We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Native Vacations, Inc.

Native Vacations, Inc.
2880 N. Seabreeze Pt., Crystal River, FL 34429
866-466-2848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 activities in Crystal River
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Congratulations to all of you who were lucky enough to take advantage of our discounted Awareness Program (Groupon, Living Social, etc.) Please keep in mind that reviews of our services should be based on Customer Service you have received during your visit with us.If you have a concern, please contact us directly via e-mail or phone, so that we may better assist you and your needs. Sharing manatees and the wildlife of our area is a way of life for us, and we want everyone to enjoy what we offer.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we had a fantastic trip with Captain Traci. we found a small group of playful manatees, and watched them up close for more than 2 hours. highly recommend using Native Vacations for any manatee trip you are planning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    15
    7
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional. Rude. Stressful. Avoid.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Some friends and I purchased a GroupOn last year and attempted to schedule our tour multiple times. When we were finally able to schedule the tour, May 18, 2013, we also made hotel reservations, as we live several hours away.

The afternoon of May 17, as we were walking out the door to leave for the hotel, we called to verify the time for our tour the next day. The girl who answered claimed she was going to call us at 1 p.m., because "that's when people go to lunch" to tell us the captain was sick and wouldn't be able to take us on our tour. She asked us to call her back to reschedule.

Our hotel, naturally, had a 24-hour cancellation policy and took quite a bit of convincing to let us reschedule. Unfortunately, no one answered at Native Vacations when we tried to reschedule. When she finally called us back, three days later, she wouldn't reschedule our tour.

We wound up calling GroupOn and asking for a refund. We will schedule a tour with another company and hopefully have an amazing experience with a professional crew.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captraci, Owner at Native Vacations, Inc., responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We called to cancel the tour because we had a boat that was not in working order. We told the customer that we would be happy to re-schedule, which we tried to do. We left a message that we would call after church, which we did. We never said anything about calling after lunch. However. when we did finally speak, after calling back, we did not have the date available that they wanted. Therefore, the customer screamed at us on the phone, told us we were rude, and decided to call Groupon with this lie.

We pride ourselves on customer service and in no way did we disrespect, nor were we rude, in anyway to this customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Manatee Trip (off-season)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My sister and her boyfriend came to town to visit and we chartered a day out for manatee viewing through Native Vacations, Inc. in Crystal River. It was off-season, so we weren't sure what we would see, but it couldn't have ended up better! It was definitely one of the coolest experiences ever! We came across a manatee and her calf in a residential cove and were able to swim with them. They were very friendly and curious and swam right under us in very shallow water. We were able to gently touch them and enjoy their presence for nearly an hour. It was amazing! Captain Bill was very knowledgeable and super fun to be with for the day. After our manatee swim, we headed over to 3 Sisters Spring to swim a while. It was beautiful! You could also rent an underwater camera which was awesome for photos and video in and out of the water. This was an awesome experience and WELL WORTH the price, which is very reasonable anyway. Don't forget to tip Captain Bill because he rocks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“poorly run attraction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

one of the worst , traci was to meet us for a afternoon tour. i had called a day before to check on time and date conformation no one ever got back to me, the day of we were left at dock with 8 other persons who had reservations. we waited for over a hour with calls trying to get in touch with the tour. never no contact. so we all called RIVER ADVENTURS and they took us, saved the day, we had driven over 2 hr to get there, also the bathroom faclities need a up date small and messy,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captraci, Owner at Native Vacations, Inc., responded to this review, May 28, 2013
There was an error in our booking with this customer, and when it was brought to my attention, I called this customer (after the tour I was on). Explained the situation, offered to book another tour, on any date they had available. They were very nice on the phone and stated that they would be happy to re-schedule. Now, there is a bad review on TripAdvisor.

I have always gone out of my way to ensure that all of my customers are happy, to the best of my ability. Of course I apologize for the mistake we made, and tried, diligently to make the customer happy. Unfortunately, no one can make everyone happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Native Vacations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

On vacation first week of April and once again went to our favorite attraction of Crystal River: Manatee touring! We have gone over 6 times to this area to visit with these gentle giants and each time we go with our favorite tour company...Native Vacations. Capt. Smiley and her staff always give great tours and try their utmost to find manatees. Their love of their work and manatees shows clearly in their attitude. Although manatees dont always want to interact with you, just seeing and being in the water with them is an experience to remember.
I cant recommend Native enough with their small tours and personal customer interactions. I especially recommend a private tour if you cna afford it. Other companies carry out large groups and dump them en mass into the water. Large groups with swim fins just cause alot of noise and disruption and stir up sediment driving away manatees and destroying visibility.
For a great experience call Native Vacations!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Vacations, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Native Vacations, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Native Vacations, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Native Vacations, Inc. to your Saves list