We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Crystal River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Crystal River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 NE 5th Street, Crystal River, FL 34429   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pensacola, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We made last minute travel plans to visit Homossassa Springs and Weeki-Wachee State Park and chose to stay at this very nice HI Express. The hotel is conveniently located just a few miles from Homosassa Springs and about 40 minutes from Weeki-Wachee State Park. The front desk staff were extremely nice and helpful and even remembered our names with a fully booked hotel. The hotel and room were extremely clean. We were impressed with the size of the rooms, the hot breakfast bar, and the size of the swimming pool (even though we did not swim). This is the first time we've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and will definitely be trying out other properties in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    108
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
198
198
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

It was an excellent experience from start to finish. The room and hotel are modern and super clean. Breakfast was fantastic! They were very sweet to the young children I traveled with. Staff was kind and told me I could go to my AM manatee tour with Captain Gene and keep the room until after noon so everyone could shower before the drive back to Orlando. The pool is heated and we were able to enjoy it until 10 pm. Overall it was perfect. I am looking forward to another trip to HIE next month!
Check out Captain Gene's Swim with Manatees tour. Great for the entire family of all ages to enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you ever need to stay in this area, you will find few good choices. At least this property is a good choice should you need a hotel in this area. The property is new and fresh with all the latest amenities, 32" flat screens, micro/fridge etc. The work area is a little small and needs more outlets and the chair is adequate, but not as good as others for working in the room. It has a SMALL outdoor pool which was HEATED. Initially our room was miss-assigned until they corrected it to King/king the next day. The breakfast is good, but doesn’t have fresh waffles and choices found in other hotels. SLOW elevator. No smoking hotel. Adequate wireless, although it bogged down at times. The need to always log in every time you turn on the computer is a hassle. Good beds with cheap lumpy pillows. A little pricey for a HIE in little Ol’ Crystal River.. However, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Another exceptional experience. Staff is friendly, courteous and professional. Place is clean, quiet and very comfortable. What more do you need.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had booked a day of swimming with the Manatees at the last minute but needed a place to stay to make the early schedule. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and accommodating. They set us up with the special River Ventures discount program, got us settled in quickly and had everything ready for the early excursion as well as a late checkout after the return. The rooms were large, comfortable and well furnished.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel as our overnight stop before going on a manatee sightseeing trip. I booked this hotel on the strength of its reputation as part of the Intercontinental Hotel Group which is usually reliable. Check-in was swift and courteous (thank you Eric). Hallways were clean and new - in fact the whole hotel seems new.

The room was a clean and comfortable suite with two bedrooms, one with a king bed the other a queen. It had a microwave, fridge and cupboards for storage. Wi-Fi was free. The hotel has a pay per use washing machine and drier. A hot breakfast is included (although we didn`t use it). Parking is free. Rooms have their own thermostat(s). This hotel is rated EXCELLENT FOR ITS CLASS because it is - from staff to amenities. It is NOT a boutique hotel, nor an Intercontinental five star.

We really benefitted from being part of the hotels priority club which can give you extended check-outs and free room upgrades.

The hotel was five minutes away from Citrus Avenue where we went manatee hunting.

On check out, the hotel manager was friendly and engaging.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

No problems here! Room was very clean, modern and fresh. Great price... Don't take chances elsewhere. Breakfast was awesome and included. Perfect location in the Crystal River area. Stay here and you will agree best room ever!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crystal River

Address: 1203 NE 5th Street, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crystal River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal River s Newest Hotel for Business, Leisure and Eco-Travelers Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Crystal River! Our modern, green friendly and smoke free hotel is located in the charming city of Crystal River, FL. Near the intersection of Hwy 19 and Hwy 44, the hotel is located East of Inverness, FL, North of Tampa, FL and West of Orlando, FL.Situated in Citrus County, Crystal River is a nature lover's dream and best known for having the world's highest concentration of manatees visiting the area's spring fed waters. The hotel is close to the Nature Coast s beautiful Eco-attractions that offer canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking or trail riding all available at Crystal River Preserve State Park. Visitors can take advantage of swimming, snorkeling or diving with manatees in Kings Springs or relaxing on Ft. Island Gulf Beach. The hotel is minutes from Progress Energy Nuclear Power Plant, Seven Rivers Regional Medical Center, Citrus Memorial Hospital and Simon Crystal River Mall. Enjoy premium amenities during your stay with us. Families will enjoy our spacious double king guest rooms with their choice of color theme. Business travelers can utilize our Crystal Meeting Room equipped with audio/visual equipment, accommodating up to 66 people. Be sure to check Crystal River, FL off of your list of the 1000 Places To See Before You Die. Our staff will make you feel so special, you won t want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River Hotel Crystal River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.