We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Crystal River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Crystal River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 NE 5th Street, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Huge, very clean rooms, very personable service, big and tasty breakfast, an overall great overnight stay before snorkeling with the manatee. They even allowed us to check out late so we can take a hot shower after the chilly snorkel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to offer you our services. We make sure our guests are fed before they depart for early manatee tours and are freshened up for their onward trip. Kindly keep us posted for your future tours to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    126
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
214
218
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for the night so we could get up early and go snorkeling with the manatees. Room was great and so was the service. There was a large group of kids staying over night so we ran into them for the morning breakfast. The breakfast lady kept them in line nicely and kept food out for everyone.
The bed was awesome but so was the peacefulness of the area. Great night sleep!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are glad to offer you the peaceful environment and a remarkable service. We make sure that all of our guests are attended individually so the satisfaction is not compromised. Hope your manatee snorkeling tour was fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here in December, checked out Christmas morning. Had a great stay. Hotel is cleanest I have seen in ages, staff are extremely friendly and helpful, even for our 3am check in ( due to flight delays). Breakfast is as good as you could buy for 20 bucks, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy , a oancake making machine, as well as a full range of continental favorites. Could not have had a better stay. Will be back for sure. So convenient for hunter spring, swimming with manatees and crystal lodge dove center.

Room Tip: If you had a higher grade than excellent for cleanliness, I would give it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the night before going on a manatee excursion. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. He offered info on what to expect for the manatee trip and the hotel accommodated our early breakfast time prior to the tour even though their usual breakfast hours started later. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We always make sure that all our guests are given the best service and assistance so they can enjoy their manatee snorkeling tours and share good memories. We are looking forward to seeing you soon for your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was my first time down in Florida. I came with a group of students from Suffolk University on a leadership trip to swim with the manatees. We stayed for 3 days and two nights. We had to wear wet suits to go in the water and we would come back sweaty and hungry. This place had everything ready for us: the rooms, shower, beds. The hotel took very good care of us. The employees were kind and funny. The front desk had fresh cookies every time :) If I ever go back I will definitely stay there again. Trust me you will feel comfortable and amazing here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are glad that we made your excursion memorable. Please keep us informed about your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We drove 15 hours to come see the manatees and upon arrival to the hotel we were plesantly welcomed by Imran, whom was extremely friendly, helpful with directions, and advice on local food spots to eat at. We woke up to a wonderful breakfast and a lovely lady named Mary, she was very personable, caring, and made wonderful food!
The next time we come to see the manatees we will definitely stay at this hotel again. Could not have been any happier with the service, food, cleanliness, or ammenities.
Thank you for making our stay wonderful!!!+

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are happy to hear that your long drive was compensated with a warm welcome. Our team takes pride in welcoming our guests and making their stay comfortable. It was an honor to have you around and we hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We did a trip from Key West to Crystal River stopping along the way. By far this was the best hotel we stayed at on this trip. Clean, updated, friendly staff, and excellent location if you are coming to visit the manatees. The hotel even called me a few days after our stay to see if we enjoyed our stay. I have never had a hotel do this and it shows their commitment to quality service. Breakfast was very good and you could tell the staff took pride in their hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We thank you for acknowledging our facility and services. Our guests are our top priority and we work hard to provide a comfortable stay to each one of our guests. We hope your manatee encounter trip was fun and wish to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crystal River

Address: 1203 NE 5th Street, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crystal River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal River s Newest Hotel for Business, Leisure and Eco-Travelers Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Crystal River! Our modern, green friendly and smoke free hotel is located in the charming city of Crystal River, FL. Near the intersection of Hwy 19 and Hwy 44, the hotel is located East of Inverness, FL, North of Tampa, FL and West of Orlando, FL.Situated in Citrus County, Crystal River is a nature lover's dream and best known for having the world's highest concentration of manatees visiting the area's spring fed waters. The hotel is close to the Nature Coast s beautiful Eco-attractions that offer canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking or trail riding all available at Crystal River Preserve State Park. Visitors can take advantage of swimming, snorkeling or diving with manatees in Kings Springs or relaxing on Ft. Island Gulf Beach. The hotel is minutes from Progress Energy Nuclear Power Plant, Seven Rivers Regional Medical Center, Citrus Memorial Hospital and Simon Crystal River Mall. Enjoy premium amenities during your stay with us. Families will enjoy our spacious double king guest rooms with their choice of color theme. Business travelers can utilize our Crystal Meeting Room equipped with audio/visual equipment, accommodating up to 66 people. Be sure to check Crystal River, FL off of your list of the 1000 Places To See Before You Die. Our staff will make you feel so special, you won t want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River Hotel Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.