We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give it 100 stars, I would” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Phoon

Thai Phoon
238 SE US Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34429
352 795 1774
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crystal River, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If I could give it 100 stars, I would”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is my go to restaurant. In fact, I just had lunch there today. I must have eaten there 100 times or more, and have never had a less than delicious meal. The tom yum soup is great, the curries are delicious, the pad woon sen is to die for... Anything tempura fried here is great, from the fried vegetable appetizer, to the red ocean shrimp, to the grouper in chili sauce. We have recommended this restaurant to several people, and they all have told us how much they love it as well. Even our "meat and potato" southern cooking co-workers love this place. They have great lunch specials and I have never had a problem getting in and out during my lunch break.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I always recommend Thai Phoon to out of town visitors. It's located in a little strip mall and there isn't much atmosphere inside, but the food is phenomenal. I've never had a bad visit to Thai Phoon. They have great lunch deals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although difficult to find, this restaurant serves good, reasonable Thai meals. Alcoholic drinks are available and the service is prompt and efficient.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love to go to the Thai Phoon in Crystal River every Sunday after church--and sometimes during the week as well.

We love the food. And we love the personal attention that we receive whenever we are there.

It's a great place to celebrate a special occasion--a birthday or anniversary--with a group

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place has great Thai food with options for everyone. Having become a vegan last year it is nice to see vegan options on the menu. They even offer a veggie version of their Tom ka Gai soup with the entree instead of the spring rolls which contain meat. This was at the suggestion of their wait staff which is always helpful and courteous. The meat, chicken and seafood options are delicious as well. While I feel their prices are a tiny bit steep, the food is always obviously fresh and it is one of the top restaurants in CR without a doubt.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Phoon also viewed

 

Been to Thai Phoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Phoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.