We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Fashion

Chocolate Fashion
248 Andalusia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5902
305-461-3200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very good breakfast, this place is always very crowded. They also have very good pastries and coffee. If you go on Sunday you have to go early.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    35
    17
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I drive pretty far for this so worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First of all let me start by saying the previous reviewer is obviously a pretentious snob who has not idea what french bakery is all about. I am a parisian who has lived in florida for a while. If his focus was on a snobby eatery with fancy seating then he must realize you never get that at a patisserie/bakery. This place is all about food not ambiance. I was delighted when I found this place last year. It is the real deal. Their café au lait and pastries are superb and people are always so friendly and nice. For christmas they make all my favorites which is nice because for years I made my own buche de Noel, but if I choose not to they have fantastic selections. We live an hour away and I love coming here for yummy pastries and more. The other reviewer is right I also would weigh a ton if I lived closer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Parisian-like? MENTIR!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had to create an account just to disprove the reviews on here and on Yelp.

My girlfriend and I were more than excited to go to this place for brunch after reading all the amazing reviews. We arrived and found a table quickly, next to the entrance. A little awkward but we could have not cared less because we were ready for an orgasmic and tantalizing brunch!

Boy, we were wrong. What parts of Paris have all these reviewers been to? The banlieue's?!? This place is NOT CHIC by any definition.

Anyway, lets start:

We began by ordering honey dew tea! Yummm.... Oh, what's that? They don't serve it anymore yet it's still on the menu? DOH!
Please, update your menu Mr. C. Fashion, you don't want the patrons' experience starting off with a "Sorry, we don't serve that anymore." And while you're at it, you might want to consider an update to your menu presentation. I felt as if I were ordering from Sergio's (disclaimer: Sergio's is amazing, but this is not the presentation we were expecting from the "Paris in Coral Gables" locale. We don't expect elaborate menus but at least not something that is laminated, dirty, and outdated.) Mr. C. Fashion, we started off on the wrong foot, smh.

Onward! The latte my girlfriend ordered was mediocre at best but we were still anxious to feast on our brunch prior to passing full on judgement.

Brunch ordered: Eggs Florentine for me and Crab Cake Benedict for her, sounds mouth watering, no? It did to us when we were ordering and reading all the "awesome" reviews.

::le sigh:: LE WRONG!

Both dishes were mediocre... bland and chewy. The hollandaise did not make things any better or any worse, thankfully! The side order of bacon we ordered apparently came from the Denny's on Miracle Mile so basically, nothing special. At this point we were both clearly disappointed and just wanted to get out. We paid our bill while we were being hovered around by the waiters waiting for us to leave. Were people waiting to sit? Yes. Were there other open tables? Yes. So why wait around your clients? Could they sense our dissatisfaction and a scathing online review coming on?!

We did NOT have any of a pastries (perhaps they redeem themselves in this area), but why try? We had been disillusioned from the beginning, why be disillusioned again.

This place is not worth any drive, or walk, to get to. Mr. C. Fashion, you need an aesthetic make over to your restaurant and an update to your menu, service, and food. Have your people call my people when you've changed and we'll give this another try.

Au revoir!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I'd weigh a ton!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If we lived in Coral Gables, I'd weigh a ton from the pastries in this shop. The store/restaurant is a feast for the eyes. There is a very European feel to the place, which makes it feel very chic. The service is fantastic, and everything I've had from there is as good as it looks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pastry to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went for brunch. Decent service; they were very crowded and very busy. We ate eggs benedict (with salmon and with crab cakes). The breakfast was okay, but nothing special. However, we decided to split a couple of pastries and they were amazing. So my suggestion is to go for the pastry and maybe skip the other dishes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Fashion also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL

Been to Chocolate Fashion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Fashion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.