We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Grill

South Beach Grill
45 Cubbedge Road, Crescent Beach, FL 32080
+1 904-471-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Casual oceanfront family restaurant featuring fresh local seafood.
st. augustine, fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Will return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We ordered oysters (local), shrimp, and crab cakes. They were all delicious! The corn bread is yummy too. The upstairs atmosphere was good. Quiet and over looking the beach. We will certainly return!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    149
    61
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere, but average seafood fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

With so few restaurants in the area with an actual beach view, we had been wanting to try this out for some time. We were seated outside with a nice view of the beach/ocean. Our server was courteous and prompt. We started off with a cup of their Roasted Corn & Blue Crab Chowder. Very very rich and tasty, I think if I had opted for a bowl, it would of been my whole meal. Definitely worth ordering again. For dinner, my wife ordered their Fried Crab Cake Dinner, and I ordered their Fried Shrimp Dinner. The crab cakes were nothing special and she ended up not even finishing them. The dinner came with sides of Datyl Cornbread, French Fries, and Coleslaw. Brought the cornbread home for later, but the french fries and coleslaw were delicious. For my own dinner, I very much enjoyed the fried shrimp. The were crispy, but not overcooked, and very flavorful and fresh tasting.

Would we go back for the food? Only if we were close by. Would we go back to just hang out, have a drink, enjoy the view? Definitely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“South Beach Grill had excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Enjoyed a lunch with friends we hadn's seen for a 15 years or so. Shrimp were luscious. Beer was very cold. But the conversation was outstanding! I have eaten at this establishment many times, and the quality is consistent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The outside is not very impressive, in fact had it not been for TripAdvisor I never would have thought abut coming to this place. Even as we entered the front door, I was a little hesitant.

The host let me know that we had just missed the rush, it was about 12:45pm on a Friday. We pulled up a seat at the bar but there was plenty of seating inside and out.

When I got the menu, I had already decided what I wanted before I noticed the daily fresh fish specials and the 3 choices in the way you could have your fish prepared. I changed my mind immediately!

My husband and I split a 1 pound peel and eat shrimp. The were so delicious I could have literally eaten an entire pound on my own. For my lunch entire (for $13!!) I ordered the mahi-mahi with the paprika and dill preparation- the waitress let me know this was the closest to blackened on the menu. WOW. The fish was fresh, cooked perfectly and the seasoning was so unique and out of this world!. I was seriously surprised by how good the fish was. Even the side items that came with the fish, green beans, rice and a garbanzo beans "salad", were nothing short of amazing. I am serious, each of those side items were perfectly cooked and seasoned.

My husband knew I must be enjoying it when I was almost entirely done with my plate and had not yet offered him a taste.


On our way out (at 1:45pm) there was a wait of about 5-10 people. Regardless, this place would be worth the wait for me. Great find!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went for breakfast the Saturday after Hurricane Sandy blew through. The location is right on the beach, and the decor is beachy rustic. Menu choices were extensive and well priced. I highly recommend the macadamia nut banana pancakes - the pancakes are the size of dinner plates, and I could barely finish even one of the order of three. In the aftermath of the storm, the power went out at least 4 times during our visit, and the staff didn't miss a beat. Our waitress was outstanding, really hustling to make sure everyone was happy. We will go back and often.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Grill also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to South Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.