We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but staff was terrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but staff was terrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I just wrote a glowing review for the Hyatt Place near the the Ft. Lauderdale airport because of the exceptional staff...but the exact opposite is true of this Hyatt. First the hotel facility is very nice, but that is where the positive information stops. We arrived at the hotel fairly late and the desk staff acted as if waiting on us was an inconvenience. When we asked about parking, it was very (very) expensive and unhandy to get to from the check-in desk. We parked our own car, then couldn't find the elevator back to the lobby. There was a hotel valet guy in the parking lot (under the hotel) and when we asked him where we could find the elevator, he said he didn't know! He ended up looking where he though "he remembered" seeing it...and it was...really? We asked the desk staff if there was a hot tub and/or pool available and were told there was, but because it was after 10:00, it was closed. Both the hot tub and pool are outdoors, but well lit, and having them closed made no sense. ( We used the spa anyway, and clearly bothered no one in doing so.) If they were concerned about noise, then post signs to remind people to be quiet, but it is just as easy to be loud in a hall or elevator, so not sure why they have the rule regarding the pool area. The staff was much more interested in talking to each other than helping us in any way...so they get an F from me.

Room Tip: The rooms that open out on the pool area are very nice. They have a small patio area for each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    262
    77
    40
    14
See reviews for
147
177
43
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is not located in Downtown Miami, but the options you get around the hotel for food is amazing. In terms of the hotel, the staff is super nice and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. Although this property seems to be quite old, but the decor and ambiance is quite pleasing. The front staff made by day by upgrading to the suite room and by recommending amazing vegetarian options (Coral Gabbles has a lot) around the area. There are a lot of food options and the places remain open till midnight. I would recommend this hotel for a day or two.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for business and was a little underwhelmed. The building is nice, and the location in Coral Gables is excellent. Staff were friendly - the room spacious - the food was pretty good. But it lacks identity and the rooms though perfectly fine, were nothing special to be frank. If the room rate had been lower I would have been much happier but at around $250-300 a night in December I expected more. One small but serious niggle was the Wifi - it was chronic and at times essentially unusable. In short, if you can get a good deal then go for it - there is nothing essentially wrong with the place and the staff were very nice - but at this price point no.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 2 nights, Dec. 3 & 4, 2014 for a conference. The staff is very professional, helpful and friendly, from the car valet, to the front desk staff and the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant and bar. The hotel is not your typical architecture, very warm. The room was spacious and well appointed. The only downside is that the room is not set up for business work. The desk does not have power outlets or a proper desk chair or lamp.

The room had a nice view of the pool.

Room Tip: The higher levels have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Martino in Rio, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is my second review and I stay frequently at this hotel because I like the position, Coral Gables etc... I really think they should improve a little! Rooms sometimes have a musty smell coming from a/c or carpet! Not nice. Gym must be updated! Really! I travel many places and Hyatt hotels have beautiful gyms! This one looks like a 70' era one! Breakfast is good but a bit expensive! Hope to be back and see some little changes...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in a group of over 300 staying at the Hyatt Coral Gables one night pre-cruise. The room was fine, but the hotel was not prepared for the large short term influx. The service for dinner in the bar was very poor and the food did not come out as ordered. They did a decent job of a buffet breakfast, but they encouraged the "Mob" to check out early and sit in the lobby for hours waiting for the busses.

This was a very expensive cruise and I had higher expectations.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really loved this place. The hotel is beautiful ! Very charming and quiet . The rooms are very spacious. We had one with a balcony and a view on Miami's skyline . Staff is wonderful. The front desk staff was just so professional and helpful . Loved the fitness room and the beautiful pool . The food was good very reasonably priced. The location is great, walking distance from the Miracle MIle . Hotel provides Valet parking but we choose to self park instead for just about $20 . Overall a great hotel and excellent service !

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.