We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge

Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge
1502 S.E. Kings Bay Dr., Crystal River, FL 34429
352-563-2088
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Swimming, Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Swimming with manatees is the highlight of a trip to this nature reserve.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
548 reviews 548 reviews
220 attraction reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Crystal River is such a lovely spot. Stop for a visit and see what the real FL is. We enjoyed some men building a boat as they did at the time of the Cival War. They were very friendly and eager to explain just what they were doing. My husband, a retired engineer, was really in his glory at this stop. We enjoyed the park and what it had to offer for any nature lover. If you go, do take the boat ride. The Capt. was so knowledgable about the area and the wild life. It was one of the nicest boat tours we've ever taken. Allow yourself several hours to see this park. Take your time, enjoy the sites, and leave a more relaxed person. I would advise that you go early in the day though, to avoid the hot afternoon temps and rain.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    28
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

was great place for the price the all volunteer staff was very knowledgeable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Kayaking paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went out with Aardvark's on a kayak tour last year. The water was so clear, we could see all the vegetation and sea life, including fish and stingrays swimming by our kayaks. Islands filled with breeding pelicans and cormorants, and even a few sea turtles. Not a lot of motor boat traffic, either!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visit the Folks in the Know!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This picture is from the Homosassa Wildlife Park.....no gators at the Refuge.......but plenty of information and knowledgeable folks to share it.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for wildlife but disappointing for manatees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We saw bald eagle, tons of other shore birds, a river otter, and manatees, but the best manatee viewing we had was from the boat rather than from swimming with them. The water was too murky to be able to see them unless they were right in your face!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.