We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Florida Used to Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge

Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge
1502 S.E. Kings Bay Dr., Crystal River, FL 34429
352-563-2088
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swimming with manatees is the highlight of a trip to this nature reserve.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What Florida Used to Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The real Florida. Wonderful volunteer guides in family friendly environment that takes you back to the Florida of years past.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spring at Crystal River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The animals and birds were excellent We loved the underwater view of the fish. My grandson put it better that I could "Wow this is spectacular"

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful salt marshes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Take the time to drive through the salt marshes to the point. The views are so expansive and there are numerous opportunities to park and view the area on raised boardwalks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very helpful and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just stopped by to find out what we could do whilst in Crystal River, we obviously said we wanted to see some Manatees. She explained all about them, where they could be seen, when to see them and have us information on the tours we could do. I recommend making this your first stop if new to Crystal River as it will help you make the most of your stay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is easy to get to. Beautiful and well taken care of. We were asked to watch an informational video before we went kayaking and it made our trip so much more enjoyable. We spent 2 hours and wish we had taken a lunch and went for 4 hours instead.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.