 2 bites almost vomitted and we left...17 bucks for 2 bites of food, and they not only made me pay, but she was rude as if her old food was my fault, soooo, on the way out i saw a family of 7 come in, i tried to warn them, when a young kid from the back kitchen heard me as he was now up front and told me "Now, good, you go, just go, go now!!!"
So we did, had a great meal elsewhere I had wells fargo cancel the transaction...and by the way, after a delicous meal somewhere else, i still tasted the 2 bites i took from that nasty eggroll later that day.
Not only would I not give this place any stars, but you couldnt pay me 17.00 to eat their food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China First Buffet also viewed

 
Crystal River, FL
Crystal River, FL
 

Been to China First Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China First Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.