We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious french toast...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Fashion

Chocolate Fashion
248 Andalusia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5902
305-461-3200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 276 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious french toast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently had breakfast at this restaurant because a friend recommended it. I was surprised to see that the place was packed despite being a tuesday morning.. I ordered the brioche french toast which was very very good and fresh. The place is small and the parking a bit complicated since it is in coral gables but it is worth the wait, specially on weekends mornings which I assume get pretty busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like Chocolate you will love Chocolate Fashion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's more than a bakery but you must go for the baked goods. The flourless chocolate cookie is amazing. The croissants are very good. Only in Paris could you find a better almond croissants. Try them for brunch on Saturday or Sunday.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint place to indulge on sweets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed our visit, wish we could have tested more of the delicious looking treats,
We were there on a Monday, off hours, so no problem getting a seat. The servers were all very friendly. I enjoyed an iced latte, my daughter a large chocolate milk. The croissant was large and flaky, the blueberry scone moist and tasty. We each had an egg on the side. Will definitely visit again during our stay in CG.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The variety of breads, pastries, cakes is great. The breakfast menu is delicious - although the price and size of the dishes run in opposite directions. The problem is the place is always packed, and the service is not the best, I feel like a number, not a customer. In addition, the salon is a bit small for the number of tables accommodated, not comfortable. But the worst thing is the bathroom, which has a door (sealed, of course) that gives directly to the kitchen - a bit unhygienic in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Coffee and Croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed two week day breakfast visits to this little bakery during a stay in Coral Gables. A light breakfast of coffee and a croissant was perfect on my first visit. The second morning I ordered cafe con leche and an omelette. Coffee was good, but omelette, not so much. I suspect my dissatisfaction was due to expectations that all omelettes have cheese and since this one didn't, it tasted bland. Did not like the flat toasted bread served with the omelette either. Apparently, croissants arent bread according to the slightly snarky server when asked if I wanted bread. I should have stuck to croissants, plain with butter, merci beaucoup! In spite of the smarminess, the service was efficient. Better from the pleasant waitress on my first visit. CF looks like a French bakery, but in Miami Spanish is often the first language. So this little place is more of a multi cultural experience. I did hear one person ordering in French, but otherwise orders are taken in Spanish or English. As mentioned in other reviews the venue is small. Outdoor seating is on a narrow sidewalk across from a parking garage. Indoor seating is at small tables with chairs or banquettes. Next time, maybe a quiche with salad or a pastry or croissant with coffee minus the snark?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Fashion also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Chocolate Fashion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Fashion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.