We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Coral Gables” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Very good hotel in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at HRCG for 5 nights. At check in the room we had booked was unavailable so we were upgraded to a suite. Although the hotel is not very new it is very well maintained. The pool at the fifth floor is excellent. Area were the hotel is located is very nice. Miracle Mile at the corner for dining and entertainment. Close to Marlins Stadium and a short drive to Miami Beach, Dolphin Mall etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    248
    68
    36
    13
See reviews for
139
168
41
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I’ve stayed in several hotel properties in the Miami area and decided to try the Hyatt since it was quite close to the area I was visiting. I really wanted to love this hotel and enjoy the experience but there were a few negatives.

For the positives:

• The Hyatt is a beautiful hotel in a very convenient location. There are a lot of wonderful restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.
• The staff is amazing – very customer-oriented, friendly and helpful. In particular, Ingrid and Andrew at the front desk were extremely helpful. They both took a genuine interest in helping i.e. they didn’t just answer the question but offered lots of suggestions or assistance.
• The hotel is very quiet. I heard very little noise in the hallways, even when housekeeping was making their rounds.
• A beautiful pool area that was never busy during my stay. In fact, during the early evening, I was surprised that there weren’t any guests using it! It was so peaceful with lots of shaded areas if you preferred to be out of the intense sun. There is a pool bar but that is only open on the weekends.
• Great selection of toiletries in the room plus an extensive list of complimentary items that you could call and request.
• Very spacious room (I had a petite suite).
• The AC was quite effective – this is often a pet-peeve of mine - at all price points. I never understand why hotels, even higher end properties, seem to be cheap with AC. Not this Hyatt which is great in the heat and humidity of Miami in August! I never had any issue with getting and keeping the room to the temperature I wanted.
• I need a fridge which the front desk arranged to have delivered. I was initially told there would be a $25 per day charge but they did not end up billing my account.

For the negatives:

• There is an additional charge for internet service. Not only is there a charge but it is $10/day PER DEVICE! I’m not happy having to pay for the internet but I think a per device fee is over the top. That said, they did end up removing the charges when I checked out even though I did not say anything about the cost. The internet quality was excellent.
• While it is a large TV, there is no HD so reception wasn’t very good. I wasn’t there to watch TV but I found it distracting and turned the set off. I was very surprised that HD isn’t a standard amenity in this level of hotel.
• The parking garage could use some additional signage to be clearer as to where you could park vs. valet parking as well as the towers parking. I was also surprised at how dim some of the garage was in the evening when walking back and forth from my car. No security in the garage. Spaces are tight and those close to the elevator were usually full (particularly when a guest decides to take up 2 spaces rather than backing out and re-parking and taking just 1 space).
• While the suite was spacious it was drab – almost one entire wall with nothing on it. The furniture (couch and chair), while it looked nice, was incredibly uncomfortable. I ended up sitting on the bed which kind of defeats the purpose of a suite!
• The lighting in the bathroom was not adequate and no exhaust fan.
• Limited light options in the living area near the couch but since I didn’t sit there much, I guess that was ok.
• Although the AC was effective, it was the source of a musty/mildew smell. I realize this is south Florida but getting hit in the face with that smell every time I came in the door was disappointing.
• The room was very clean but there were a few things about housekeeping that were a bit of an annoyance. Some of the bath amenities such as shampoo and conditioner, were not replenished. I realize I could request additional but I shouldn’t have to ask. Not sure if it was missed or if it is a cost saving measure (although the hotel doesn’t discount room rates for a multi-night stay!). There was a repair needed in the bathroom but I didn’t call on it as it usually didn’t occur to me until late in the evening but it had to have been VERY noticeable to the housekeeper. Are they not trained to notice and report needed repairs/issues?

Overall it was a good stay but there are other good options in the area for my next visit to Miami.

Room Tip: Pool view, high floor. Can request a balcony/terrace but there is a limited number of those.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't see any evidence of eco-friendly practices other than the light bulbs used. Used towels, although hung on hooks, were replaced and no recycling bins anywhere.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is lovely, very nicely done with muted colors and and classic old world feel. Our room was spacious with large balcony and amazing views of the Miami sky line especially at night. The staff friendly, courteous and professional and very willing to assist you. Had drinks at the bar, my Martini was $12 perhaps a bit pricey. Overall a beautiful place to be, the Miracle mile is about 2 blocks away. I wore nice low sandals for walking but the gals in Miami are wearing 6 inch heels and wobbling about town. I still recommend a walking shoe. There is plenty of walking.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I am so glad you enjoyed the style of the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, spacious rooms, and amazing views. I hope you bring you walking shoes and stay with us again.

-John S, Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mostly positives on the hotel, but some negatives.
Positivies are:
Nice room. Very comfortable. Spacious. Great amenities in room. Good pool and has sauna and very nice exercise room.
Is about 15 minutes drive from the airport and easy access to Miami beach.

Negatives are:
No restaurant or bar late at night.
Limited options nearby to get things walking distance at night (and if you valet park is expensive).
The TV in my room was making funny noise out of the speaker when went to purchase a movie section.

Overall, I'd say it's a nice hotel. Especially if you have a reason to be in coral gables. Lots of pluspoints, but the biggest negative is if you're a night person and want to get things locally.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really great hotel if you are doing business in the area and on a discounted room rate booked perhaps through your company, as mine was. My stay was at a rate of $135 per night (plus tax, not incl breakfast) for a standard room that got upgraded on arrival to a superb 5th floor (pool and gym level) mini-suite including free wifi.

Plus points: large clean rooms, good wifi, excellent downstairs bar with cool design, well-equipped gym and pool, huge breakfast from a la carte menu, very friendly staff throughout, close to many decent restaurants and bars.

Not so good points: no breakfast buffet (very strange and slows you up in the morning) and too-large portions, smoker smell distributed via AC on some levels (according to colleagues), clunky TV setup,

I'd go back if given the choice between this and the Courtyard.

Room Tip: 5th floor: pool-facing will be quiet and have mini-patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at many Hyatt Regency hotels and this was one of the best. The building is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are very spacious.

I stayed here for business so did not get a chance to experience much of the immediate surrounding area, but the hotel was great.

Valet boys were always very prompt and greeted me with a smile each morning. Would definitely come back if working in Coral Gables area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was here for business over a 4 day period. The hotel is beautiful on the outside and in the lobby. I booked a terrace suite. Nice room for the most part. However, the place smelled and felt damp and moldy. Other folks I talked to felt the same way. Guests to my room (and to other rooms) all agreed.

The staff was helpful and the hotel is in a great location. Close to the Miracle Mile, shops, restaurants and excellent Cuban coffee shops.

If they correct the humidity/damp smell in the rooms, I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the “Beverly Hills of Miami”, Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning fine-dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;