We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am SO GLAD I didn't cancel this reservation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I am SO GLAD I didn't cancel this reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed here on a layover after 6 nights in a "5-star boutique hotel"( by Costa Rican standards). Honestly, I was going to cancel and stay at the Four Season after the insanity of my trip back to the states. Total nightmare of lost passports, 2 planes, various taxis, endless customs lines, lost baggage, etc. But I'm so glad I didn't. I think this property is an overlooked gem. The staff was superb, upgrading me to a suite (that I didn't request, or expect) was like a gift for a worn down soul. Room was gorgeous--not a spec out of place and the comfort of the bed was heaven. When in Costa Rica, I made mental notes of small things I would do to upgrade the room experience, but I could think of nothing I would do when staying here. The room was that perfect. The restaurant, Bar 50, made me an amazing meal, with an outstanding side salad that I'm still talking about, and a perfect mojito, and honestly, after that, I could not have been happier. Not much going on around the hotel, to be honest. Kinda boring, but close to the airport. However, the property and the service impressed the hell out of me. ANd I told them so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Coral Cables, FL after a nightmare in Costa Rica's trip. I am pleased also to hear that you liked the hotel for its location right in the thick of everything close to great restaurants and close to airport, the gracious staff and their excellent service as well as the amazing meal you had at the Bar 50 with an outstanding side salad and a Mojito. Your positive appreciation both were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you in the near future.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    273
    79
    42
    15
See reviews for
152
183
44
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I normally stayed in Brickell but this time I had a doctor's appointment in Coral Gables and decided to give this a try after staying at the Hyatt in Brickell, it was from hell to heaven. The Hyatt in Brickell it's old and poor maintained, but this Hyatt is excellent. Really nice and helpful staff, nice public spaces and I got upgraded to a suite which was big, clean and very comfortable. I will definitely come back to this one.

Room Tip: Pool view is the best one here since you can't see the ocean from their location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I am glad to hear that you loved Coral Cables and you enjoyed your stay at the Hyatt Regency Coral Cables, FL. I am please also to hear that you liked the hotel for its location right in the thick of everything close to great restaurants, the gracious and helpful staff, nice public spaces and big, clean and comfy suite. Your positive appreciation both were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you in the near future.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The service was excellent and our suite was very nice. We found that anything we needed was quickly brought to us. From the valet to the check-in experience all was lovely. The breakfast delivered at the time requested from the night before was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Coral Cables, FL. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service and our suite as well as the lovely service experienced from the check-in to check-out. In addition to the great breakfast served and requested from the night before. Your positive appreciation both were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you in the near future.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was very disappointed with the service at this Hyatt Regency. The hotel should be a 3 diamond hotel not 4 diamond. The hotel interior is old and outdated. The bath towel smells bad. The service was poor especially in the restaurant and lobby bar. The hotel overcharged me upon my checkout. I have to ask the front desk to correct their mistake.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here a second time. The service was outstanding. Diana, from the front desk called us after we got to our room just to make sure that it was satisfactory. We had a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was beautiful. You can do self parking underneath the hotel that can be accessed off of Giralda.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I'm so delighted that you were able to visit us again. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff. I'm so happy that Diana took such good care of you. I will certainly forward your experience to our management team so that she is properly recognized.

We would love to welcome you back again soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had a very nice room and good breakfast. It's an old swank type of place and we very much enjoyed it. The breakfast was a bit expensive but not out of line with what I would expect to pay. Most definitely would stay there again. If you get there late there are parking spots on the street and that can save on the parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a very relaxed Hyatt property. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The location is great with everything being within a few minutes walk.
The hotel is a bit tired, but that somehow adds to the charm.
If you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are lots of good restaurants close by, and for breakfast try Cafe Demetrio just down the street where an excellent hot breakfast including coffee is less than $10.
Also be aware valet parking is currently $27 per night.
All in all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.