We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Convenient, and Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 North University Dr, Coral Springs, FL 33065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Coral Springs
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Convenient, and Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pleasant - the staff - especially the desk clerk was friendly, very accomodating, helpfull, upbeat, well informed of the area.

Convenient - If you need to be in the area of coral springs or North Fort Lauderdale, then the location is very accomodating. Several restaurants close by (several within walking distance) such as a Denny's, an italian eatery, an organic burger shop, and a starbucks. The hotel is close to major roads and conveniently off of a main street hidden by trees, so it seems that you are further off of the road than you really are.

Good Value - For an older hotel property, they have managed to maintain it above average for the price point in an area that could ask for a lot more. This is not a luxery hotel and has some minor flaws, but is clean with updated rooms, good hotel continental breakfast. The beds were comfortable, a/c was fine, the water was hot on demand, and the fridge and microwave made it convenient with kids to keep drinks and snacks.

We happened to stay on a Friday night, so there was a moderate amount of noise around the hotel which was bothersome, but it all seemed to stop at around midnight. I don't know if that was a coincidence, or the hotel intervened. The only ice machine was on the bottom floor, The elevator was slow, but other than those minor issues - we had a nice stay. The kids and I visited the pool which was fun for them. It was shaded with standard pool furniture.

Room Tip: A lower floor would mean not having to use the slow elevator as much and a room on the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    33
    12
    14
See reviews for
67
46
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On all my visits the rooms have been clean, showers have worked fine, air conditioning and TV have worked fine. The breakfast has been fine no problems at all and the service for breakfast or the front desk has been super. I think "Josh" at the front desk has always been friendly and his customer service skills have been great. The last visit on June 10, 2013 was the only time that we encountered any noise in a room and it was loud conversation with guest on his phone.

We will continue to stay there as long as the property maintains current levels of service, cleanliness, value and room/sleep quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As long as you dont mind being 20 minutes from the beach, this is a nice quiet locale. It is nestled amongst trees and quiet. There is a Dennys next door but you wouldnt notice it unless you looked for it. It also has a spa, nail salon, organic burgers, pizza, wine and cheese, and a Starbucks all close by (within walking distance). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was lovely, new and had a vanity at the sink for toiletries. Daily front desk clerk was very kind and helpful. One suggestion would be to have a computer available in the lobby for guests to print off their boarding passes. I have never been in a hotel where I had to go to the main desk to log in and print my pass. The computer would be viewed by desk clerk and used only for printing passes. But I flew to Florida and did not bring a printer along. Also takes too long for the free night or special rate to kick in. I will be there 8 nights or more and was there 5 in March and got no special discount for all that time. My Best Western has already given me three free nights and $50. for future stays. Also, rooms were cleaned after 5 PM. That is late. Hire another maid. The one I had was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As a budget hotel, it would get five stars. Compared all hotels, barely average. This is our go-to hotel when we visit family in the area. Service is excellent. We feel welcome, and everyone at the desk is helpful.
Location is excellent. We choose to take a cab or car booked at the airport and walk everywhere. That is not significantly more expensive than renting a car. The hotel is at one end of what used to be an upscale shopping strip but which now has all too many vacant store fronts. The mall has several good restaurants. A refrigerator and microwave in the room means that one does not have to be dependent on restaurants. A grocery store at the opposite end of the mall is convenient.
Although the rooms are clean, the furniture shows signs of wear and tear. For example, the sofa cushions in our room were reupholstered in a vinyl, which almost matches the fabric. Our top sheet was somewhat frayed. None of this affects our comfort, but it detracts from eye appeal. It looks as though the hotel, like the mall in which it is located, is struggling against a sagging economy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South

Address: 3100 North University Dr, Coral Springs, FL 33065
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Coral Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn University Drive South Hotel Coral Springs
La Quinta Coral Springs
Coral Springs La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites University Drive South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.