We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seafood Shack

Seafood Shack
4110 127th Street West, Cortez, FL 34215
+1 941-794-1235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 11 Restaurants in Cortez
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: The Seafood Shack Marina, Bar & Grill has been a Cortez landmark since 1971. Accessible by both land and sea, The Seafood Shack has a 100-slip marina, a bar & grill with an outdoor waterfront patio and a spacious second floor event space to hold up to 500 guests. Come for the food and stay for the view. Visit us today!
Apollo Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs some help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice view of the Marina, the staff is nice, and the food is good. The restaurant itself is very outdated and dark, very old style.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    73
    53
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Now here was some good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The name is deceiving. It is more of a fine dining place. I felt kind of underdressed in my shorts, hoodie, and hat(we had just come off the beach). When we arrived it was not crowded at all which was surprising because every place is packed at dinner time around AMI. Mostly older diners although families started showing up later. We had a group of 4 adults and 5 children. Food was excellent!! Loved the crab cakes!! I've noticed others complained about the outdated decor but that didn't bother us. We came to eat! The place was clean and you could look out the many windows at the beautiful boats. Would definitely return!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Funny tasting shrimp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside downstairs which was very nice. Dolphins swam by to add to the atmosphere. But.....we both had not had Hush Puppies before and we told our waiter, so we shared some as a starter. Strange things. What a pity the waiter didnt tell us we would get some on our entree. We both had fried shrimp....yuk. They had a very strange taste, sort of chloride!
We wont be going back, despite the dolphin show!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food is decent. The location is on the intercoastal at the mouth of the Cortez Bridge and you can eat either indoors or out on the deck over the water. The restaurant closes at 9 and is rarely busy after 8:30.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...SO great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went here with my Dad, and we weren't sure what it would be like. Well, omg. It's FANTASTIC. The service there is SO quick and friendly, almost like they treat you as though they've known you forever and you're one of their regulars. The food was SO good, you must try the fish spread if you like fish. The Peel N Eat shrimp is really inexpensive for the area, and delicious! The only thing is that the hush puppies weren't as good as sometimes other places are. So I'd just go with fries. I LOVED sitting inside, you could see right out at the docks and the water. (Pelicans are all over, it's so fun.) And outside you can eat right near the boats, and even have your dog with you. Definitely a place you might not hear enough about in local pamphlets and advertising spots, but you really should check it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Shack also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.