We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great rooms and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great rooms and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and 6 year old son and it was fabulous. We had a terrace suite, the room was fabulous, big and spacious, great view of the pool. The recent refurbishment is great. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby on the Miracle Mile. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    245
    67
    36
    14
See reviews for
138
164
40
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Wonderful hotel. Peaceful. Staff accommodating. I had a problem with the internet service and they removed the charge from my bill. We paid for parking one night. The remainder of our stay we parked on the street at the metered parking. We were gone during the say so we didn't have to pay for metered parking at that time. Lots of good restaurants nearby. If you are family with the area it is in a good location- short driving distance to most attractions. Also loved the balcony. Nice place sit and have your morning cup of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We were able to get a rate of 55 dollars on priceline and wow were we pleased! It is a beautifu hotel and the staff are all so nice and helpful. The room was huge and the bed was very comfy. It was nice and quiet and the black out curtains made our room like a tomb. I slept so good each night. Amazing location. You can walk to Miracle Mile. We ate at Houstons twice YUMMY and Pascals on Ponce wow. We saved so much money on our room we splurged on some great meals!!!!! There is a fantastic Coffee house right around the corner that has free wi-fi that we visited each morning with our laptops to check emails. We even ate by the pool one afternoon and the food was quite good. Parking was a little bit of a pain but hey only because we didn't want to pay for valet parking so we fed the meters alot. Still a GREAT bargin and a WONDERFUL stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Hyatt's best features aren't found within this somewhat outdated, but nonetheless clean, hotel. What it lacks in ammenities is made up for by its location in downtown Coral Gables (just two blocks north of the Miracle Mile and within walking distance of Morton's and even Barnes and Noble) and its inexpensive price.

The hotel's location suited us especially well, as its close to nearly everything and in a very safe area that we traversed by foot at night -- 45 minutes to Biscayne National Park in Homestead; 10 minutes to Coconut Grove; 10 minutes to downtown Miami; less than 10 minutes to MIA; 15 minutes to either Key Biscayne or Miami Beach (without traffic). Also, there are two Publix grocery stores within a mile of the hotel.

If your willing to feed the meters at the spaces in front of the hotel, which are always available, parking can be had much more cheaply than the valet price. It's also worth noting that metered parking is free on weekends and between 10pm and 9am on weekdays. Having arrived Thursday evening and left Sunday, we were out and about most of the day and probably spent no more than three dollars on parking.

The staff was polite and went out of their way to see whether they could help us with anything. Eduardo, the concierge, absolutely loved his job -- and provided us with directions and good suggestions for dinner in the immediate area and in Miami Beach.

The room was clean, spacious, well equipped and was more modern and becoming of a 4 star hotel than the rest of the property. This is not to say that the property wasn't nice. It was perfectly fine, but it and the 5th floor pool appeared as if they had not been updated or remodeled in twenty or twenty five years.

Having said that, the hotel's courteous staff, remodeled rooms, central and safe location and pricepoint (at less than 100 dollars per night) made it a good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I'm not too sure exactly when this hotel was built, but it must be new OR have had a recent renovation. To me, the most important thing about a hotel is its condition. That everything be clean, free of wear, dings, scuffs, dirt, smells, and mess. That it also be in a nice location, with good amenities. This Hyatt delivers on all levels. My standard room on the 12th floor was absolutely huge. It had two closets, a nice sized bathroom with marble tile, and a large sofa. From this hotel, it is very easy to walk to local offices, restaurants, and parks. The staff were superb, and the lobby and other areas were all very nice. For the price I paid through Hotwire, it was a GREAT value, but even at $190/night, this place is great. I'm picky about hotels, and would recommend this Hyatt. As a weary business traveler, this was a welcome refuge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I scored an amazing deal on Priceline for this hotel. Only $60 a night. I was stunned at the beauty of our room. The linens, furniture, bathroom were so elegant. Our room was also huge with a very comfortable king bed.
My only negative comment would be the bottom sheet on the bed was too short, leaving our feet on the bare mattress. I expect better in such a classy hotel. However this was corrected on our second night without us mentioning the problem to housekeeping.
We passed on paid parking and just parked on the street. It was free after 10 p.m. until 9 a.m. It is very close to the Miracle Mile, which offers great dining.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The front desk put us in a room right next to the pool (with a porch) upon request, even tho it was a Hotwire booking ($92 incl. tax). Awesome room for the money. Parking was a breeze and free outside the hotel on Sunday. Meters otherwise. The only blip we had was a wakeup call at 5:20am. I told the front desk about this, and she blamed it on the automated system. She did, however, ask if she could do anything for me to make up for it. I wasn't sure what to ask for, so I said no. Overall, excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the “Beverly Hills of Miami”, Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning fine-dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.